We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Relais but not Chateau…!”
Review of Hotel Heinitzburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Heinitzburg
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
434 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Charming Relais but not Chateau…!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Relais & Chateaux (R&C) have a large scale of hotels belonging to their chain, some are more Relais (simple hotels), some more Chateaux (luxury hotels) – and the Heinitzburg is more a Relais. This just as a first remark, as you need to know what to expect! In other words, a charming place but do not expect 5-star luxury in every moment. But one also needs to be realistic, we are not in the middle of Europe but in Namibia, and for here this is definitely a nice place!

Location:
The location is very nice, on a hill, overlooking the city centre with great views (especially the sunset overlooking the city is great). A bit far from the centre by walk for people who do not like to walk for long but still relatively easy to get there (I loved the 10 minutes walk). I would recommend not to walk in the night.

Hotel:
Nice old building (a former small castle). The pool area looks a bit run down and is not very clean. The overall decoration has a bit too much of gold and silver (curtains etc.) which tends to be close to Kitsch for my taste.

Rooms:
The rooms are nice. The decoration is also a bit on the edge of being Kitsch (lot of silver and gold everywhere) but OK. They have of course all amenities you would expect from a R&C. They are quiet. The size of the rooms is good. Downside: the shower is made in a way that once you take a shower the whole bathroom is flooded. In my first room the air-condition did not work so I had to insist to get a new room. Staff reacted not very professionally when I complained.

Restaurant:
Food is good, very good breakfast with good choice and good quality of all products. Unfortunately the coffee is really bad. Dinner at Leo’s was very good, the starter, main and dessert were very good. The only thing: the meat was not really tender for a fillet. The quality overall is very good. They have an extensive wine list with a good choice.

Service:
The staff are all very friendly and nice and try to accommodate you as much as possible. However, they are definitely not all on R&C standard: sometimes you have to wait long to get serviced, the do not know all details of high standard service, when there is an issue they do not know how to handle it etc. etc. – well the main problem is there is no manager around (see below), so whenever there is an issue it gets complicated, and then you realize this hotel is not on 5-star R&C level. I hope they can improve as it could be really a nice place.

Management:
This is from my perspective the weak point: R&C often have the owner or manager around and taking care of the guests – and this is definitely missing. You see it with the reception, with the restaurant: staff need some manager to tell them what to do, and the guests would appreciate a personalized management to make the difference to other 5-star hotels!

Overall rating:
Knowing they are part of R&C, the expectations are high, and there are some improvement points. Overall a nice and charming place. However should I return to Windhoek I will most probably chose another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TandTSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    120
    46
    17
    11
See reviews for
51
194
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The manager or the Hotel owner are never there, the staff is friendly, friendlyness is good but good service should come first. Food is good,the service is bad. It is not a luxury hotel, the rooms safe is tiny, beware of flood when having a shower, most probably the architect only uses a bath-tube in his lifetime. The decor is full of red and silver, kitsch as kitsch can... The only nice room is the old breakfast room.
At the end of th day, the prices are fair, forget it is a Relais & Châteaux.
One comes to Namibia to visit lhe landscape, to see the wild animals, eat german bread and last but not least: People are very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thierryonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a very nice hotel set on a hill overlooking Windhoek. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. It is relatively convienent for a long-ish walk into downtown.

The restaurant is nicely situated for an evening of al fresco dining. Service was good if not great.

If you are expecting Relais et Chateaux service and amenities that you would receive in the US, Canada or Europe you will be disappointed. But for a nice place to stay in Namibia this is perfectly suitable. Clean and comfortable should not be under-valued.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerLC444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
254 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Ah ! the Relais et Chateaux chain of hotels tends to get hotel owners that belong to the group go a bit gaga. Rooms are nice, comfortable, well decorated and the view, as well as the food, are really good. But we are in Namibia, not in some castle along the Rhine Valley or in an estate on the Cote d'Azur and having the owners take themselves a bit less seriously would not hurt... Namibia has long been under german influence and these days are not over yet. By far. This place is a bit stiff and certainly a gat place for a first night in the country. But happily, Namibia is much more than that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We went to this place 3 times recently and each time it has been a pleasure. The cakes are fantastic and the views from the open air terrace are incredible. The staff are friendly, efficient and helpful. We also went there for our son's birthday. He wore a "knight's costume" and the manager was friendly enough to escort him to the Knight's room. I would take all our visitors to this place to have a drink.
Compared to European prices it is not so bad. A big piece of cake cost some thing like 4 EUR and the coffe around 1. 8 EUR.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gitane_in_zim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a charming hotel. The rooms are well furnished, clean and well equipped. It's position perched overlooking the city makes it a great place for a sundowners on the terrace. The restaurant, Leo's, has an excellent chef but unfortunately one or two of the staff let the whole experience down. We arrived for our dinner to be greeted rather indifferently. We were not addressed by our name just by our room number. We were shown to a table and offered water but no drinks. A waiter then arrived with menus and wine list. We were unable to find wine by the glass and enquired of a waitress what was available. She told us that no wine by the glass was served and no half bottles. When we explained that we did not want a full bottle she sighed in an exasperated manner and offered to go and ask if they would make an exception. She returned to say that we could have wine by the glass. Sauvignon Blanc or Merlot. She Was not able to tell us which wines and seemed irritated that we wanted to know the vineyard. The whole experience was rude and soured our evening. We eventually noticed another table being served a half bottle and when we pointed this out the waitress claimed to have told us that we could have half bottle and walked away!!!!
After 30 minutes in the restaurant without drinks, we asked another waiter Richard if we could see the wine menu again and we ordered a half bottle. He was polite and very helpful and the rest of our evening was fine. We enjoyed a superb meal with excellent cheerful, service from Richard. What a pity that not all the staff are so conscientious and well trained

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RinglandsHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windhoek namibia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I am writing a review of the Heinitzburg open air terrace restaurant not of the hotel itself - only the hotel is listed on Tripadvisor. This is a delightful place with sweeping views of the ever expanding city - ideal to enjoy a late light lunch or tea any time in the afternoon until sunset. The light lunch menu is varied and interesting - I had a prawn stirfry expecting the usual tiny shrimps embedded in it, but they turned out to be proper huge prawns. Only downside a bit pricey and be warned the prices are exclusive of VAT (tax) so with service expect to add 30% to your bill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.6 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.3 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
2.4 mi away
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Hotel
#9 of 16 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heinitzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heinitzburg

Property: Hotel Heinitzburg
Address: 22 Heinitzburg Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heinitzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Heinitzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heinitzburg Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing