We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place with a warm hospitality”
Review of Villa Violet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Violet
Ranked #7 of 99 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Villa in the end of February. Although I found it a bit too luxurious for a family stay, it is a home feeling place with the utmost attendance. The swimming pool is quite small for the kids but enough for cooling down after daylond trip. The location is quite convenient for runners but to get to the city centre you will need a car. Big appreciation for the ample breakfast and complimentary coffee throughtout the day - very fine quality and delicious home made bisquits always nearby. For its friendly atmosphere, home away from home feeling and practical location I would recommend Villa Vilet to all types of travellers without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jolana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben-at-VV, Manager at Villa Violet, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Jolana,

We trust that you arrived safely at your home. It was a pleasure to accommodate your family.
Thank you for sharing your experience, your review will help us to improve our service and amenities.

kind regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 255 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

The location is not far from the centre of Windhoek, but it felt somewhat isolated. A local restaurant - "Joe's Beer House" - was recommended by the hosts and proved to be well worth a visit although they recommended that even though it was a mere 800 metres distant we should get a taxi if returning after dark. The room was well appointed and all facilities were as stated, but the negative aspect of the place was that the breakfast room was polluted by cigarette smoke even though the offender was not present. Overall, owing the the security warnings this location is very convenient as a start point for a Namibian tour or a final location before departing from Windhoek airport.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEITH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben-at-VV, Manager at Villa Violet, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Keith

thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on our TripAdvisor profile. Your opinion matters to us and helps to improve our service.
We are glad that you found Villa Violet convenient and correct even though you were bothered cigarette smoke coming from an outside standing guest. We would like to point out that all our rooms as well as the lounge and breakfast room are non-smoking. If a guest smokes outside, he may do so, since Namibia has not applied a general smoking ban. We apologize for the discomfort it caused but unfortunately there is not much we could do about it.
Hopefully this will not keep you from booking with us for a future stay.

kind regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Villa Violet was a great way to spend our last night in Namibia before flying out the next morning. Booking online was easy, their response via email was prompt. The grounds are very nice and secure; our room was lovely and clean with no noticeable noise. Heidi was so nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttsalinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben-at-VV, Manager at Villa Violet, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review. We always try to provide our best service.
Hoping to seeing you again
kind regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

At Villa Violet we found everything we were looking for:
- Beautiful & clean room
- Extremely comfortable beds
- Very friendly owners
- Nice and quiet location (walking distance from Joe's Beerhouse :) )
- Good breakfast

Very good start of our holidays, thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicolientje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaviolet, Owner at Villa Violet, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

Dear Malfromage,
Thank you for the positive review, we are glad that you enjoyed your tour in Namibia and here at VV. It was also a nice to meet you, don't hesitate to contact us if you plan to come again. Best wishes.

Regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Villa Violet deserves its Tripadvisor rating - we just found the shower / toilet very small and we are not big people! But the lovely quiet garden and friendly staff more than made up for this lack of space.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Strudels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

All we needed was one night to find out what a wonderful place Villa Violet is. A couple of weeks ago we stayed for an extra night in Windhoek because of the change in the flight schedule. But it really didn´t matter because we had such a nice stay. We felt like staying at a real home. Thanks Heidi and Ben!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night when arriving at Windhoek. Owners were very helpful in getting around and finding a good restaurant. The parking was guarded at night by a very friendly local. Breakfast OK; no other meals.
Watch the photos in the reception - and do not forget to ask the story about the snake and the squirrel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
1,401 reviews
3.8 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
242 reviews
1.2 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 99 in Windhoek
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
#2 of 99 in Windhoek
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elegant Guesthouse
The Elegant Guesthouse
#8 of 99 in Windhoek
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Violet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Violet

Address: 48 Ziegler Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range: $82 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Violet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the leafy suburb of Klein Windhoek, Villa Violet offers a sparkling new, fresh and modern accommodation option when visiting the city center. Five en-suite rooms front onto a grassy central area. Each room has an average of 20m² of size equipped with air-conditioner/heater, flat-screen TV and a safe. Wireless Internet, secure parking and a laundry service are also available to guests. The rooms open out onto a patio with tables and chairs, and a small turquoise-blue pool glistens invitingly at the bottom of the garden. The B&B is in close proximity to restaurants and shops, and a short drive away from the city center, making it not only an appealing place to stay but a convenient stop when entering or leaving the country. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing