We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK if you want average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Safari Hotel
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“OK if you want average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I guess this place is more geared for accommodating groups for conferences. The conference venue is reasonable. The accommodation facilities were reasonable, the same for catering. Hotel staff was average, not falling over their feet to render good service. For conferences, business meetings, business accommodation this is a reasonable venue. Not sure that I will stay here as a tourist - will probably rather find a guest house or something else instead.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PieterfromRoodepoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    58
    95
    31
    18
See reviews for
23
53
24
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Preface: This 3-star Safari Hotel is located adjacent to its more modern 4-star sister Safari Court as well as the Safari Conference Centre, all within a fenced compound. So bear in mind that this review is only meant for the 3-star motel and not the others.

First Impressions: Having spent the better of two weeks camping, I was ready for any place that had concrete instead of dirt under my feet. Imagine my pleasant surprise upon entering the lobby of Hotel Safari. Marbled floors, elegant decor, rich fabric. Quite classy, I thought. And then, imagine my utter disappointment when we were told to personally carry our luggage 50 meters away to the group of rooms set up like a 1950's drive-in strip motel. Yeah, that feeling. Apparently, our tour operator booked us into the standard budget rooms for one night.

Pros: For the business types, the conference centre is just next door. There is free airport shuttle, free WiFi, swimming pool, complimentary breakfast at its on-site restaurant and a souvenir shop. For extended internet use, one may ask to use the handful of computer terminals over at the Safari Court's business centre. Overall, service is friendly, courteous and helpful.

Cons: Unfortunately, every positive feature of this motel has its letdowns. Location is not its best asset. It is quite far from the Windhoek city centre as well as the international airport. Although free shuttle is available, it is only to the nearby domestic airport and only until 6pm. Our rooms, though clean, appear dated and tired. The free WiFi is restricted to 2 hours and different passwords are handed out on slips of paper. (I went around this restriction by collecting several access passwords until I had a bunch.) The pool can get quite cold!!! The souvenir shop is small and has limited inventory. The breakfast is forgettable.

Verdict: This hotel has the potential to be a very nice one, if only management had bothered to upgrade, if not refurbish, it. I'm not a fussy traveller but, if you only use the hotel to sleep in, it does the job. Just lower your expectations. It is adequate for a few day's stay but, for longer stays, there are better accommodations closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone, Zambia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We recently had a 2 night stay at this Hotel, the staff were helpful and the Hotel looked good; but our room was tired looking, the cleaning only partially done and then we found a Cockroach in the bathroom. The main hotel Restaurant resembles a Cafeteria and the food very average and not very hot especially breakfast. Try the Safari Court Restaurant in the complex for a much better experience, the staff there are helpful and attentive. The choice of dishes is also excellent. The overall look of the Hotel is good and clean.

Room Tip: Use the Business rooms, the standard is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19alm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Level Contributor
295 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was assigned to this place for one night, leaving very early next morning; a 'breakfast' was made available thankfully. It is more than I personally expected from a Namibian hotel. Clean but tired room, decent restaurant, courteous and helpful staff. Location required a ride to get downtown Windhoek.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank im44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Abuja Capital Territory, Nigeria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have now now stayed at this hotel 4 times on holiday and work and have been most impressed. The hotel is standard services and clean, but what impressed me most is the solitude and serenity in the area despite being close to an airport. I recommend this hotel for the traveller who also has work to do in Windhoek town but wants to rest.

Room Tip: Chose rooms on the old part of the hotel. They are cooler and roomier and have better packing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auduliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

A warm welcome met us in the smart foyer of the Safari Hotel, which promised much for our stay there. However, amongst our large group we had mixed opinions about our overall night's stay. We were accommodated in motel style rooms, most of which were in clear need of some tlc and refurbishment.

Two of our rooms had an overbearing odour of cigarette smoke. When we mentioned this to reception, we were told that housekeeping would be round later to sort it out. The smell was so bad, we ended up insisting that we be moved, and in fairness we were. However, we were moved to a room with a faulty kettle, a chain lock that was not usable and a sink that didn't drain well. It was quite noisy late at night, though that was due to certain guests and I can't blame the hotel for that (though perhaps the security might have encouraged the 3am game players to quieten down a little!?).

The whole place just needed some care! That said, the pool was fine (but very cold) as was the bar.

In the morning, it was a buffet breakfast, but it was not great. The food was fairly tasteless and there was not much of it. It was certainly the first time in Namibia where I was left disappointed by the food on offer.

If you're staying in Windhoek, I'd suggest there are better places for the price (such as the Arebbusch Lodge).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Was recently here for a conference. If you are staying a long time it might be worth asking for a room upstairs. Some people complained about cockroaches in the rooms on the ground (and lower) levels. Internet was good - but 2 hour coupons were a little painful to use. Breakfast was standard Southern Africa fare. Bring your own hairdryer, unless you want to count on them having one (they only had 5 for all the rooms).
When they have a big conference they tend to get a little overwhelmed. Go early for lunch.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Safari Court Hotel
Safari Court Hotel
#13 of 17 in Windhoek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.0 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
3.3 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Hotel

Property: Safari Hotel
Address: Corner Auas & Aviation Rd | PO Box 3900, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing