We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stay in room #7! Awful!”
Review of Olive Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olive Grove
Ranked #2 of 97 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My review would have been a lot more positive, except for the particular room I was assigned to. Room #7 was very smelly (just above the open kitchen) and very noisy (I could hear the staff talking loudly all afternoon). My romm and clothes stank of the cooking smells all night.

My advice? Do stay at the Olive Grove as everything else apart from the room was fine. Just make sure you are not given room #7 and, possibly, #8 as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuarkEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerWindhoek, Owner at Olive Grove, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

We would like to thank these guests for bringing this problem to our attention. Olive Grove has an open-plan kitchen where all the meals are prepared in full view of our guests, but we have never before had a problem with food smells. We have therefore immediately had both our extractor fans in the kitchen serviced – we have 2 extractor fans in the kitchen, which are both cleaned daily, but have now had a full service and professional clean done too. We certainly hope that this will resolve the problem, but will be monitoring the situation to ensure that this is indeed the case. We would like to thank these guests for their other positive comments, and apologise for the food smells that plagued them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
There are newer reviews for Olive Grove
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 549 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

A very pleasant over night stay in Windhoek and after a very bumpy flight from Kasane I needed it! Fantastically big rooms, wonderful food and a great host who was always around when one needed a question answering. Home from home in a home which has its quirky modern bits to it. Sadly I don't get to Windhoek very often otherwise I would be a regular.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here on our last night in Namibia.....warm welcome by the very helpful staff....had a few car issues when we arrived but the owner and manager couldn't have been more helpful and it was quickly sorted out! Lunch was superb on the terrace when we arrived as was dinner. Menu choice good which included fish also good wine list. Spacious rooms very comfortable beds. Small pool but great for a refreshing dip. I agree with previous reviews good start to a Namibian adventure and a very relaxing way to finish, with staff that really do care for you.

Room Tip: Some rooms are upstairs which I felt we're more private than the rooms downstairs which opened o...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tingleyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The jacarandas were in full bloom as we arrived at The Olive Grove after the short drive from the airport. Our large fully equipped room was very comfortable though the colour scheme, olive, took a little getting used you.

We were made very welcome here with nothing too much trouble. We decided to eat in and sitting in the courtyard in the warmth of the evening after the cold of the English autumn was a delight. The menu was not large but had sufficient choice. I opted for the kudu steak which though tasty was not the tenderest piece of meat I had eaten, kudu can be a bit like that, but full of flavour.

Breakfast as in nearly all the places we stayed in really set us up for the day with loads of fresh fruit, breads, rolls, cold meats, cheeses as well as a variety of cooked items.

We returned to The Olive Grove at the end of our Namibian tour and this time we were given a room with a bath, the first we had had for three weeks so we both had a very welcome soak!!!!!

A ten minute walk took us into the centre of Windhoek where we were able to do some last minute shopping for gifts though it is not a very touristy town and one can do far better in the craft markets in Okahandja if you don't mind the hassling.
We can certainly recommend The Olive Grove as an ideal location to start and finish a Namibian holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank felixstowejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Olive Grove for one night in August 2012 at the beginning of our Namibia tour. We stayed in 2 guest rooms across the garden. The rooms were simple but comfortable and had a cool design edge with concrete bathrooms! The food in the restaurant was lovely and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of our trip around Namibia. Only for one night unfortunately! Very private, has everything you need. The rooms are classy and have abolutely everything you could think of. Property is very nice and clean, service is amazing. Carol the manager is a delight to deal with. The breakfast buffet has amazing variety, the smell of freshly baked scones and brewed coffee waft through the air. Staff cook your hot breakfast alacarte to your liking. Dinner was alacarte with good choices, well presented and superbly cooked. The wine list was extensive. Nothing to want for really. Great stuff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Klokani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We arrived exhausted after a 45 hour trip. Friendly staff immediately got us settled into our room and made us feel welcome. This place is lovely and attentive to every small detail. We had a delicious dinner meal and a breakfast that was creative, beautiful and delicious as well. The Internet was fast & that's always an added benefit. We are looking forward to staying there again on our last night on Namibia. We highly recommend Olive Grove Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Consultcinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
1,393 reviews
1.1 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
4.0 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 97 in Windhoek
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Grove

Address: 20 Promenaden Road | P.O. Box 90909, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range: $123 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Olive Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olive Grove is a small upmarket accommodation establishment situated close to the city center in a quiet, peaceful area. The guesthouse takes homely atmosphere to a different level. Recently completely refurbished, each room has been decorated and painted with new colour schemes allowing a different feel, but with the same elegant and simplistic emphasis on decor. The open-plan kitchen allows guests to see how meals are prepared, while they enjoy a drink in the lounge. The menu was also reinvented and is now fully a la carte, quite unique for a guesthouse. Home-style food is rounded off with great presentation, pushing up the level of the guesthouse dining experience. Whilst each of the eleven rooms and one suite cater for every need of the most discerning traveller, the emphasis remains one of simplicity and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Olive Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Grove Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing