We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Cheetah Sanctuary - 30 minutes from Windhoek airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cheetah Sanctuary - 30 minutes from Windhoek airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stopped here on our way back to the airport, hoping to see cheetahs. When we arrived (later than we expected) we realized that we only had about 45 minutes to spend at the sanctuary. Rhona was wonderful enough to ensure that we had an opportunity to see the cheetahs before leaving. Her desire to fulfill our wishes of seeing cheetahs before we left Namibia were fantastic - she contacted a guide and asked him to bring us to the cheetahs on our way out, Once arriving at the cheetahs, we were thrilled to find out that we would have the opportunity to meet and pet all 3. They were beautiful! In addition to the exhilerating experience of spending timewith the cheetahs, we also had an opportunity to take spend a few minutes in the beautifully decorated lodge and see the grounds. This is a definite stop for a few nights on your way in or out of Windhoek. I can't wait to go back and spend a few days enjoying this beautiful sanctuary.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen12653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    41
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
51
98
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I visited Naankuse Lodge in December and my heart still lingers back. It is the most amazing place with the loveliest people and the greatest food. We felt right at home and like royalty all at once. The rooms are amazing, giving you the whole nature experience in a upper class way. The view is picture perfect and heals the soul.

We went on the game drive and made friends with the cheetahs. Their animals are well looked after and is a great pleasure to see the handlers work with them. After the game drive there was a lunch buffet waiting for us. WOW! I haven't eaten food like that in South Africa or any place I've been. So full marks for Rhona and her staff. The place is so pretty decorated with little detail that makes it a whole. Well done Elzaan. Hope I didn't leave anything out.

I can't wait going back to Naankuse. This time I want to stay even longer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicolaHanekom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I went to Naankuse Wildlife Sanctuary to Volunteer for 2 weeks.
I absolutely LOVED IT! But during my stay I wanted to have a nice weekend away, so I booked 2 nights in the Lodge. For a Volunteer it was very cheap for what I recieved.
It was absolute heaven!
Myself and another Volunteer was the only people there,
So we arrived, being offered a drink which we accepted as it was SO HOT!
Then we sat down in the lovely lounge area to relax.
We then later went to our room which was BEATUFIUL! The bath was AMAZING!!
Then we went down for a swim in the pool, it was such a beautiful area to swim, also got to see plenty of Dassies running around, which I definately had wanted to!
We also had a waiter who kept coming to ask us for more drinks, the service was amazing!

That night our food was DELICIOUS!!!! I can not begin to explain how amazingly delicious it was:)
Definately 5 stars for the food!

Since we were also on our own, we had the lovely waitress Marlice, who told us many stories of her adventures in Africa and living there. It was lovely!

The next day eventhough we had been volunteering and seen all the animals, we paid the extra to go on a cheetah walk and animal feed.
We walked Kiki the beautiful cheetah, I would highly recommend the cheetah walk, they take the cheetah to such a beautiful location that no matter what photos you take they look professional!!

We then went on the carnivore feed, which was much better than volunteering as we got to feed Clarence the lion, who JUMPED for his food!! Trully amazing!

I cant recommend this company enough!

5 stars for absolutely EVERYTHING!!

Room Tip: All are amazing, with amazing views, we saw a springbok out our window on the first morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alicia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was by far the best lodge we have stayed during our two week trip in Namibia!
Absolutely amazing!

The warm welcome, the very kind employees, the amazing food and wine, all this made our two day stay at the lodge an unforgettable experience!
You should go for a full carnivore tour in any case. And don´t mess with the lion. My hairs were standing upright, when the male lion roared!

Just have a look at the pictures, they speak for themselves.

The view from our room into the wilderness was really fantastic, and the noises of the animals at night frightened us a bit on the first night. But after the tour, and the explanations of our guide, we sat on the terrace for some time the second night, watched the millions of stars and listened to the wildlife around us.

We have to go there again! Unbelievable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libreville, Gabon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

went to many lodges in namibia during our holiday there, and this was by far the best.
accommodation was very good (although we had inhibitions on the first night using the shower), and being able to wake up in the morning seeing wildlife grazing outside the bedroom window was amazing
food was very good and well presented
Rhona (lodge manageress) was extremely helpful and friendly and went way beyond her duties in helping us out with our entire holiday
my wife will never forget fulfilling her childhood dream of taking a cheetah (Kika) for a walk in her natural habitat
i was so smitten by a caracal (Medusa), i am seriously considering setting up an orphange/sanctuary for them
we are planning to come back to Namibia shortly with our grandchildren; but we will only be visiting Naankuse

Room Tip: only 6 rooms to choose from - just remember to have a torch for nighttime !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Loved Naankuse Wildlife Sanctuary and Lodge and the emphasis must be on sanctuary, for this property is totally NON PROFIT and everything goes towards the sanctuary, the release of animals back into the wild where possible and the maintenance in optimum conditions of those that cannot be released due to injury, previous human intervention etc. The work done is amazing, exemplary and uplifting, to think that Marlice and her team can create such an environment is fabulous and one would never ever begrudge the fees levied for accommodation, food, tours and activities, it all goes straight back into the sanctuary, school and rehab program.
The accommodation was lovely, very comfortable and delightfully eco with some original ideas incorporated and the main lodge was inviting.
The food was most pleasant, beautifully presented, tasty and "moreish" and the staff made a fuss of my husband's birthday breakfast with a little cake and a bottle of very palatable blush sparkling wine. Full marks everyone, it was really appreciated. The bar prices were excellent and the wine selection very good.
We loved the multi- tasking of the staff...how fabulous to see everyone pulling their weight in all facets of this lodge...and the staff were all wonderful.
Of course the entire raison d' etre for this lodge in the first place is the sanctuary. There was so much more than 3700ha of wonderful Namibian land, roaming game and dramatic gorges and scenery. There is the research centre, the Jolie/Pitt foundation school, the volunteers' program and of course the opportunity to get up close and personal to the animals, albeit for a price (donation) and the chance to see firsthand what amazing and significant work Naankuse is doing.
We are delighted we visited and would certainly recommend a visit to Naankuse. Some guests we met spent a glorious 5 days here but for us the 2 nights was perfect. It will warm your heart and nowhere else will you get so close to caracal and cheetah...and it is not often that the money you spend goes straight to the heart of a charitable setup like this...you will quite literally make a difference.....book now!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was the first accomodation of our safari and I must say it started very well. This is one of the place I loved the most during my stay in Namibia: the chalets were gorgeous, the food was excellent and the staff was absolutely friendly and professional. Last but not the least, the activities we chose (Full Carnivore Feeding Tour & Cheetahs up close) were really awesome and interesting. Staying so close to their three cheetahs was one of the most thrilling experience ever. Hope to come back some day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Illy1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
25.3 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
20.7 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.7 mi away
GocheGanas
GocheGanas
#4 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
21.1 mi away
Windhoek Game Camp
Windhoek Game Camp
#8 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
31.3 mi away
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
#22 of 76 in Windhoek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary

Property: N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary
Address: Farm Frauenstein 277, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The N/a’an ku se Lodge & Wildlife Sanctuary is near the Airport and central Windhoek, on a 3.200 hectare big reserve. We offer Carnivore Feeding Tours, Bushman stories and stargazing dinners, Cheetah experiences and a “Behind the Scenes with Marlice” tour. Choose to stay in one of our six individual chalets or one of our eight exclusive holiday homes. We offer a dining area with award-winning cuisine, stunning views, bar and swimming pool. A delightful blend of rich ethnicity and modern luxury. The N/a’an ku se Lodge is the only Charity Lodge in Namibia, all profits from our lodge are returned back to our charitable projects. N/a’an ku se supports the local San community and activities are led by the local San. Volunteers looking to help with conservation can join the Volunteer Program offered on the N/a’an ku se Wildlife Sanctuary. The program offers volunteers the rare and exciting opportunity to work closely with and actively participate in the conservation of African wildlife. Volunteers can stay from 2 weeks to 3 months and will have the unique experience to care for our wildlife including a number of lions, leopards, cheetahs, wild dogs, caracals and baboons and many more, kept at the Sanctuary because they can unfortunately not be released into the wild again. Both experiences will leave you with great memories of Namibia while aiding in our conservation efforts which better the lives of the local San Bushmen and our animals. The N/a’an ku se Lodge & Wildlife Sanctuary is the ideal place to stay at the beginning or the end of your journey through Namibia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Naankuse Lodge And Wildlife Sanctuary Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing