We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A helpful family friendly guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rivendell Guest House
Ranked #5 of 95 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A helpful family friendly guesthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

We stayed at the Rivendell Guest House , Beethoven Street, Windhoek, on two occasions during our holiday. Firstly from the 4th – 7th August and secondly from the 10th – 11th August 2008. My party consisted of two adults and two children (aged 9 and 7 years). We found staff to be very helpful and they made us feel at home. They made dinner reservations for us on a couple of occasions (Joe’s Beerhouse) and organised transport.

Rivendell is located just outside the city centre, about a fifteen-minute walk from the Wernhil Shopping Centre. The guesthouse is in a quiet residential street. Security is not a problem within the property. Walking from the guesthouse to town I passed a couple of signs, which warned of the dangers of crime in the neighbourhood. Personally I believe that walking into town during daylight hours does not present a problem. The city centre is quite compact with all major shopping facilities and tourist sites within walking distance. We never felt in danger at any stage during our time in Windhoek but were reminded by staff at Rivendell not to take undue risks.

From the 4th – 7th August we stayed in a self-catering flat at Rivendell, located next to the swimming pool. The children appreciated the extensive range of kid’s channels on the television in the flat. We did avail of the cooked breakfast on offer at Rivendell. Breakfast is taken around a large table in the dining room (main house), which provides a good opportunity to meet other residents. The continental and cooked breakfast offerings were of a high standard and very good value.

There is a travel agency on site at Rivendell called ATI Holidays. We used them to book door to door transport from Windhoek to Swakopmund. I saw Mr Cartwright, Director; personally go the extra mile to assist a guest in distress (stolen luggage/damaged hire car). I have no hesitation in recommending ATI Holidays.

Upon our return to Rivendell on the 10th August we stayed for a night in the main house. The accommodation was not en-suite but was perfectly adequate. The tariffs at Rivendell are very reasonable.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff, Breakfast
  • Disliked — The introduction of WiFi would be welcome
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    132
    39
    10
    4
See reviews for
57
138
66
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

We arrived at Rivendell at 10:30pm and discovered it was closed.
(We were delayed due to airport fog, ’couldn’t contact Rivendell since we were in the air, and consequentially arrived 30 mins. after the place had closed). There was no number to ring on the guest house gate – or anywhere – and so we couldn’t contact anyone to say we had arrived. Our taxi driver beeped his horn several times and no one came to investigate – despite the noise and the guest house’s dog barking. In the end we had to find alternative accommodation in Windhoek. We contacted the guesthouse the following day and the ‘David Brent’ owner said because we arrived late, there was no way he would consider refunding either in full or in part.

It was a terrible experience arriving and not having a place to stay. I could go about how the owner bragged about his status in the Nambian tourist industry, about his fake friendliness, about his lack of awareness of customer service – but I leave it to you to find out if you stay here.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MorganMt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2008

As per the previous review this is a great value for money guesthouse in Windhoek. We stayed here for two nights before a 10 day Explorer trip with Wild Dog & Kudu safaris (which we highly recommend, our tour guide was called Tongai and he has just started up his own tour company www.tongai-safaris.com and can highly reccommend him)
The guest house is a 10-15 min walk into the city centre which is very conveiniant compared to some of the other guest houses which are further out.

Would definately stay here again and hope to visit Namibia soon as it is a fantastic country

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank w00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

We had the pleasure of meeting Mandine and everyone else when we stayed at Rivendell.

It really is like being a part of the family and my husband and I could not fault the guest house or any of the staff.

I cannot recommend Rivendell highly enough and should we be lucky enough to come back to this beautiful country then we will stay at Rivendell.

  • Liked — Friendly, clean, spacious, comfortable - just perfect all round.
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing to dislike
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SLakehal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2008

Rivendell is a safe, cosy and friendly place to stay in Windhoek. We stayed a few nights both before and after a 10 day safari with Wild Dogs which was amazing. The large double room was very clean and bright and set beside the swimming pool. The bed was comfortable and the shower was very good. You had a choice of cooked or continental breakfast and I must say that the continental was superb. Meat, cheese, pastries,cereals, yoghurt etc etc, plenty to set you up for the day. We didn't try the cooked but I'm sure it would be good. The lounge with television is comfortable and there is a lovely veranda to sit out on overlooking the gardens. You can also use the kitchen to prepare meals etc.

Everything was well very organised at Rivendell. They did our laundry by the load not per piece so it was quite cheap. They have an honesty fridge filled with wines, beers and soft drinks, you just mark what you take on a list. They also have a reliable and safe taxi company. We used it each evening and also for a city tour which was interesting. The drivers are very helpful and accomodating and are always on time. They even have their own travel agency, ATI Holidays, who can organise trips through Namibia and Botswana. They booked restaurants for us over the internet and also changed our reservation to include the group we were on safari with. All the staff were so friendly we immediately felt at home. Last but not least they have a wonderful dog, Baggins. He was playful but would certainly deter any strangers.

Rivendell will be our first choice when we return to Namibia. It has everything you need at a very good price.

  • Liked — Facilities, staff, price, safety and the dog.
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

Rivendell in such a delightful place to stay! There is everything a tired traveler needs and more. Staff is very helpful and they do make you feel at home. The place itself is very pleasant, there is a small garden and patio with a swimming pool to relax on a hot afternoon. They offer self-catering or B&B option, store your extra stuff if you are going on a safari etc. It is hard to find better value.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jipeji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

My travelling companions and I were made to feel like members of the family by the friendly and accommodating staff . The facilities were excellent and it served as a great base from which to travel around the country. I can't recommend Rivendell enough.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gwanyagoodting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.4 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
0.8 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 95 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windhoek Gardens Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Property: Rivendell Guest House
Address: 40 Beethoven Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell is a small, old style house located in a quiet neighbourhood. We offer our guests a real home from home with friendly managers on site from 7am until 10pm, a night security guard, and knowledgeable travel company staff on hand to help you to plan your holiday in Namibia, or neighbouring countries. We offer our guests fully equipped self-catering facilities or the option of bed & breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing