We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mixed Bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rivendell Guest House
Ranked #7 of 95 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Mixed Bag”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in an ensuite room for two nights recently. The plusses: the grounds are beautiful, the communal kitchen very user-friendly, our room was clean, it felt safe, walking distance to the center of the city was fine, and it was very close to a restaurant we really enjoyed (Fusion). Negatives: The wi-fi situation seemed unacceptable. Guests pay for wireless by paying for set amounts of time (a daily fee would have worked better in this case). The problem is that service is inconsistent and very slow. We bought time but half of the time was spent waiting for connections. Then we tried using the office computer (which we would have had to pay for) but the person in the office couldn't get it to work. We ate breakfast there one morning. It was good but very overpriced. We had been traveling for a while and hadn't paid that price for breakfast anywhere, including places with excellent breakfasts. Finally, there are some privacy issues with at least some of the ensuite bathrooms. In one of the rooms, the top part of the door (where glass/wood should have been) was missing, so everyone could hear everything. In another room, the wall separating the bathroom from the room only went up part of the way and the door was a saloon-type door. This may not bother you, but if you're shy about these things, you may want to confirm what you're actually getting in your room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Many thanks for your recent feedback, we really value our guests opinions and appreciate you taking the time to write. I am really pleased that the overall impression of our grounds, the rooms and communal areas was positive, and it is also great to hear that you enjoyed Fusion, the local restaurant which is just down the road from us.

I am sorry that you had problems using the internet. The WiFi system is something that we installed just last year, so far it has worked really well on the whole but very ocassionally we do have issues. We have spoken to Telecom Namibia about this and they have come to check the system. From their side and ours it appears to be working fine. However, the internet speeds in Africa as a whole, and Namibia specifically in this case, are a lot slower than in other parts of the world, something that can be a frustration for us living and working here, as well as our overseas guests. Telecom Namibia have recently installed a high speed fibre optic cable which we really hope will improve the situation. We have certainly seen some better service, but time will tell as to whether this will continue. We certainly hope so! Unfortunately Telecom do not give us the option for guests to pay for a whole day of WiFi access, and with our prices being as low as they are we cannot afford to offer this as a free of charge service until the Telecome prices come down.

I have addressed the issue with regards our internet computer with our manager as it is unacceptable that it was not working while you were with us. It seems there is a problem with the screen which we will replace this week.

We have not increased the price of our breakfasts since January 2011, and the price will also stay the same for the whole of 2013. The price is around average for lodges and guesthouses in Namibia - N$80 per person. I realise that is quite expensive if you only have the continental option, but for that price you can also have a full cooked breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausage, beans, hash browns, tomato) as well as all of the continental buffet options. We have also kept this as an added extra, it is not included in our usual room rate which is very competative, and this was decided upon specifically so that people had the option to eat with us or to self-cater.

Two of our double rooms do have saloon style half doors, but this is only in rooms with one double bed which are more suitable for couples. In the one twin room which has glass missing from the top of the wooden door at present, we are planning to completely renovate that bathroom during our quiet season (November/ December 2012). Guests reading this are more than happy to request a room with a more private bathroom if they prefer, and we will happily accomodate that.

Thank you once again and I hope that you had a wonderful trip to Namibia!
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    135
    42
    10
    5
See reviews for
61
141
67
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Rivendell Guest House at the start of our trip to Namibia. It is a lovely place the gardens are well kept, the room was large and clean with en-suite facilities,not too far out from the centre of Windhoek didn't use the pool as it was too cold but it was clean and well maintained The breakfast provided was fine and the staff very helpful. Would recommend this as a great starting place for a trip to Namibia.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Clean, comfortable rooms, good showers and friendly, helpful staff. There is a shared kitchen at the guest house and a good little restaurant less than half a block away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Seven years later we returned to the Rivendell Guest House and it was exactly as we remembered it and more. We stayed at the beginning of our trip to Namibia and once again 3 weeks later at the end of our African adventure. Ciska and the staff are so accommodating, helpful and pleasant. It's like being part of a family. If you would ask about a restaurant they would not only recommend but also offer to make reservations and order taxis before you had the chance to ask. It's a first class operation at a economical price. Well situated, very clean, nice pool and quiet. You cannot ask for more.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanbram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Many thanks for your positive review! We're really pleased that after staying with us so long ago, you found everything to still be up to standard this time. Maybe we will see you again in the future, Namibia has a way of luring people back!

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed one night there arriving Namibia.
The room was large, clean, nice shower with hot water.
We didn't enjoyed the swimming pool, the weather was too cold.
There is a gas station with basic food nearby, a FNB bank also.

The staff has been very friendly.
There are drinks and food (fruits, cakes...) in self-service.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mamouchkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We picked Rivendell based on its previous good reviews over other places. It fulfilled all our expectations. It was a good mixture of breakfast provided but with full self-catering facilities if preferred in a central kitchen area. It was also close enough to the city centre to easily pop out for meals if required or to have take-aways delivered.It was a bit cool for us to use the pool but people were and it looked great. One minor word of caution, the accommodation can be paid for by credit card but they request extras such as drinks and food to be paid cash.

Room Tip: It is well worth the extra for the en-suite rooms as the trek to the bathroom can be a bit of a nuis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarin Mauritius
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Our trip to Namibia was a complete success . I would like to thank the Rivendell team for their warm welcome & special thanks to Ciska who helped & gave us some good advises before we started our trip.

I recommand this guest house for its services & affordable price .

Irina & Jean Pierre

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean pierre f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.4 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,316 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
1.2 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 95 in Windhoek
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windhoek Gardens Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Property: Rivendell Guest House
Address: 40 Beethoven Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell is a small, old style house located in a quiet neighbourhood. We offer our guests a real home from home with friendly managers on site from 7am until 10pm, a night security guard, and knowledgeable travel company staff on hand to help you to plan your holiday in Namibia, or neighbouring countries. We offer our guests fully equipped self-catering facilities or the option of bed & breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing