We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm”
Review of Galton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galton House
Ranked #13 of 97 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm”
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Nice helpful friendly guest house. Tastefully done relaxing atmosphere and great responsive staff. Did not have dinner but great breakfast. All rooms nice small plunge pool and comfy space to hang out. Wifi access

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan_Crowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    68
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
73
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed for our first night in Namibia before travelling on. The bedroom was comfortable and cool (just sunlight from a glass door facing onto an inner courtyard, so protected from the heat of the day) and the indoor public areas were delightful, spacious and relaxing with lots of books on Namibian wildlife and landscapes to pore over. The breakfast was excellent, generous and freshly prepared and deserved to be savoured. For our first night we did not expect the locked courtyard, but we soon got used to it throughout Namibia, and parking was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank By_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent one night at Galton House at the end of our Namibia holiday. The place has the feel of an upmarket guesthouse...we definitely had the impression of staying in someone's (very nice) home. The welcome and the hospitality we enjoyed were good.

The rooms are situated on a quiet inner courtyard near the small swimming pool. Our room was fairly spacious (though perhaps because there wasn't a lot of furniture) and quite stark in appearance. It was very clean, had a decent air conditioning unit and contemporary ensuite with a large and powerful walk in shower. We found the bed to be extremely hard and it did not afford a particularly comfortable night's sleep, though admittedly this could be personal taste.

As there was no seating in the room we spent most of our relaxing time in the stylish and comfortable living room area. Complimentary wifi was available throughout the accommodation.

We ate dinner at Galton House, principally for convenience- it's located a way from the centre of town, and we had an early start the following day. The three course dinner was simple, tasty and fresh and reasonable value for money. Because we were checking out early, conveniently, a simple breakfast tray of tea, coffee and biscuits was placed in our room in the evening.

In all, we felt Galton House was fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherylanddavid2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our recent vacation to the hinterlands of Namibia brought us in and out of Windhoek three times -- on each of which we spent a night at the Galton House. The experience could not have been better. The staff was friendly and accommodating, the rooms spacious for packing and repacking -- and they were happy to hold an unneeded bag for pick-up at a later visit. Everything was clean and fresh with a modern decor, comfortable beds and wonderful large photo prints of local wildlife. The location in an upscale suburb guarantees quiet. They have a small but thoughtful gift shop, which was perfect for those last minute gifts for friends and family. Wireless internet connections worked well (though a bit slow). The location is close (driving) to several restaurants and convenient to downtown and the Eros airport. For part of the trip we had a rental car and protected parking was available. We didn't have dinner at their restaurant -- but probably would have if they had offered an a la carte option -- when we visited the only option was for the full set price menu.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the Galton guesthouse in Windhoek for 2 nights , on our way in & out of Namibia. It is located in a stylish part of town called Eros. Decorated in a modern chic style, with large prints of African wildlife all over the walls, the place is very modern. Rooms are large, with very comfortable beds & a decent bathroom(though I did not understand why they needed to have an open shower-water got everywhere!). There is a common living area, nice gardens, a pool that was too cold to use when we were there & a little shop with curios. They do serve dinner there & since we reached after dark that first night, we ate there. Good food, but very expensive- they are located just 5 minutes from the very nice Joe’s beerhouse, so if you have the time, make sure you get them to make you a dinner reservation for Joe’s(reviewed separately!). The bill at Galton for dinner was twice as much as it was at Joe’s for us!
The manager Mikael(not sure of the exact spelling) was helpful- we had 2 large suitcases with stuff that we did not want to lug around Namibia & he was nice enough to hold them for us for the next 4 days. Internet is fast, but you do need to get vouchers from the front desk that last an hour each.
Overall, nothing at all to complain about at all- a very stylish, well decorated place , with great service. Unfortunately, we barely got a chance to stay there, it was more of a transit stop as we arrived & departed from Windhoek.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper level near the pool were quiet & serene & spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manasi_kar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I hardly recommand Galton House!
Everything was perfect! We were warmly welcomed and the service was perfect!
Only one word: Excellent!!!

The management of Galton is perfect!
Keep going in that direction!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for a night prior to our departure from Namibia. The check-in was very smooth and we were greeted with a refreshing mango juice in sugar rimmed glasses. The co-owner, Mikahail (sp?) and staff were very welcoming and friendly. We stayed in the family room which was very comfortable. The bathroom was small and the only negative was that the shower stall had no door so there was water everywhere! The staff made dinner reservations for us at Joe's Beerhouse which was convenient. At night during turn-down service a hot water flask was tucked under our blanket which was a delightful surprise for the chilly Windhoek night. For breakfast, we were offered made-to-order eggs alongside a satisfying continental breakfast buffet. There is free internet/wifi which requires a voucher number that lasts for an hour, but you can ask for additional vouchers at no additional charge. Definitely recommend Galton House for short or extended visits!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StPatrickGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
2.6 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,368 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
211 reviews
2.6 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
362 reviews
1.5 mi away
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
#2 of 97 in Windhoek
541 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 97 in Windhoek
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galton House

Property: Galton House
Address: 72 Amasonite Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galton House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galton House is Windhoek’s newest accommodation establishment. Named after the famous explorer Sir Francis Galton, it has a relaxed but efficient style which creates a very welcoming atmosphere. A mere ten minute drive from the centre of town and perched on the edge of Windhoek’s northernmost affluent suburb of Eros, guests staying here will be ensured of peace and tranquility. The eight guest rooms are all equipped with internet connectivity and satellite television, with a coffee/tea station available on request and other general guest amenities. The communal areas consist of a large lounge, dining room, swimming pool and garden. There is also delightful ‘al fresco’ dining area by the pool, serving freshly prepared and very tasty meals. There are also a number of shops, restaurants and supermarkets within easy striking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Galton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing