We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Windhoek.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Windhoek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Windhoek
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Gaborone
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hilton Windhoek.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Hi all,
Probably the best place to stay in Windhoek, its centrally located, staff are really friendly and helpful.

Highlights
Management are involved and always visible.
Rooms are spacious.
Showers are awesome.
Modern look and feel leaves you energetic.
Friendly waiter in the ekipa resturant
Thursday buffet (Indian night) is the best.

Lo-lights
The room service menu need improvement, the portions are small.
A colleague had a room that was a bit musty. (Mine was perfect)
The cost of staying here is becoming increasingly high. With the current economic pressures businesses are reducing travel allowances making eating and drinking at the Hilton difficult.
Staff need to be trained on the Hilton honours program. (I enquired about benefits and the front desk were unclear).

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Yeshene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback, happy to note that you loved your stay and that you enjoyed the services delivered by the Hilton Windhoek. We will consider your feedback for our future developments and looking forward to welcome you back soonest.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    517
    195
    97
    46
See reviews for
153
344
88
535
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

I enjoyed my stay a the Hilton Windhoek and will highly recommend it to all travelers visiting this part of the country. The hotel is modern, room sizes are good and location is very central. The staff are helpful. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Asif V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback, good to note that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Very good conditions, excelent room service, excelent room conditions. Everything is clean and fresh. I was there with my family and it's very good. It's expensive, but the price it's according to the excelence of service that Hilton's provide.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Priamo Da Silva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback, happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Windhoek. Looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Thanks and kind regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

First Impressions are very important. Our group of 4 arrived at the hotel around 7pm in the evening, very excited to be spending our first night in Namibia, and also very excited for the beginning of our safari/tour through the country. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted and brought to the front desk for checking in. That is where first impression should have been a good one, however, it was not. The Front Desk agent was a trainee and was working with another woman who appeared to be his manager. We provided him with all four passports and gave the name that room should have been booked under. After a one second glance at the screen the manager looks back at us and says very very rudely, "No. We have no rooms under that name we are all booked.". (not exactly something you want to experience on your first night of a tour. After a brief discussion with her, we had to instruct her to recheck for our names, and try each of the names on the 4 different passports that she already had in her hand. Then she actually refused to instruction and said "no, we do not have any rooms" I then had to show her that it is possible the room may have been booked under one of the other names on the passport and then she says to us "Ok, but I have only two rooms booked for the four of you" We were traveling as two couples on safari, and did not understand how anyone working in hospitality for a company known worldwide could not put two and two together to figure out we only needed 2 rooms. So that was our great first impression. The room itself was new modern clean, and pretty much everything you should expect from a new hilton. After settling in we decided to go have a drink at the roof top bar. Unfortunately this was another place where we received poor service. Finally we figured that we would head downstairs to the Bar/Restaurant that has a great singer on Thursday nights, and it had a nice atmosphere. It took almost twenty minutes for a server to even acknowledge us, even though there may have been about fifteen servers running around and behind the bars and chatting with each other. The service here was extremely poor and I am amazed that there was absolutely no form of management that was leading by example.
Unfortunately we had to return to this hotel for our last night in Namibia until we returned from South Africa. The service was slightly better but still way below par compared to any of the lodges, hotels, and resorts that we stayed at. The airport hotel in Doha, for a good four hours of sleep, had better service than this hilton.

Room Tip: They have an automatic control for the AC in their system so the temperature can really only be put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marketmiami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

We apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is uncharacteristic of our hotel and staff. Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced at check in and the service received in the bars. Your satisfaction is very important to us, we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay and we will most certainly make use of your feedback to ensure that we rectify on these areas to provide you with the best service expected from our Hotel. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers -Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Well located to most businesses in Windhoek. The rooms are spacious however they should offer free wifi to encourage more business people.

The restaurants are ok however there is a limited selection on Sunday evenings so plan to go out rather.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Eberlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the positive feedback, our apologies for not fully meeting your expectations regarding the internet and food options at our restaurant. We will most certainly make use of your feedback for our future reviews.

Trust that we will welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers- Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

It was really nice place to stay. Service was ultimate. Only concern was , cleanliness was not upto Hilton standards. Chefs understood my food concern, they even cooked Indian dishes especially for me. Receptionists were really friendly and helped me to feel comfort during the stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Manjunath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for the great feedback, happy to note that you had a wonderful stay with us. On behalf of the team my sincere apologies for the lack of cleanliness most certainly not a standard of Hilton we will most certainly ensure that we rectify this and deliver the best service expected from us. Looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riebeek Kasteel, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Generally speaking hotel B&B accommodation in Windhoek is expensive and not to an exceptional quality. The Hilton Hotel far-and away breaks with this mold and is an extremely high quality established, comparable to any high class establishment in any major City of the world. Well done and keep up the high standards you have set.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback, great to note that you enjoyed your stay and the services delivered by us. Trust that we will welcome you back for more memorable stays in the near future.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
1.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
3.4 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Windhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Windhoek

Property: Hilton Windhoek
Address: Rev. Michael Scott St, Windhoek, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
#3 Business Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Windhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Windhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Windhoek Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing