We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business and Holiday”
Review of Heinitzburg Castle

Heinitzburg Castle
Ranked #17 of 130 Restaurants in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Herrenberg, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Business and Holiday”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Best Hotel in Namibia, perfectly situated with a magnificent view over Windhoek! Very comfortable and elegant fitte rooms!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KDS129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    39
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing time”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I had dinner there last week and I am still thinking about it. Definitely the best and most professional waitresses that I have seen in windhoek. Food was great and I was given a rose at the end of the evening. Definitely money well spent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iyaloo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prishtina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Ready for a nice meal while enjoying the view?”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

If so, then try out this one. I had some excellent Kudu meat served with great style. The staff are very kind and the place is lovely. It was a sunny and warm day that made me enjoy the terrace vry much.
Try it, you might enjoy it just as much as I did.

Helpful?
Thank Arben72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ostentatious and snooty”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I was very dubious about going here at all, but my family wished to conclude our trip to Namibia with somewhere they had been told is special. High above the city, the view must be spectacular in the daytime but it was night. Staff were welcoming but I dislike chandeliers and over fussy décor. I also don't go for over descriptive and over priced menus where the chef doesn't recognise that vegetarians need protein in their meals. The real problem however came when the owner visited the restaurant. She stopped to speak at every table at some length, but completely ignored us. So clearly we were the only non-residents. The chef also stopped by briefly just to enquire if we were enjoying our meals, so I could not engage with him as again he was only interested in protracted conversation with residential visitors. After leaving, we wandered for a few minutes in the grounds and came across the owner saying goodnight to residents. We said goodnight to her and she did not even deign to respond. She completely negates the efforts her restaurant staff go to make guests feel comfortable and welcome.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mickie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Wanted to come and celebrate a special occation with friends one sunday afternoon with coffee and cake (like we have done on a previous occation) only to be told non resident guests not allowed anymore whats up with that..local money not good enough anymore!

Helpful?
Thank Erika1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heinitzburg Castle also viewed

Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to Heinitzburg Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing