We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rivendell is a great place for an extended stay. It is a home away from home, save and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rivendell Guest House
Ranked #11 of 97 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed more than three weeks at Rivendell. The common kitchen is a good idea and a good place to meet friendly people. It all works out well, with several things available on the honour system (just remember to write down that bottle of wine you took out of the cooler!). The fridge gets a bit too full at times but again, it all works out. Everyone does their own dishes and are pretty good about that too. Breakfast is an additional cost if you take breakfast; there could be a different rate for the continental breakfast and the cooked breakfast. My only complaint is the late afternoon sun pours into my room turning it into an oven. There could be some sort of bamboo blind on the outside, lowered to prevent this effect. Some rooms are shadier than others. The pool is wonderfully clean and cool...a real treat. All in all, a great stay and I would stay here again in a minute. The manager and help were all super helpful and very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the pool, or any of the other rooms with adjoining toilet and shower.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eilianroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thanks so much for your review, and we are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your extended stay with us! We will definately look at that sun issue, we used to have material blinds outside but they flapped around so much that they weren't very practical. We will see what else we can do...

It's always really nice to have people staying with us for a long time and the staff enjoy getting to know our long stay guests.

Take care and best regards from sunny Windhoek,
The Rivendell team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for Rivendell Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 377 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Cesca showed us round and welcomed us very nicely. This tour included the kitchen where you can cook your own meal if you wish. Also had free teas and coffee, a fridge with drinks and an honestty box, a lounge with TV and wine bottles (with an honesty box), a secure parking area, a pool (towels provided) and our room which was one of 4 looking onto the pool area. There are other rooms as well but these 4 are the best. There is no a/c but they have ceiling fans. Room is basic but comfortable - one small wardrobe, a good bed, sliding patio windows, shower/sink/wc, insect repellent provided and also tea/coffee making. ATI travel firm has its offices in Rivendell's reception area. This is very useful to get good advice and bookings etc. We hired a car through ATI and it was delivered to the guest house.
The only criticism is that the rooms are looking a little tired and the bathrooms need updating. The customer service is really excellent.

Room Tip: Choose one looking over the pool but ask for one with a quiet ceiling fan.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy3178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, we really appreciate it and we're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You are right that a couple of the bathrooms need some updating, we have actually already arranged for a builder to come and quote on renovating two of them (Rooms 1 & 4 which are the larger ones at either end of the row of pool rooms). We had to wait until low season so that the rooms would not be booked out already, and so that we have a little bit of extra cash for the building work... but this should be done soon, we hope that at least one bathroom will be finished by the end of the year, fingers crossed.

I will ask Ciska to check all of the ceiling fans, perhaps they just need some oil, and if that doesn't work we will replace any which are making too much noise.

Thanks once again & best regards from a sunny Windhoek,
Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Thanks to Rivendell we had not so sweet flight from Botswana but we had a sweet arrival the moment we were picked by the Rivendel shuttle at the airport. Ever smilling staff from reception to the security guy. We stayed 1 night on our way to swakopmund & another night from Swakopmund. The environment is very very friendly....... i will definately recommend this house. Eh....breakfast was too much. Thanks Rivendel, we had a blast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tadoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Each time I travel to Namibia for research as a Geographer and need to stop in Windhoek, I stay at the Rivendell. It is an easy walk into town and located in a quiet and safe road. The bedrooms and communal areas are always spotless and there is lovely outside space and a pool to read or relax. The kitchen facilities are great to make some evening food, or the staff are happy to call for a take-away or recommend a local restaurant. A great place to start or end a trip into the beautiful landscapes of Namibia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertResearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great place to stay in Windhoek. Located near to the city center. After the long flight we enjoyed the nice garden and pool and the large rooms. Just around the corner is a charming local restaurant with great food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milou456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I love staying in Rivendell, the house and garden are always spotless and well maintained. The staff are helpful, friendly and efficient. It is close enough to walk ino town, 10/15 mins approx but a little longer on the way back because of the hill! Breakfast is filling, there's a order in list of places for those who do not wish to eat out in the evenings or you can do your own cooking in the kitchen. there is also an "honour" system for drinks ,chips and cake, take, write it down, enjoy, and pay as you settle your bill. I usually stay in Rivendell on winter nights and I love the way each guest gets a hot water bottle around bed time!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank findlater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was a great place to stay. It was welcoming, clean and safe. I stayed in 2 very different rooms but both were great. Pool was clean and facilities excellent. I chose a shared bathroom which was fine. The showers were excellent!
I would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShazF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Many thanks to everyone who helped bring Rivendell our 100 Trip Advisor reviews! We really value all of your feedback and hope that we can continue to welcome travellers from all over the World for many more years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.4 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
195 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Windhoek Gardens Guest House
1.2 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 97 in Windhoek
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Address: 40 Beethoven Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range: $34 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell is a small, old style house located in a quiet neighbourhood. We offer our guests a real home from home with friendly managers on site from 7am until 10pm, a night security guard, and knowledgeable travel company staff on hand to help you to plan your holiday in Namibia, or neighbouring countries. We offer our guests fully equipped self-catering facilities or the option of bed & breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing