We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious”
Review of Hotel Heinitzburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Heinitzburg
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed two nights, at the beginning and end of our holidays.
Both rooms very different in size but both dark. Lovely blue sky and sunshine outside but one has to put the lights on at 3pm!
One had Wifi the other did not!

The swimming pool area very pleasant.
The staff very helpful . Overall somewhat pretentious.
Definitely not a Relais Chateau when judged against European standards.
Restaurant would do much better to simplify the dishes, ingredients first class but combinations muddled.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cth6616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    126
    47
    17
    11
See reviews for
54
199
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The World
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel occupies a wonderful location on Luxury Hill overlooking the city of Windhoek. One of the most noticeable features of the hotel for those used to travelling in Namibia is how friendly and helpful the staff are, which is a rarity in this otherwise beautiful country. Without exception every member of staff I encountered was friendly, courteous and helpful.
Views from the terrace for sundowners, lunch or breakfast cannot be beaten and the restaurant is widely regarded as the best in Namibia.
the rooms are very comfortable, but a little old-fashioned and, in some at least, need a little up-keep, particularly the bathrooms.
Wifi is included in the rate at the hotel but only really works in the main building as the old style very thick walls seem to create a problem in the rooms.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank WarwickintheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I selected the hotel because it was something different and not from a chain? The check-in was ok with payment already being taken before arrival. Not good! Rooms are on 2 levels accessed through a garden. The room allocated was number 16 was a good size and had an interesting decor and furnishings! Don't like the fact that there is no security on the entrance door bar the deadlock which can be opened from outside as housekeeping demonstrated. Put a chain on at least! From the moment of check-in I was pestered for a dinner reservation otherwise they would sell the table. Good luck as it wasn't very busy, perhaps at the weekend maybe worth pushing but not a week day. The same happened the following day with reception looking for dinner reservations before breakfast. Pity there wasn't the same consistency with the turn down service which never materialised the second night. The rooms are cold at night an impossible to warm up. The food at the restaurant is well presented but overall far too pretentious. Not taking any wine with dinner appeared to be a shock and I was quizzed why not. Not the waiters place to challenge me I believe. Internet is free and absolutely rubbish with one or two bars max and even then pretty useless so don't expect much. If you are looking for something out of the ordinary it could fit the bill but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hudson0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have taken clients to the hotel for dinner on two occasions. The consistency of their service, great quality of their food is something to write home about. I would suggest they widen the variety of the menu though, especially seafood. Other than you can't falter the overall dining experience. Well done to management and the team

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lagos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This should be rated a 3 star and no more. Vasltly overpriced for what you get. Management, particularly Tibor, arrogant and unresponsive. Not at all guest orientated. Agree with comment of Wolfgang. Wifi didnt work in my room. Apparently it works in some rooms but not others, so beware! Swimming pool tiny. In short, pretentious management, which spills over into poor taste in furntishings, seriouly overpriced for what you get, and out of touch. Will definitely not stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel: clean and proper ; Restaurant : Dinner & breakfast very Good ; Rates : rather on High resp. Very High side ; Services At times a Bit snippy and very Slow ; Mgmt : arrogant ...and Not guest orientated.

Early Arrivals n o t. Considered Even if notified beforehand
Summerizing: it definitely does Not match with Apparant Luxory Standards of. Chateaus and Relais.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfgang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

a wonderful Castle located in a superb place in Windhoek. It's the best hotel in Namibia, for sure, not crowded, high quality and good atmosphere, wonderful staff and service, and on top of all that and the amazing building, the restaurant is unique with a wonderful chef and a wide selections of wines from the wine cellar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,367 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
211 reviews
0.6 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
2.6 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
232 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heinitzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heinitzburg

Property: Hotel Heinitzburg
Address: 22 Heinitzburg Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heinitzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Heinitzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heinitzburg Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing