We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chameleon Backpackers Hostel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Windhoek
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Windhoek(Windhoek)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveler rating
198
158
33
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
158
33
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeet other travellersfriendly vibequiz nightbus stationgreat kitchenfree walking tourprivate roombudget optionback packersfree breakfastsecond homeself catering kitchenhoneymoon suitecentral windhoekplace to staysouthern africacommunal kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 405 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Stayed in this Hostel for two nights. The Hostel itself is great: Nice pool, rooms ok and standard breakfast. The manager of the hostel was pretty rude to some guests, though. Additionally he lets his local staff sleep on the floor in a lumber-room w no windows

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mettigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

EXCELLENT PLACE... Great facilities, awesome fully-equiped comunal huge kitcken, beautiful swimming pool and cool bar, very useful parking space, etc, etc.They provide all the services the travellers need and the staff is so nice. They care a lot about the environment. And the Elephant Room is perfect! Also, CHAMELEON HOLIDAYS AND TRAVEL, the travel agency (which is into the hostel) offers a superb service. We want to thank very specially DALENE HANSEN for making things so easy for us... We had a perfect 10-day self drive trip into the country... Dalene put all the pieces together for us and everything went PERFECT. She, Jules and Nascimento make a great team! We couldn't be any happier with this trip :)

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarianaARG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

I really enjoyed staying at Chameleon after the desert trip they organised. We had a large room, with two single beds and a large bathroom. It was all very convenient, with nice African design.

The hostel is located quite close to the center of Windhoek, you can walk the distance.

As I said we also did a tour with them (to sossusvlei), that was really great! I can recommend staying with them and doing a tour with them.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Marlies84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

I am doing an internship in Windhoek, and have been staying at Chameleon for a while now. Not to be too cliche, but it really has been a home away from home for me. This is by far the best backpackers in Windhoek, and I have tried them all!

Here is why I LOVE Chameleon:
* The newly renovated rooms and bathrooms are lovely
* The camping area (where I stay) is clean and well-kept
* The pool and large grassy pool area is incredibly inviting. It's hard to find grass in Windhoek...dont' take it for granted! :)
* The bar is fully stocked and always a welcoming place to have a drink or two...or five.
* The kitchen is FANTASTIC! Its huge and clean, with granite countertops and a massive fridge. I can even make chocolate chip cookies in the oven.
*Chameleon actually *cares* about the environment. They recycle (the only place in Windhoek that does) and the showers are all solar heated.
* The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful, and they truly care about their guests safety.

No backpackers is perfect, but Chameleon really is the best you'll find in this neck of the woods. The downside to all this awesomeness, they stay pretty busy. So check out their website and email them with your dates. They even pick you up from the bus stop if you come by Intercape! What's not to love!

Happy Travels!
A very happy camper (literally :) )

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank happylittlecamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Accommodation – we stayed in one of the guestrooms, which was beautifully decorated with African art, had a spacious bathroom, a comfy sofa, a safe for valuables & a large bed (which was let down slightly by the uncomfortable pillows).
Unfortunately our delight at our lovely room was soon dampened, when we realised that our room abutted the toilets & shower for the campers, the sounds from it being used, could be heard through the thin walls of our room! There are also building works going on, right outside the room, for new accommodation, which started quite early and woke us up.

Facilities – there is a pool, two TV rooms, bar, internet facilities and a huge kitchen area. The main TV room has videos on offer to watch & there is another TV room next to the bar/pool area. Internet access is provided on two computers, but make sure you ask a staff member to log you on, as you’ll be fined 100N$ if you log on yourself. If you don’t feel like cooking something in the spacious kitchen, the hostel has a pizza menu from a local pizza joint which delivers and the prices are very reasonable.

Breakfast – is provided, but is very basic. Bread, butter & jam provided, with tea/coffee. No cereals on offer.

Location – very close to central Windhoek (5mins walk), but with warnings that you shouldn’t go out with bags or cameras for fear of being mugged at knifepoint, not really a city you want to explore! There is a Namibian art/craft centre within 5mins walk which is worth visiting.

Sightseeing Tours - there was a big board with details of several tours on offer, ie Etosha Express for 3-4 days, Bushman tour for 2 days etc. Not sure whether these are still valid, or how good they are, but the hostel appears able to organise something if you are interested.

Service – this is where the Chameleon really falls down. The service is pretty so-so, and not really ‘customer’ focused. You’re made to feel like you’re imposing when you ask the staff to do something i.e. access the internet, or when you order a beer at the bar. The staff seem more interested in chatting to each other & having a good time, than anything else.

Airport transfers – the Chameleon offers airport transfers, and the lady who takes you there is really friendly & drives very safely. Make sure you confirm the price, as I was quoted several different prices when trying to arrange this. Windhoek airport is about 45mins away from the Chameleon.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dekoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews