We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chameleon Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here a few times during my trip to Namibia, one night I stayed in a budget single room which was very nice, super clean, the other times I stayed in a dorm which was also very clean with a secure location for your stuff and a night light on each bunk for night time. I saw the more expensive private rooms and they were really nice, beautiful decor. The breakfast in the morning was basic but a nice addition, the pool also adds to the stay here. One of my only complaints is the fact that you have to pay for WIFI and I know that in other hostels in Windhoek you don't. The location is good, within walking distance of shops and local attractions.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 379 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here as part of our African trip.

We arrived her around 10am after getting off the bus from Livingstone. Check in was really easy, and the staff there were really nice and helpful with tourist information, and safety information!
The rooms were spacious, and minimalist,and both the bedroom and the bathroom were impeccably clean.
Breakfast was included, which was a self serve buffet breakfast, with cereal, bread and coffee/tea and fruit.
The bar was quite cheap, and stocked most booze available!!

Location wise, the Guesthouse has a good location, within walking distance of Independance Avenue, and a shopping area (with supermarket).

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you want to laze around, drink at the bar, dip in the pool or just idle away reading or browsing..Chameleon is the place. They have clean rooms. Very efficient, helpful and warm people who are glad to assist. Breakfast included and you can toss your own meal if you wish to cook. They have all the stuff which makes it possible

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjayNarayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Chameleon Backpackers is efficiently run, clean and not too far from Independence Avenue (10 minutes walk) Rooms are basic, but spacious and good value. Internet connection costs about 10 N$ for 40 minutes of somewhat slow and slightly unstable (could be a temporary problem at that time) WiFi pleasure. They have a bar, pool, private rooms, dorm and it's also possible to sleep in your tent. But, be aware that there are no 'real' camping spots, so camping is always a bit of improvising. Service in general is nonsense-friendly-efficient, and as it is part of Chameleon, it's easy to arrange multiple day trips in Namibia, in case you would like to do it as part of a group.

Chameleon Backpackers also warns you a lot about possible dangers, particularly thefts or muggings. Awareness is certainly a good thing, but can also cause unneeded paranoia. We found Windhoek to be quite safe and never felt threatened or insecure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristof79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in a private room with an attached bath. There is a backpacker area too, but that was separate from where we stayed. We stayed in the "Kudu" room, The room is small but fine for spending a night or two. It appeared that the rooms did not have attached bathrooms and these were added at a later date. They provided breakfast was included in the rate. But it was backpacker hostel style where you help yourself and then clean your plates etc. This place is run by Chameleon, a local outfit that runs safari tours of Namibia. We took the tour and were very happy with it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kashgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

this place actually has two kinds of accomodation. the backpackers part and the private rooms. there is a big difference in that. I had a private room which is on the same premises (great to meet people) but is on one side. These rooms share the same kitchen en share the breakfast. The room is very nice african decorated. Very clean! It is also quiet on that side. pricewise this is a great deal as other hotels in Windhoek are more expensive. the private room is hotel quality and not backpacker quality. Staff is very friendly and one even offered me and some other travellers to visit the township. this was a great experience. He also ownded a 'bar; there so we had some beers with local people. They can also pick up from the busstation. It is like a 5 minute walk to central Windhoek where you will find many restaurants. Fore sure I can recommand this place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in a family room which, though small, was clean. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was included (though you have to wash up as in most backpackers). A good address but book early because it fills up quickly.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Titch-the-Witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
2.6 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
247 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
197 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#13 of 17 in Windhoek
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,415 reviews
1.5 mi away
UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
0.9 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#12 of 101 in Windhoek
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chameleon Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chameleon Backpackers Hostel

Address: 5 7 Voight Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Windhoek
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For Backpackers we offer dormitory beds. There is also a range of twin, double and triple rooms for those wishing for more privacy. Our Guesthouse has spacious rooms with en-suite bathrooms having off street parking and a continental self serve breakfast included. Need safe long term accommodation while staying in Windhoek. We have 3 flats available for stays of more than 3 months. We have recently added air-conditioners to some of our standard and luxury en-suite rooms which is great during the hot summer months. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chameleon Backpackers Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing