We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankfully only for one night.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windhoek Country Club Resort
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Aldershot
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thankfully only for one night.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is the worst hotel we have stayed in for years. The toilet was leaking over the bathroom floor and the shower was broken and balanced to make it look OK, hence collapsed as soon as the shower was turned on. We complained, but hotel was full so no spare room to move to. They promised to look at bathroom but it was exactly how we left it when we returned from dinner. Lazy river was closed for maintenance, we were told pool was closed although it looked fine - no pool bar. Hotel bar is in the foyer, so not very welcoming. Service at dinner was so bad we had to ask to speak to the manager. The problem was resolved after our main meals were cooked again, but meant we ate late and the last to leave the restaurant. Luckily we were only there for one night after an excellent tour in Namibia with first class lodges and service along the way. An unfortunate end to a great holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, General Manager at Windhoek Country Club Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback and comments-would you kindly accept our sincere apologies for the drop in standards and the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. Rest assured action has been taken so that there are no further repetitions of the inefficiencies you experienced
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    159
    51
    24
    13
See reviews for
43
73
13
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

If you are particularly finicky about beds, bedding and sleep comfort during your trip, you will have ultra-comfortable experience at this hotel. Plus we enjoyed great buffet breakfast and dinner served at the spacious restaurant set near fantastic, artificial waterfall. Rooms are quiet, very clean and have all amenities, which you may need during the trip (from broad travel information, pamphlets on dining out, well stocked-up mini-bar, safe, hairdryer etc.) . Service and housekeeping is prompt and excellent! We stayed at Country Club Hotel at least 5 times during our travels. It's 100%!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaSmaNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Nice place with all amenities including a casino , Restaurent , Gardens etc. Good food !

How ever not much choice for a vegetarian person .Casino is good , lots of activity . The out door space at restaurent is lovely with sound of water gushing like in a water fall .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOSIMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ichikawa, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

After long drive coming back from Sossusvlei, this hotel is an oasis. Bathroom facilities are kind of outdated but still functions properly. Shampoo has been changed to South African brand one, great advancement from last year. Bed has 2 kinds of pillows, hard and soft. WiFi works well.

Room Tip: There are two wings at this hotel. Ask for room furthest from the lobby. You can have a good night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NineDragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Windhoek Country Club (WCC) is only 15 to 20 minutes from the city center of town but well worth the short drive to get out of the town that is dead quiet anyway after 8pm.
The facilities are great, the service is world class, friendly and efficient.
While I've never played the golf course it's just nice to be surrounded by greenery and not buildings.
The nearby Eros airport can be a little noisy in the mornings from the occasional local jet taking off early (not the major carriers that land at the main airport over an hour's drive outside Windhoek).

Having stayed at The Safari and The Kalahari, The WCC beats them hands down.
While the new Hilton may be a nice alternative in town I'd still recommend getting out of town.

The WCC has the largest Casino in town in case that interests you.
The food is excellent and the coffee bar exceptional if you want the best Cappuccino in Namibia prepared by a trained Barista.

Having stayed there over 20 times now over the last two years as a regular business visitor its my hotel of choice, although would take the family without doubt if en route to the Game parks or Etosha.

Excellent !

Room Tip: Looking onto the Gold Course or swimming pool is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SABusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Windhoek Country Club for one night before heading off on a tour around Namibia and three nights when we returned before leaving for home. We found the rooms to be nicely appointed and comfortable, and the staff to be friendly and very helpful. The food in the restaurant was nice, well prepared and with plenty of choice. The gardens are a pleasant place to relax, and, for those who enjoy such entertainment, there is a casino on the premises. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend these facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGEDNOMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 10 days while I was working in Namibia. The room, food, and service were excellent. There are several drawbacks though for the business traveler: 1) Spotty internet connection; 2) The hotel is a bit outside of central Windhoek so taxis or a car are a must; and 3) Groups of gamblers who frequent the casino, stay up all night, and make quite a bit of racket in the halls in the early hours of the morning. If possible, I think the hotel should put business travelers in one wing and gamblers in another.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthronomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, General Manager at Windhoek Country Club Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with positive feedback regarding your stay.
It is much appreciated and welcome
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,367 reviews
3.5 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.9 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
211 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
362 reviews
1.6 mi away
Safari Court Hotel
Safari Court Hotel
#13 of 16 in Windhoek
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windhoek Country Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windhoek Country Club Resort

Property: Windhoek Country Club Resort
Address: Western Bypass, Pioneer Park, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Windhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Windhoek Country Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windhoek Country Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windhoek Country Club Hotel Windhoek
Windhoek Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing