We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Kalahari Sands Hotel is smack-bang in the centre of Windhoek, so everything is within easy reach. The hop-on bus departs straight in front of the hotel, at the tourist kiosk.
There is a great park accross the street from the hotel, great for a lazy afternoon stroll or just sit there and check out the city life.
I've found a great German restaurant about a block from the hotel, worth a visit! Ask concierce to make reservations.
Hotel itself has got spacious rooms, and is very neat. Pool on the roof a bit 'impersonal' was my experience. Great breakfast, though! Will definately return!

Room Tip: North-Eastern rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReallyMerryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    234
    116
    26
    18
See reviews for
39
132
40
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Outaouais Aussie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Service here has always been excellent. I've never had a problem at the "Sands" and this was my fifth stay. Also I've never managed not to win some extra spending holiday cash at the Casino. Maybe just lucky that way but it certainly helps with petrol and expenses when vacationing. The location can't be beat because of "Checkers" supermarket directly underneath it in the foyer. Ideal for getting water, snacks and supplies for the trip ahead. There is a cafe next to the Supermarket that has afforable breakfasts, good quality coffee and service if you want to save some money. The staff have always been friendly. Breakfast is great but expensive compared to the cafe next to Checkers. Dinner menu is buffet style and I found the choices limited. Still, compared to the newly opened (2011) Hilton Hotel that competes with it this place has character, more to do and is in a better location. We did check out the Hilton while we were there but it was a relatively, umm, sterile is the best word, experience. The rooms are being progressively upgraded, so try to ask for one of the renovated rooms.

Compared to my last stay in 2001, the new beds, renovated bathrooms and clean carpets are welcome additions. Not cheap but an excellent place to rest up after a long flight before starting your adventure.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, or at least try to get a room on levels 7 to 9 as this'll increase you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lamarmotte71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

new renovated rooms ,bit slow service but seems they are doing their best .
very nice view and GREAT location in the city center.
I hate the fact you can’t open (even partially ) the window for fresh air !!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WWWCoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colares, Portugal
Level Contributor
265 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed twice at the Kalahari Sands Hotel & Casino at Windhoek and we don´t have claims about the room or bathroom or about the restaurant. Everything was better than expected, however the people of the reception could be more kind. At the restaurant for instance the people was kind and the hotel was the same.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Good location in the city. Nice modern & comfortable room. I like the atmosphere. I will definitely stay there again. Was a bit nervous coming to Windhoek for the 1st time without prior accomodation arrangements but the front desk staff made it easy for me.

Thanks guys!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed here one night prior to a trip to Etosha as well as one night after and got two different room experiences. The first night we had a standard room wich was ok but not perfect. The room was spaceous but guite dark and very much in need of refurbishment. The same can be said for the rest of the hotel. Although clean, almost every piece of furniture was totally worn out. Luckily the hotel is refurbishing as we speak so I assume that in a year or so the hotel will be much better. We got a little preview on our second stay as we opted for a de luxe room. This room was bright new, spacious and comfortable with a huge bathroom with both a shower and a bath.
Both breakfast and dinner was buffet style and as most other buffets I have been to, nothing much to write home about.
The hotel is located inside a shopping mall so I guess the entrance can be hard to find if you do not know where you are going. Location in general is great with all major sites within walking distance (Not that there is that much to see in this small city...)
We booked airport transfer through the hotel and while the pick up from the airport was on time and without any problems, the return was a different issue. We were suposed to be picked up at 5am, but at 5.25am we hade to get a taxi in order to catch our plane. The reception guy helped us with this.
I wrote an e-mail to the transport company when I got back home and instantly got a nice replay saying that they deeply appologized and would offer us transportation for free on our next visit to Windhoek.
We also tried the SPA at he hotel and it was wonderful. Unfortunately the pool was closed for repair of some sort so I can not comment on that.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loves-to-travel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

This place is in really great central location, they arranged for us for airport transfer and it worked out very well (the airport is ridiculously far from town, at least that how it felt). The staff was very friendly and helpful, but the rooms looked like they needed some work - everything seemed kind of old, but not in the good rustic sense. I believe they were doing reconstruction on some of the floors already, so this may get a lot better soon. We had breakfast at the restaurant and it was one of the best we had during our trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilsen_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,317 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
207 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
356 reviews
3.5 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
2.0 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#15 of 16 in Windhoek
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino

Property: AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Address: 129 Independent Ave, Windhoek 9000, Namibia (Formerly Kalahari Sands Hotel & Casino)
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
#2 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the hub of the city center. The newly re-branded AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino offers you a place to pursue both business and pleasure. All rooms are decorated to blend into their earthy surroundings and there's only one aspiration: to give you an unparalleled hospitality experience. So wherever you're coming from and wherever you're going, let the AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino in Windhoek be your first port of call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Sands Hotel Windhoek
Kalahari Sands Hotel And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing