We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but pricey for what it is.”
Review of Hilton Windhoek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Windhoek
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The place is good: very clean rooms, great terrace bar and dining area. Modern, friendly staff. Location is a little isolated and far from fun dining areas. It is a good stop to start or end a Namibian trip. But it is difficult to get excited by this place.

The reception area is always busy and you must patiently wait your turn. The immediate surrounding of the hotel are rather drab. \\Bottom line: It is OK, very expensive for what it is. You still feel like you are in a stopover at the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Blirola

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, thank you for the great feedback about our hotel services and design. Our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. Trust that we will welcome you back very soon to our hotel or to any of our sister hotels worldwide.

Regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our party of 19 stayed here at the beginning of our 11 days in Namibia. The rooms are comfortable, the service is good and the breakfast is great. A particular highlight is the roof top bar and pool, especially good at sunset. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HofH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear HofH999

Thank you so much for the great feedback, we are indeed very pleased to note that you had a fantastic stay with us.

Looking forward to Welcome you back very soon to Hilton Windhoek again.

Regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I travel endlessly around the world, it seems, and yet here am I filling in a review of a hotel in distant Namibia.. I was really refreshed by my stay here, the quality of the hotel, and the wonderful efficiency, helpfulness and friendliness of all the staff. The bedroom was excellent with a light airy design. Restaurant had a good selection of food, and I loved the girl coming round at breakfast with special bakery of the day compete with a menu card to take home!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank MyDailyPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the great feedback, we are very pleased to note that you had a fantastic stay with us.

Trust that we will Welcome you back very soon to our hotel or to any of our sister hotels worldwide.

Kind Regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've stayed in many of Windhoek's hotels and this is in my view the best. The architecture is spacious and attractive with a delightful reception hall and coffee bar, very spacious well equipped bedrooms, excellent restaurant and wonderful panoramic rooftop bar with pool. We spent 2 nights 14 days apart and the hotel was full, buzzing with activity. Staff were friendly. The 2nd room we had had some maintenance problems which could have been checked by housekeeping but I suspect were overlooked in a full hotel. Breakfast was as good as anything I've had in Namibia. The hotel loses a * because of the shambles mentioned by others over wifi. Not only is it unreasonably expensive(free at all the other hotels we stayed in Namibia) but mine collapsed after an hour after having to speak to the service provider and asked for 24hrs. I only paid for an hour! This was simply not good enough in a hotel claiming 5* and welcoming guests from all over the world.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Richard and Amy

Trust that all is well with you.

I have recently reviewed your online feedback on our tripadvisor page, thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and for the great comments about our hotel's design and service. We at the Hilton Windhoek are very pleased to note that you had a fantastic stay with us. Our apologies for the inconvenience experienced with our internet services however our charges are as per our Brand Standards, we are currently looking into better options for all our guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback and trust that we will welcome you back very soon to Hilton Windhoek again.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Overall experience and stay was excellent. Would recommend it to anyone visiting Namibia The staff is very help-full and friendly. They strive to make your stay enjoyable. Activities within the hotel are also well planned to meet the needs of any visiting business-person.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ignatius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for the great feedback, pleased to note that you had a great stay with us and that our team made it a memorable stay. Looking forward to Welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was expecting the usual old chain hotel experience and was stunned by the beautiful, modern décor. The roof top bar did not disappoint nor did our accommodations. We did have a problem with the room in that the shower drain must have been clogged because the room quickly flooded. The staff was very friendly and cleaned up the room fairly quickly. We were very tired and decided to eat early. The only venue available to us was the bar. The bar food was not bad but it was not very good either. Perhaps the restaurants are better. I would highly recommend this hotel if you have an early morning flight out. The shuttle was spacious and the driver was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandwaySt_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback, we are indeed very pleased to note that we met your expectations during your recent visit to our hotel. Thank you so much for the great feedback and we are looking forward to Welcome you back very soon to our hotel again.

Kind regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We enjoyed 3 nights in this luxurious hotel. Room was excellent, roomy with comfortable beds, nice towels and good quality toiletries. The shower door and shaving mirror were broken on our arrival but both were quickly repaired, or we were given the option of moving rooms (but were too tired!) Breakfast was a comprehensive buffet, from 0700 hrs weekends and 0630 hrs Mon-Fri- probably should be from 0600 hrs every day for those with early flights/activities to catch . Room service was variable and at times slow. The only draw back was having to pay for internet access, during our 17 days in Namibia this was the only place we were asked to pay to use the internet. We had 1 meal at the restaurant buffet, food was nice but nothing exceptional. Happy hour Mon-Fri in the bar on level 1 was good value, and you must enjoy drinks by the pool in the Skybar at sunset, lovely views over the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our property as your second home during your recent visit to Namibia. Thank you for the great comments about our hotel facilities and service, we are indeed very pleased to note that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our sincere apologies regarding the internet charges however this is as per our Brand Standards.

Pleased to note that you enjoyed our Happy hours and the sunsets from our Sky Bar. Our apologies on the service received from Room Service, will most certainly share feedback with team to ensure that all your expectations are met on your future visits.

Trust that we will Welcome you back very soon to our property.

Kind Regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
3.4 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
2.8 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 17 in Windhoek
381 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
236 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Windhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Windhoek

Address: Rev. Michael Scott St, Windhoek, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
#3 Business Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range: $118 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Windhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Windhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Windhoek Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing