We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good start and end point for Namibian trip”
Review of Galton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galton House
Ranked #11 of 97 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good start and end point for Namibian trip”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here 2nights before a trip around Namibia. We were booked in for b&b but had a lunch and evening meals as well. The food was very good, game steak slightly over cooked, and of a modern style trying to move away from traditional african fare. The staff were always friendly and helpful, there are some great artistic photos of wildlife in every room. The rooms were a nice size and well laid out.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    68
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
73
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Formby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This proved to be a perfect first accommodation for us. Forty five minute drive from airport and situated in a quiet residential area of Windhoek. We stayed 2 nights.

Staff were helpful about everything and was even driven by manager to nearest ATM for cash(Thanks Jimmy!!).

Room was spotless and adequate for purpose. No time to watch the big flat screen tv!.

Food (although we only had breakfast) was excellent. The small pool and surrounding area was a relaxing place to chill out after a long flight/drive.

Would stay again as it was in a peaceful location.

Room Tip: Try Joe's Beerhouse for a terrific African experience. Loads of meat so veggies beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reavley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

A group of four of us have just stayed at Galton House. We wish to thank the owners and manager for a perfect night. We were most impressed with the organization and complete cleanliness of this B and B. The rooms and bathrooms are modern and very comfortable, not large but perfectly adequate and very comfy. We had a delicious dinner and breakfast as well as helping ourselves to a family-style kitchen for drinks and tea or coffee. There is always someone present for any questions(Thanks, Jimmy!) and the communal areas are lovely: GREAT pool and sitting spots. This hotel went the extra mile to help us out on a couple of issues and we were most grateful. A great stay. Many thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed as a single female traveller and was made most welcome on my 2 visits. The onsite chef is very talented and prepares supper for anyone who wishes to dine in, or taxis are readily arranged for popping into town. Beautiful rooms, pool a welcome addition for hot days, and fast internet. Great value for money - do try and enjoy it!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenniegSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Spent one night in this guesthouse during September 2013. I had room # 9, which is outside of main building. This room has two single beds and a cot, very basic but clean; same as the bathroom – basic and clean. Nevertheless, the room has a small safety box. The public area is spacious with modern deco and there is an out door pool. The free complementary tea and coffee was provided all day along. Continental breakfast was good and sufficient. Dinner was excellent. They had a good choice of wines. Staff was very warm and friendly.

Cons: This guesthouse is located in a quiet residential area, far way from the town center (about 10 minutes of driving) to go on foot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent 1 night here at the start of our Namibian adventure and 1 night at the end. From the moment we arrived Jimmy made sure we were well looked after. The guesthouse is very comfortable and modern and in a very quiet location. We had room 1 which was huge and situated beside the pool. Breakfast was great, plenty of options. The only drawback is the distance between the guesthouse and town/restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Room 1 - beside the pool with a double bed, 2 singles and a cot bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fairmont123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Connecticut, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is a dream; it has beautiful, modern design and quiet comfort. I loved the layout and architectural spaces, and the minimal interior design. The interior showcases an appreciation for the rich landscape including marble, wood, cement, gravel, linen, baskets, blooming jasmine, and large photographs from the Namibian deserts.

I arrived at the airport after sunset from Capetown and got a taxi to drive me to Galton House.

Once I walked into the front door, I felt immediately welcome and relaxed.

Michael was very helpful, and the chef was excellent.

I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenna L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
2.6 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,346 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
209 reviews
2.6 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 97 in Windhoek
234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
#2 of 97 in Windhoek
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galton House

Property: Galton House
Address: 72 Amasonite Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galton House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galton House is Windhoek’s newest accommodation establishment. Named after the famous explorer Sir Francis Galton, it has a relaxed but efficient style which creates a very welcoming atmosphere. A mere ten minute drive from the centre of town and perched on the edge of Windhoek’s northernmost affluent suburb of Eros, guests staying here will be ensured of peace and tranquility. The eight guest rooms are all equipped with internet connectivity and satellite television, with a coffee/tea station available on request and other general guest amenities. The communal areas consist of a large lounge, dining room, swimming pool and garden. There is also delightful ‘al fresco’ dining area by the pool, serving freshly prepared and very tasty meals. There are also a number of shops, restaurants and supermarkets within easy striking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Galton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing