We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taste of Home in Namibia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windhoek Country Club Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
New Jersey
Level Contributor
388 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Taste of Home in Namibia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

Stayed for two nights in August after making an unplanned trip to Windhoek for car repair. After two weeks on the rough and tumble roads of south and central Namibia, this hotel was an absolute dream. Chinese food and gambling? I felt like I was back home in NJ for a few days. Rooms are dressed in dark, earthy tones and the bedding was very comfortable. Full desk if you need it for business with internet - there are charges listed, but reception gave us vouchers at no cost. Small private deck looking over the pool. Casino is great fun for a few hours of escapism - table games are very cheap (N$2 roulette min. and N$5 blackjack min.) and the slots get all the way down to N$.05. Chinese restaurant above was wonderful - even had a nice wine list. Even breakfast was ok when we stuck to the omelet station. My only suggestion would be to ask for a discount either from Legacy or reservations on-site.

Win Big!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    149
    50
    24
    12
See reviews for
43
72
12
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

The location is suboptimal. The personnel very kind.
Rooms are large and the garden relaxing. The breakfast large and complete. The dinner looked a little to cold.
The shuttle bus (to WDH center) is not precise.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaoloBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

Visited in July. Warm days, cold nights. Lobby cold as ice. No heat in first room, but engineer brought space heater to warm the room. Internet down. Moved to larger accommodation next night. Internet up. Still no heat. Space heater returns. Service is friendly, but .....verrry sloooowww. Guests eclectic and diverse. Will come back to Namibia and to Windhoek, but will try something else. Don't go for the food either.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillV620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

By world standards, prices in Windhoek are reasonable, and with breakfast and free internet connection included, the Country Club was probably worth the few dollars more it costs than the competition. The setting is pretty, though not very well designed for winter, and the lobby itself is uninviting. The bar is just one wall of the lobby. The casino is sub-standard, and I found the decor pretentious.

The rooms are spacious and have all required conveniences except a clock. Be sure to get a room with a desk. Otherwise, there is no where to use a computer or even spread papers or pocket contents. Many of the poolside rooms have no desk.

The staff member who showed me to my room -- and then got it changed so that I could have a desk instead of a redundant sofa -- was extraordinarily helpful, until I realized he'd left with my room key. Desk staff was sour, but relatively efficient. At least they replaced the key.

The buffet restaurant was adequate, though not up to the high standards set in many South African and Botswana hotels. All in all, a pleasant few days, but not exactly a resort destination in itself, and far from the charming restaurants and shops of other parts of Windhoek.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nurmijarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2009

I stayed at this hotel thanks to it being the only hotel in town that our company has a corporate rate with and we're supposed to always use those hotels. In the future I will not be following that rule here.
Check in did not go well - they could not find my reservation and said I had one two days later. This was not true since I never booked that date but had confirmation# for the day I arrived.
The first room would have been incredibly noisy, since the floor layout was in a kind of T shape with everyone walking past my room to get to reception. I changed to something further away but still plenty of noise came through the door.
If noise from the corridor didn't bother you then the drone of light planes taking off from the adjacent airport/airstrip will get you awake at first light.
I wanted to put some milk into the fridge and needed the mini bar key, this took one visit to reception and about five phone calls. eventually they key arrived.
Internet access was quite poor and although free you need a code from reception. At first they asked me how long I was staying (2 days) but that code lasted about 8h. In my 2 days there I called for about 4 internet codes in total which became quite tiresome.
I would do everything to book a guest house or something else and only visit this place again as a last resort.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

This was my third stay at the Country Club, and by far the most pleasant one. I was not expecting much as earlier I came across used sheets in my bed and the whole resorts was dominated by German package tourists.

But, the hotel area has always been very well maintained and the pool area was again very clean. I got one of the recently refurbished ground floor rooms with a small patio adjoining the garden. Very nice indeed, even though the room was not completely redone, for example the cranes in the bathroom were recycled.

The food in the restaurant has also improved a lot. For example, the Thai beef salad was an excellent one, and despite being an entree it would serve as main course for not-so-hungry. I'm not a great fan of buffets, so I didn't try the lunch or dinner buffet. The breakfast buffet is OK, no big surprises.

The staff members at the resort are very kind and helpful. My arrival got delayed by 24 hours and I was not charged for the first night even though I did not cancel it as I was fighting fiercely with the airline on the delay and its consequences.

The resort is located in the outskirts of Windhoek, but the resort has a free shuttle service to the centre, which I think is a new feature. There is also a golf course next to the resort, which I understand is OK and quite cheap, at least for overseas visitors. You can also jog around the golf course, but you'll do it at your own risk and you need to look out for players. I recommend you'll go out for a run first thing in the morning when the golf course has not yet opened.

The only shortcomings related to airport transfer when I arrived. The car was not there and I had to wait for half an hour. Also, as my room was located next to the garden, I woke up twice at 4.30 am when the automated watering system went on, partially wiping also the patio floor. Not major issues though.

  • Liked — The garden and the pool
  • Disliked — The location is outside the center, however it is only a 10 minute drive away
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mixu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2008

Stayed 2 nights at the beginning and four nights at the end of a three week touring holiday in Namibia.We knew the hotel was located away from the city but there was a courtesy bus available. Had a room overlooking the pool area on our first visit and requested same room for our return. We were not disappointed and we received a welcome letter from management plus a box of chocolates. It is true that the decor of the lobby area (which also led to the casino and Chinese restaurant) may not be to everyones taste but our room was pleasantly decorated, extremely clean and fresh with a most comfortable bed. Room service was quick and the staff most helpful and attentive. Service in the main restaurant was good; the food was plentiful although the nightly buffet could become repetitive. We thought the cost of wine was inexpensive for a four star hotel. Overall we were very happy with our experience and it was a perfect place to relax after touring.

  • Liked — Relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamJeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
3.3 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.5 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#15 of 16 in Windhoek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windhoek Country Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windhoek Country Club Resort

Property: Windhoek Country Club Resort
Address: Western Bypass, Pioneer Park, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Windhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Windhoek Country Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windhoek Country Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windhoek Country Club Hotel Windhoek
Windhoek Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing