We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic hidden Gem in Windhoek”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belvedere Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Fantastic hidden Gem in Windhoek”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I spent one night at this little boutique hotel during my short visit to Namibia, and it was a very luxurious evening. The rooms were very huge and spacious, well decorated, maintained and oozed of quality. This is a hotel where I can imagine spending a very romantic time with my spouse in this very sleepy city. The hotel had nice small swimming pool, jakuzzi, a garden area for relaxing, an "honest" bar (which is very rare in this part of the world), and a small mini-golf course for those who wished to cool down after a hot day exploring the areas around the city. The rooms come with hi-speed unlimited wifi (which was good enough for a video call) and a well connected Tv, for those who have business matters to attend, while the staff a very helpful in giving directions and suggestions. There is secure car park, as the one drawback of this city and hotel is that there is no public transport, and so you need to hire a car to get around. All in all a very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: There are only about 8 rooms to choose from and all are very good. For those looking to relax, I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vishaals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanne D, Manager at Belvedere Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time to give us a very positive review. We always appreciate any feedback

Hope to see you again soon

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    32
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
36
2
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I very frequently travel to Windhoek and Belvedere Boutique Hotel is one of only two places I choose to stay. The rooms have extremely good finishes and super comfy beds. The guesthouse has very nice recreational areas that can be used to socialise or work. It is very safe and the staff extremely friendly.

The only drawbacks would be inconsistent room quality. There are one or two rooms that only have showers, so it is advisable to ask for the bigger and nicer rooms. Parking is always a bit of a headache as the guesthouse is almost always quite full of business travellers.

There's no option for dinner other than going out to local restaurants. They used to order takeout, but management has discontinued this due to internal administrative issues, which is an inconvenience when you're on business and don't have the option to go dining out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanne D, Manager at Belvedere Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a very positive review and giving us great feedback
Regarding the dinner, we have chosen two very well known restaurants in Whk from where guests can order food. The one is very close-by and food can be collected. And the other restaurant has the option of delivering, which makes it even more convenient
The reason we chose to discard the other take-out booklets, we felt that their standard of service delivery was not up to the standard that we want to give our guests. There were always numerous problems when they were used
We value your input and hope to see you again soon

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Feels like home away from home!! If this boutique hotel had better 24 hour staff avialability and offered lunch and dinner it would be unbeatable! Still, a great place to stay. Rooms are clean and has free wifi. Staff is friendly and helpfull, unfortunately only during normal business hours.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Namcrewtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed at this venue some time ago. The setting is great, rooms and bathrooms are of good quality and service was good. It is a plus if you want to stay out of the busy city to just relax in a quiet environment. For a business trip, the accommodation is ideal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PieterfromRoodepoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on a business trip to Windhoek and was sorry to leave. An absolute oasis in s very "different" African city. Situated in a quiet residential area, the room and bathroom were both immaculate.A wonderful, shaded area with splash pool is great to relax in. The breakfast was extremely good. I am already planning to return to Windhoek with my wife so that she can enjoy the city and this wonderful little boutique hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauPaSat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel, hidden away in a residential estate on the East side of Windhoek, is a real oasis in the sandy and busy capital. The very quite facility is two houses that have recently been joined together and offers wonderful areas of relaxation, inside and out, a clean and decently-sized swimming pool, a tennis court, a jacuzzi and a very pleasant garden. The rooms are very comfortable, the Wifi works very well, the breakfast is good. Off-street parking is available and the facility is well protected. The employees are very professional, friendly and competent.
This hotel is well worth the price and an ideal place to stay at the beginning and/or end of a trip to Windhoek. At the same, it should not just be considered as a one-nighter hotel, being a great base for one day trips to the surrounding area. The price-performance of this hotel is unbeatable.
Going towards the airport, Grever Street meets with Sam Nujoma Drive. Turn right, towards Windhoek and on the right hand side there are two very good restaurants: Andy’s (v.good Pizzas and German food) and O Pertuga (fantastic fish dishes). Both are good value for the quality of food one receives.

A tip for those that have never driven in Namibia before:
When travelling around, you may travel 50% of the distance on asphalt roads and 50% on gravel tracks, but from a time point of view you spend 80% of your time on the gravel roads. As a tourist you do need a raised, 4 wheel car to get around, ideally with an automatic gearbox and cruise control. These vehicles are more expensive than cars, but it is worth the difference because some places can simply not be reached using normal cars.
Fuel really should be bought when you see it. Letting the tank go under 50% full is not really a good idea, especially when you are not sure of the opening times and days of filling stations which may be 250 km away.
The Namibian roads are empty when you get out of town, especially the gravel roads. On several occasions we drove for over 3 hours and saw only 5 other vehicles. Also be aware that there are long stretches of repetitive landscape and passengers may need other distractions in order to keep them amused.
At some stage of your journey you may well be travelling between Swakopmund and Windhoek. This road is in good asphalted condition and well used. On the journey we took we saw 6 mobile radar traps so beware! Speeding tickets are expensive in Namibia!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazzman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsumeb, Namibia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

STayed there for one night in September . Was quite surprised to find such a "gem' in Windhoek . Totaly exceeded my expectations on quality, comfort and service. The rooms where immaculate and verry comfortable. Definitely my next residence for business in Windhoek.

Room Tip: The suites are a definite must . Parking was a bit of a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.9 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
3.9 mi away
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Hotel
#9 of 16 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Boutique Hotel

Property: Belvedere Boutique Hotel
Address: 76 78 Dr Kwame Nkrumah Road | Old Street : 76-78 Gever Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belvedere Boutique Hotel - Windhoek is a unique, up-market sanctuary for the modern day traveler. The hotel is conveniently situated in Ludwigsdorf, Klein Windhoek - Belvedere is an exclusive boutique hotel boasting a total of 18 individualized rooms – equipped for both the business traveler and tourist. Our luxurious living area offers the perfect venue for meeting with business acquaintances and our stylish cigar lounge equipped with flat screen television and music centre is the perfect place to relax with friends before a night out. In summer you can relax on our wooden deck next to a bubbling jacuzzi or cool off in the sparkling pool. Our fireplace adds to the cozy atmosphere of our Boutique Hotel and is guaranteed to warm the coldest night. Belvedere Boutique Hotel - Windhoek also hosts a small seminar facility (max 20), floodlit tennis court, artificial putting green, a spa, an honesty bar and a variety of excellent a la carte menus from top Windhoek restaurants. Upon sharing this well-kept secret with you, you now have the opportunity to experience the perfect balance between tranquility and professionalism. We aim to provide "a home away from home – only better." We further strive to match the elegance of our surroundings with personalized service and a "can-do" attitude. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing