We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better options in Windhoek”
Review of Hilton Windhoek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Windhoek
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I've stayed at the Windhoek Hilton twice now. November 2012 & November 2013.

Both times have been pleasant and unproblematic, and you can't beat the location for access on foot to the city centre, the parliament gardens and the Kristuskirche. It also conveniently sits on the main access roads to the big airport and Klein Windhoek in the one direction, and the shortest route to the city bypass/main route connecting North and South. I don't recall being bothered by traffic noise when the windows are closed (air con on).

The rooms are a good size and the beds in the double-doubles are comfy with soft linen. The bathrooms are a bit avante guarde for my personal taste in that they're quite "open plan" with the room and involve panels of frosted glass here and there, which is (a) great for adult shadow puppet shows, (b) mildly interesting if you're sharing the room with a loved one and (c) could make for some rather unique holiday memories if there are four adults sharing.

The Sky Bar views are lovely, particularly at sunset, however it does seem to be quite a popular drinking hole for the local beautiful people and gets phenomenally crowded with non-resident guests. I wasn't brave enough to have a swim amongst all the bar throng, but some people didn't seem to mind.

I was pleased that the Hilton appears to have stopped charging their overnight guests for underground parking in their own building. Although the daily rate in 2012 wasn't extortionate, it did seem an unnecessary annoyance last time.

The wi-fi isn't free. It isn't expensive either, but to Europeans used to it being standard and available all over, again, it does come across as an annoying petty revenue stream. In 2012, our room was just outside the reach of the wi-fi transmitter, so the best reception was sitting on the floor outside the room. In 2013 we were fairly close to the lifts and the reception in the room was fine. When a remote tent camp in Sossusvlei can manage free wi-fi, it does seem reasonable that the Hilton brand could chuck it in free too.

The breakfast buffet isnt bad, but a limited number of staff are trying to do too many tasks, like serve coffee, clear tables, lay tables and replenish the buffet. And none of them very well as a result. It would probably ease some of the stressload if the coffee was self-service from an urn, rather than guests needing to catch the eye of the over-busy lady zealously guarding the flask. The ladies cooking the eggs to order are just fabulous and their omelettes are lovely.

The lifts this visit were a bit confusing at first as nobody had mentioned you needed to touch your key card to the panel to activate the buttons to the room floors. Consequently I had a few extra journeys back and forth from the sky bar to the lobby before the penny dropped. And then the second penny dropped as to why this was possibly the case.

I can't comment on the restaurants in the hotel, or the room service as we were keen to explore and eat out. We didn't have a bottle opener in our room for a cold beer from the mini bar, but I guess we could have rung housekeeping if we didn't already have our own with us.

The lobby staff were attentive and effective.

It's a pleasant enough hotel - certainly one of the better ones in Windhoek. Clearly not in everybody's budget but there are savings to be had with advanced payment. We'll be staying there again next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun E, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Trust that you are well,

Thank you so much for posting your feedback on our tripadvisor page and for sharing your experience with us. Thank you for the positive feedback and for informing us about our shortfalls as well, we truly appreciate our guest feedback as it is very vital for us towards our growth and development. We at the Hilton Windhoek are very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us although we did not meet your expectations on some of the areas as outlined in your feedback. Our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay with us and for not meeting your expectations on our internet and restaurant services. We will most certainly use your feedback to correct on the areas so as to better meet your expectations upon your future visits.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,393)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Windhoek
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

825 - 831 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Super hotel, goee locatie al moet men ervoor zorgen dat de service en diensten ten alle tijde uitmunted is. Staking of niet. Hiltion= premium brand= premium pricing= premium services and accomodation this was not the case and NO alternatives we're offered.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kristof D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your feedback.

We do apologize for any inconvience that the industrial action has caused.

We fully agree with your statement and tried our level best to maintain.

With kind regards

Teun Engbers
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here in business in October 2013. The Hilton brand is always dependable and this one is no exception. It is very centrally located, has wonderful clean rooms and a superb "Sky Bar" on the roof. It is within easy walking distance to many shopping and dining options in downtown Windhoek. It is definitely worth a repeat visit in future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ducimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun E, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for the positive comments, pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and look forward to Welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Directors of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is the second time I post a comment about this hotel.
After a bad experience two year ago I decided to give them a second chance because the room is nice and the swiming pool is great and two year ago this place had just open and that can explain the bad service at that time.
So two year later it is worst than ever!!!
1- less than half of the staff where on duty because of a stryke for more than a week...
2- this is probably the only one five stars hotel in the world where you don't have a botle of water in
your room ( and the minibar)! I had to go at the gas station 500m. away at 10pm to get one!!!
3- 2 of the 3 bars and restaurants where simply close!!!
4- the only one open restaurant was running without a chef ! and on the menu you have the choice
of 5 main courses only!
5- I was expecting a massage at the Spa, It was close!
6- they pretend to be short of staff but for a private fonction at the Skybar they have enough staf
and the next day this bar was close...
Conclusion, regarding the staff problem they should close the hotel at that time or the minimum
they can do is sending a mail before to their clients to give them the choice to cancel their booking!
It look's like the politic of Hilton is to get the money of their customers at any price include the worst service ever... Shame on you Hilton!
P.S. The general manager was simply gone...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chocotof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun E, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for posting your feedback on our tripadvisor page and for sharing your experience with us. Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced due to the industrial action, I have noted your comments however complimentary water in rooms is not a brand standard apologies for the fact that your minibar was not refilled. Due to the industrial action certain outlets had to be closed so as to ensure that we meet our guest expectations as it was business as usual. Our apologies once again and please feel free to contact me directly should you need any assistance in the future. Trust that we will welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Spent 2 days while on business in Namibia. Found the hotel absolutely beautiful and everything was brilliant from check in to stay, however after my stay I got an email from the Manager stating there was damage to the TV. On further investigation, it seems there was physical damage which was not observed at the time of my check-out, but later in the day. It was obvious that the damage was done post my check out however I was horribly harassed and abused by the Director of Operations, TEUN ENGBERS. This went on for weeks and my company had to get involved. Never before has this happened to me!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your feedback of your stay with us.

Thank you for staying with us.

Kind regards

Teun Engbers
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

There's a strike going on, so the sky bar wasn't open which was a real pity. The rooms are nice, tho the bathroom isn't separate from the bedroom. The gym is small but ok. The Divine restaurant menu was so small, boring and over priced. What a waste of time. Breakfast is also boring.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SashSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun E, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for the great comments on our hotel design, sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations regarding the food service as well as some operational departments that were closed due to the industrial action. However we trust that we will welcome you back soon so as to better meet your expectations on the areas that we did not fully meet.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you need any assistance in the future.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is one of better Hilton Hotels and i am a hiltons member so they knew my email address. So you. An imagine my surprise when i got there to find a full strike on by staff!!! The people who were on duty really tried so congratulations to those overworked staff members.
Worst part!! They had locked me out of my room and could not open it for 1 hour, plus they FORGOT TO CLEAN MY ROOM, plus rooftop restaurant was closed and trying to get any service was a real challenge, and a computer system that did not work.
BEST PART. The lovely rooms and amazing staff. Hilton please pay them an extra bonus and credit for putting up with all the angry and frustrated guests with a big smile.

Overall have always had very good experiences which is why this is poor not terrible.

Room Tip: Rooms and pillows are lovely. Rooms far from lift always very nice
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanjiru K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun E, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for the great comments, pleased to note that our team members ensured that we meet our guest expectations although there was an industrial action. On behalf of the team sincere apologies for not fully meeting your expectations during your recent visit. Thank you once again for your feedback and trust that we will welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
2.8 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
236 reviews
3.4 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
368 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Windhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Windhoek

Address: Rev. Michael Scott St, Windhoek, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
#3 Business Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range: $158 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Windhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Windhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Windhoek Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing