We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rivendell Guest House
Ranked #11 of 97 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2007

The guesthouse is my favourite place to stay in Windhoek. The friendly familiar atmosphere immediately welcomes you in. The rooms are well-kept and laundry services are available. As is the claim, they offer the best breakfast in town - a proper English breakfast (which I have not found anywhere else in Southern Africa!) The staff are not only helpful but wonderful company and the booking agency can help with any further travels you may be planning. More than any other place I have stayed, Rivendell gives one the comfortable feeling of being in a home away from home.

Stayed: December 2006
1  Thank Laura012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for Rivendell Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 377 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2007

One of the nicest places I've stayed, in fact. It has a lovely garden and swimming pool/patio area, with a good kitchen and big living room area leading to a covered porch at the back. Pretty well perfect for relaxing about the place and meeting other guests. Food is good though basic, beer and some very good wines available in house, the kitchen is well equipped and kept very clean, you can self cater in comfort. My room, again, was clean and perfectly pleasant, considering it was so inexpensive I was pretty pleased with it.
It's a short walk to the town centre, I'd say the location was ideal in that it's in a nice quiet traffic free area, yet close enough to get into the city without requiring taxi/bus or the like.
Staff are friendly, and the manager pleasant and efficient.
It's worth noting that the owners operate a tour agency on site, and went to considerable effort to help me plan my stay in the country, being very happy to both advise and ring/book my itinery on my behalf. Though they must take a fee on the bookings, I was surprised to find that much of it was significently cheaper than was available direct (I'd already had quotes before I got there). I guess they have the advantage of knowing the ground so well (although they are English it seems they've been in the tourism trade in Namibia/Botswana for a good 10 years now.) For me, their help made it an enjoyable and hassle free holiday in a part of the world can can be a little disorganised at best.
Lastly, there are a couple of very big and friendly dogs on site, something that always makes me feel secure in a guest house in that part of the world.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank towelnotareservation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We recently returned from a fantastic 2 week holiday in Namibia. We used Rivendell as a base for the start an end of our travels and we couldn't have chosen a better place! I was a bit nervous at the start of the holiday, being so far from home, but the staff were very helpful and I soon forgot all my worries! Our room was lovely and the atmosphere friendly and relaxed. The management had an excellent knowledge of Namibia and gave us lots of helpful advice when planning where to go and what to see. I'm not sure yet when we'll return to Namibia, but when we do we'll make Rivendell Guest House our base again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ERussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2006

This guesthouse is an ideal place to stay when in Windhoek. The staff and management are incredibly friendly and willing to help with your local needs regarding tours / where to go.. etc.
It is a family run guest house with a range of room types.
The rooms range from en-suite to shared bathroom depending on your price need and requirements. All are economically priced and great ‘value for money’ and for the area. The rooms / and shared bathrooms are extremely clean. The pool is well maintained.
The shared kitchen has self catering facilities which we did not use but seemed to be absolutely more than adequate. We choose the excellent cooked breakfast available at reasonable rates. Also available is a self service fridge / bar for purchase of refreshments.
It is situated in a residential area a short taxi or walk from downtown and was safe to walk about surrounding streets.
This is ideal accommodation for the start or finish or a safari or other tour or for your first and last nights if flying from / to Windhoek.
It’s not an upmarket hotel.. but it is ultra friendly and a joy to stay at in guesthouse style accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STEVEFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2006

Rivendell is located in Windhoek West. It is a very convenient place to stay as it is in walking distance of the tiny City Center.

The "hotel" provides everything you might need to enjoy your stay: self cooking kitchen, loundge, breakfast, swimming pool, secured parking, etc...

We stayed in the room number 1 (the largest). The room and the bathroom are very clean, spacious and well organized.

Unfortunately, we never got hot water for taking a shower. I complained several times without success. They have a common bathroom that we used.

Staff is very friendly. Price is reasonnable and Quality is above average.

We will stay again while being in Windhoek.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank bengos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
USA
18
Reviewed August 20, 2005

Great, friendly place under new management. Good pool, well stocked bar, clothes washing facilites and clean and well appointed rooms. Contact information is different from that listed: ------- New owners are David and Charlotte Cartwright. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Hubert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.4 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
195 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Windhoek Gardens Guest House
1.2 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 97 in Windhoek
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Address: 40 Beethoven Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range: $34 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell is a small, old style house located in a quiet neighbourhood. We offer our guests a real home from home with friendly managers on site from 7am until 10pm, a night security guard, and knowledgeable travel company staff on hand to help you to plan your holiday in Namibia, or neighbouring countries. We offer our guests fully equipped self-catering facilities or the option of bed & breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing