We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
56
42
15
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
42
15
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa treatmentsbooked massagesmorning walkhot water bottlesbird lifeinternational airportfamily roomroom was spacioustwo nightswellnesspoolsgamelodgewhirlpoolbushbreakawaybungalow
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 122 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2016

My husband and I would not recommend this Lodge. Staff and front desk gets 10 out of 10 points. The manager and so called owner 3 our of 10. We staid in 2007 at the Gochoganas Lodge and loved it. Since we did our trip with Chameleon Travel out of Germany this time, they put us in Onjala-they must be associated with it. Game Drive is OK (Gochogans is better) and the Na'ankuse Wildpark is great.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gleiwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminOnjala, Public Relations Manager at Onjala, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that everything was to your liking.
It is our aim that all our guests have a wonderful stay.

Kind regards

Your Onjala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2016

Chose this place because of proximity to Windhoek Airport, it was a good choice. Nice and relaxing on our last night in Namibia. The accommodation we had was in one of the bungalows and the standard was very good. The main swimming pool was a bit of a trek to get to and up numerous stairs, but afforded wonderful views. In fairness there was a smaller one more convenient. Disappointing that the spa treatments were booked out, if that is important you need to book in advance! The dinner was good, as was the breakfast. All the staff we encountered were friendly, welcoming and professional. Felt the charges to experience their observatory a bit steep considering the overall price for staying there.

Room Tip: I would say not ideally suited to physically challenged travellers.
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminOnjala, Guest Relations Manager at Onjala, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2016

Dear Mr Corrib,

We at Onjala would like to thank you for the visit and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully next time you visit us again you will experience the Spa.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Onjala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016

My wife and I live in Namibia, and had been trying to visit Onjala for months because we wanted to take advantage of their telescope and stargazing. Our room -- a villa --- was among the nicest out of the dozens of Namibian lodges we have stayed in (though the lighting in the room, as in and around the rest of the hotel, was terrible), but it was also among the more expensive. The restaurant, then under partial renovation, had surprisingly poor food offered in a limited buffet. Similarly-priced lodges in Namibia uniformly offer waiter-served dinners, usually with a menu of choices. The biggest disappointment was that the guide for the stargazing could not make the lodge's telescope work, so after an hour of standing around inside the cramped telescope dome, we all stumbled back down the hill (that lighting problem again) in the dark.

The clientele of Onjala were divided between German tour groups briefly there for one night en route to their next programmed stop (taking advantage of the proximity of Windhoek's airport), and people who live in Namibia who were interested in the stargazing and Onjala's hiking opportunities, which are admittedly the best we've found in the Windhoek area. The hotel employees and management didn't seem to know which half to cater to, but definitely leaned in favor of the Germans they would never see again.

Room Tip: If you're willing to pay, go for the luxury villas. Low-numbered rooms are too close to the pool.
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Namexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminOnjala, Guest Relations Manager at Onjala, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2016

Dear Guest,

We do thank you for the visit at Onjala. We do apologise for all you have been through visiting our Lodge.
We at Onjala are working very hard toward our customers satisfaction.
We can guarantee the next time you visit our Lodge you will have a pleasant stay with us.

Kind Regards
Onjala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2016

I stayed at this lodge for the game drive with amazing sunset (wine and soft drinks were included) and stargazing. I had a family room that was a spacious, well furnished, but it was not a new one. Bathroom is big, bright, I did not have any problems with hot water. wifi was free of charge, but good connection was only near reception desk. Breakfast and dinner were delicious! The staff was very friendly! After the dinner there was cloudy and i did not have chance to see the stars but staff told me that they checked up the weather and after midnight clouds would be less and I could gazing the stars!

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Natalya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminOnjala, Guest Relations Manager at Onjala, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2016

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your response. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much. We will gladly pass on your message to our wonderful staff.
We hope to welcome you back to Onjala soon.

Kind Regards

Your Onjala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2016

The Lodge has a very nice location and animal farm land around, which we did not expect in that part of Namibia. The main house has a nice atmosphere with a spacious dining room and a bar. The bungalow had a very nice interior design and a really good bathroom (especially the shower).
But then the two most important points. The staff is really friendly and fulfil all your wishes. They have a really good atmosphere there (typical for Namibians I would say).
And point number two is the Spa in this Lodge. It is outstanding. Who spends time in Onjala Lodge without using the Spa is missing out a fantastic opportunity.
All in all the whole package was really good. Absolutely recommendable especially in the beginning or end of your Namibia trip since it is located not far from the Airport.
Go there and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews