We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hostel - bad service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chameleon Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Bremen
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Hostel - bad service”
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Stayed in this Hostel for two nights. The Hostel itself is great: Nice pool, rooms ok and standard breakfast. The manager of the hostel was pretty rude to some guests, though. Additionally he lets his local staff sleep on the floor in a lumber-room w no windows

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mettigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    134
    28
    10
    4
See reviews for
36
105
115
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2009

EXCELLENT PLACE... Great facilities, awesome fully-equiped comunal huge kitcken, beautiful swimming pool and cool bar, very useful parking space, etc, etc.They provide all the services the travellers need and the staff is so nice. They care a lot about the environment. And the Elephant Room is perfect! Also, CHAMELEON HOLIDAYS AND TRAVEL, the travel agency (which is into the hostel) offers a superb service. We want to thank very specially DALENE HANSEN for making things so easy for us... We had a perfect 10-day self drive trip into the country... Dalene put all the pieces together for us and everything went PERFECT. She, Jules and Nascimento make a great team! We couldn't be any happier with this trip :)

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MarianaARG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

I really enjoyed staying at Chameleon after the desert trip they organised. We had a large room, with two single beds and a large bathroom. It was all very convenient, with nice African design.

The hostel is located quite close to the center of Windhoek, you can walk the distance.

As I said we also did a tour with them (to sossusvlei), that was really great! I can recommend staying with them and doing a tour with them.

  • Liked — the nice large room
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marlies84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2008

I am doing an internship in Windhoek, and have been staying at Chameleon for a while now. Not to be too cliche, but it really has been a home away from home for me. This is by far the best backpackers in Windhoek, and I have tried them all!

Here is why I LOVE Chameleon:
* The newly renovated rooms and bathrooms are lovely
* The camping area (where I stay) is clean and well-kept
* The pool and large grassy pool area is incredibly inviting. It's hard to find grass in Windhoek...dont' take it for granted! :)
* The bar is fully stocked and always a welcoming place to have a drink or two...or five.
* The kitchen is FANTASTIC! Its huge and clean, with granite countertops and a massive fridge. I can even make chocolate chip cookies in the oven.
*Chameleon actually *cares* about the environment. They recycle (the only place in Windhoek that does) and the showers are all solar heated.
* The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful, and they truly care about their guests safety.

No backpackers is perfect, but Chameleon really is the best you'll find in this neck of the woods. The downside to all this awesomeness, they stay pretty busy. So check out their website and email them with your dates. They even pick you up from the bus stop if you come by Intercape! What's not to love!

Happy Travels!
A very happy camper (literally :) )

  • Liked — Great atmosphere, cute dogs, clean and friendly
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank happylittlecamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Accommodation – we stayed in one of the guestrooms, which was beautifully decorated with African art, had a spacious bathroom, a comfy sofa, a safe for valuables & a large bed (which was let down slightly by the uncomfortable pillows).
Unfortunately our delight at our lovely room was soon dampened, when we realised that our room abutted the toilets & shower for the campers, the sounds from it being used, could be heard through the thin walls of our room! There are also building works going on, right outside the room, for new accommodation, which started quite early and woke us up.

Facilities – there is a pool, two TV rooms, bar, internet facilities and a huge kitchen area. The main TV room has videos on offer to watch & there is another TV room next to the bar/pool area. Internet access is provided on two computers, but make sure you ask a staff member to log you on, as you’ll be fined 100N$ if you log on yourself. If you don’t feel like cooking something in the spacious kitchen, the hostel has a pizza menu from a local pizza joint which delivers and the prices are very reasonable.

Breakfast – is provided, but is very basic. Bread, butter & jam provided, with tea/coffee. No cereals on offer.

Location – very close to central Windhoek (5mins walk), but with warnings that you shouldn’t go out with bags or cameras for fear of being mugged at knifepoint, not really a city you want to explore! There is a Namibian art/craft centre within 5mins walk which is worth visiting.

Sightseeing Tours - there was a big board with details of several tours on offer, ie Etosha Express for 3-4 days, Bushman tour for 2 days etc. Not sure whether these are still valid, or how good they are, but the hostel appears able to organise something if you are interested.

Service – this is where the Chameleon really falls down. The service is pretty so-so, and not really ‘customer’ focused. You’re made to feel like you’re imposing when you ask the staff to do something i.e. access the internet, or when you order a beer at the bar. The staff seem more interested in chatting to each other & having a good time, than anything else.

Airport transfers – the Chameleon offers airport transfers, and the lady who takes you there is really friendly & drives very safely. Make sure you confirm the price, as I was quoted several different prices when trying to arrange this. Windhoek airport is about 45mins away from the Chameleon.

  • Liked — It was cheap!
  • Disliked — Customer service.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dekoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2007

I stayed at this place for three nights and had a private room,very comfortable and reasonably priced.
Breakfast was provided as part of the room cost but would liked to see cereal on the menu. Would be great if a better toaster was available .The one provided was very slow and cumbersome.
Seemed to be planty of staff around but not doing much and a little vague when asked questions about the area.
The internet was very slow and only one provided
Overall,this backpackers was very good for a single young person and not so young.Very clean and well located to the shops.etc
Yes ,I would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay.

  • Liked — clean and tidy
  • Disliked — the internet
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2006

This is one of the best backpackers I've ever stayed in. Nice people, great atmosphere and cute dogs :-) Clean rooms and good service. I stayed there for almost two weeks and if I ever go back to Windhoek, I'll defenitely stay at Chameleon again!! I went on their safari-tour in Etosha and that was also a lot of fun!

  • Liked — Nice staff, clean, reasonable price
  • Disliked — only one internet access
  • Tips/Secrets — One of the dogs are crazy about the pool water!
  • Stayed January 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lille-Ti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.4 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
2.6 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.5 mi away
UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chameleon Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chameleon Backpackers Hostel

Property: Chameleon Backpackers Hostel
Address: 5 7 Voight Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Windhoek
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For Backpackers we offer dormitory beds. There is also a range of twin, double and three bed rooms for those wishing for more privacy. Our Guesthouse has spacious rooms with en-suite bathrooms having off street parking and a continental self serve breakfast included. Need safe long term accommodation while staying in Windhoek. We have 3 flats available for stays of more than 3 months. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chameleon Backpackers Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing