We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, great for a first or last night on your trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River Crossing Lodge
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place, great for a first or last night on your trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed here on the first and last nights of our trip. It is very handy from the airport, is only ten mins from a great shopping mall, and is a very pleasant place to stay. The staff were very friendly and attentive, the food was lovely. Nice decking area to sit and watch the sun go down and have a few drinks before dinner. The rooms are nice, individual little bungalows, very private, nice bathrooms and comfy big beds with great views. We would definitely stay again as it's so convenient, service was good and such amazing scenery.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    54
    30
    15
    4
See reviews for
22
54
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel on our last night in Namibia. It is very conveniently located for the airport, but not so much for the city centre. We didn't attempt to, but I don't think you'd be able to walk. Also finding the entrance off the main road can be a bit tricky, so drive slowly as you approach.

The main highlight for me was the absolutely stunning view when you first enter the reception. It's almost like being in Italy and overlooking valleys covered with vineyards. They had a number of people arriving for sunset just to enjoy a drink at the bar, not staying at the hotel. The have a nice pool on the terrace as well with the view.

Rooms were large and comfortable. Unfortunately there was a curious smell in our room from the drainage. But I know our friends in the other room didn't have that same problem and I'm sure it's fixed by now.

I think there are many b&b type places in Windhoek. This is definitely a boutique hotel rather than b&b.

Food was delicious. But similar to most places in Namibia, it was a fixed menu rather than a la carte.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Santa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited this lodge on a business trip for a couple of days, very beautiful setting. Staff need a bit more extra training, made quite a few mistakes with orders for the group. TV's in room only have three channels, one local and one international news channel. Lodge have great potential to be great.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Morne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Windhoek hotels

Worcester
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Convenient to airport and to Windhoek - a good place for your first or last night. A warm welcome, good food, relaxing atmosphere, great views and comfortable, well equipped chalets. Service is friendly, relaxed and efficient - very easy to feel "at home". Happy to make it my "gateway" on future trips. Just a word of advice - easy to miss if you drive too fast! Driving into Windhoek from airport it is on your left, just before the big railway bridge, look for the sign to the winery.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

On a recent trip to Namibia we spent two nights at River Crossing which is just outside of Windhoek center.
Quite a rough road to the hotel which is in a game park so all part of the experience.
Chalet was comfortable and had a modern bathroom which had good quality soaps etc.
Supper that night was excellent and service very friendly.
Next day we had a car service due in Windhoek. I must add that the service from Autohaus VW was outstanding!
On our way back from an extended trip to Caprivi Strip we again stayed at RC and had another happy experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This lodge is situated between the airport and the city centre of windhoek.
Only a few minutes drive to
Maerua mall. ( Checkers,Mr Price,...) Recommended restaurant nearby = Am Weinberg.
The chalets are modern and with all the comfort one needs. Difficult to get hot water out of the shower.Staff friendly but a little chaotic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterenDavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The location between the airport and windhoek makes it ideal for a busy or quick business trip - I have stayed there many times and have not been disappointed. The nights are unbelievably dark and quiet - only the occasional jackal call. The chalets are big with a modern bathroom, and quite warm enough in the chilly winters. The lodge can be a bit difficult to find - not well signposted from the main road. It does seem to lack a bit of soul - not sure why - but otherwise a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The chalets share one geyser per two rooms, so if you are in a room without the nearby geyser, you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.6 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
14.1 mi away
Windhoek Game Camp
Windhoek Game Camp
#6 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
21.3 mi away
Etango Ranch Guest Farm
Etango Ranch Guest Farm
#22 of 76 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Crossing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Crossing Lodge

Property: River Crossing Lodge
Address: P O Box 97448, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Crossing Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your River Crossing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing