We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food in a historic luxurious location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Heinitzburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Heinitzburg
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food in a historic luxurious location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip in Namibia. The building is amazing being an old castle. The rooms were very modern with squeaky clean white bathrooms. However, the way the shower enclosure had been installed meant that the floor was sopping wet after a shower.
Everything else was of the standard it should be in such a hotel.
The terrace was lovely to sit out on and enjoy the views of the city. The food was delicious. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner here and couldn't fault it.
Would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    118
    44
    16
    11
See reviews for
50
189
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Heinitzburg for one evening in transit from a safari to Victoria Falls. The room was large and very comfortable, was within walking distance to city center, has a lovely terrace with a view for drinks and snacks and they packed us a breakfast to go for our early departure. A new Hilton is now open in Windhoek, so I would compare prices between them. The Hilton looked very nice too.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the inside courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonding, Austria
Level Contributor
397 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

we booked a superior room and it is lovely as we are here right now, spacious with bathtub and everything, but...only 2 small windows with no view (otherwise it would be excellent). Plenty of mirrors to make up for it - even on the ceiling (room 14) but if there are 2 categories of room the superior ones need a view. Great service - just had wonderfully fresh oysters served at our room with a smile and quick! Nice pool with views and we can't wait to have dinner here tonight to check out the restaurant.

Room Tip: make sure to get a 'poolside room confirmed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaraebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very nice hotel with a great breakfast included. Excellent dinner in their restaurant but very formal atmosphere. First heated outdoor swimming pool we came across, with nice lounge chairs and great views of the city. The hotel is walking distance to downtown shops, and it is a safe walk by day at least. Free wifi is available near the lobby but the signal was spotty. Beautiful and spacious rooms. Excellent service.

Room Tip: We were in 15 which was a very nice "Superior Double" but from their pics they all seem ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoMike86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have spent one night because we were on our way to Etosha, but would like to stay longer. Very nice hotel with very good service, including the restaurant. Only suggestion that I would make is to have big bed for couple, not just two single beds put together.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fmonteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I was actually not among the guests of this hotel. I only wanted to enjoy the fantastic sunset above the capital of Namibia whilst having a drink. The Count of Schwerin planned and built the castle for his future wife Margarethe von Heinitz at the beginning of the 20th century.
Staying at the hotel is not cheap but the view of the city compensates for that. From my point of view the service is friendly but sometimes a little too inhibited.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank King-DaiDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
317 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The first impression of this hotel is that you as a visitor are not allowed to drive up the steep driveway to unload your luggage - but the first thing you see in front of the reception is the big 4x4 of the owner. Great! People in this hotel are helpful but inefficient, and do not count for the timely delivery of your morning coffee - it will for sure be late! The rooms are ok but not much above 3-4 stars and pretty uninspired - and terribly cold in winter, even with the airconditioning on at full blast to heat up the place. The Restaurant adjacent to the hotel is still as good as four years ago when we last visited this place, but pretty expensive, even for for South African standards. We paid 800 NS for a dinner for two, you get more for this price in say Cape Town. The best, after all, is the sundowner on the big, beautiful terrace overlooking Windhoek.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms 2 or 3, they are dark as they are behind the stairs leading to the upper romms (do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansM1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.6 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.3 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
2.4 mi away
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Hotel
#9 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heinitzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heinitzburg

Property: Hotel Heinitzburg
Address: 22 Heinitzburg Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heinitzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Heinitzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heinitzburg Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing