We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with friendly pleople”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Naankuse is a really nice place to end your holiday in Namibia as we did. They let us stay until late in the afternoon, untill we had to leave to the airport. The houses in the lodge are very nice and with amazing views. The food was very good, alldo a little bit too expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HarmenenLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 316 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

I came to Naankuse as à animal lover but without great knowlege of animals And there behavior. And I got to so much things people dream to do , like walking with Leopard, cheeta's And baboons but Also getting the chance of creating your own oppertunity"s by working hard and show your love to the animals. And yess sometimes it is not completly like in THE brochure , sometimes there need to be stuff done before you can do something else. I had to doug à trench to get THE power back because they couldn"t do à operation . The day after I got to help à waterbock darting . It THE most amazing place And im trying to come back as Quick as possible. I would love to stay longer Then the 3 months I staid . And people who say Rudi And Marlice do it for the money are completly insane there love for animals is so big that all the money they make with the lodge And filming And stuff they Will spend on The conservation of wildlife in Namibia.

I hope Many animal lovers And people who want to work for this great plave Will do the volenteering.

Dirk de Kempenaer

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KirkDirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I would like to agree with the previous reviewer. I visited N/a'ankuse in December 2010. There were 12-16 volunteers, a lot of farm work but plenty of wildlife work to ofset this. The usual coordinator was on leave, her replacement was wonderful and we had activities which gave us an idea of the difficulties of wildlife consevation.
I returned in December 2011 for a longer time, what a change! There were 36 volunteers of varying ages but the majority were under 25 and there for a good time and to go home with stories and pictures of leopards, cheetahs and so on. They were sold vast amounts of alcohol and stayed up late into the night partying.
There was often no food left when people came in late from their projects and no where to get any and therefor they went hungry.
The planning was almost none existent and tools the same.
Because there were important visitors at the lodge the volunteers were left to themselves at Christmas with only 2 hours work and then did not see anyone from "mangement' thoughout the holiday. The adults left for the New Year as we felt we could not cope with another 4 days with nothing to do, no chairs to sit on. There were 3 chairs in the smoking area but these were always in use.
Two families with adult children left early because of the situation.
We did bring these concerns to the volunteer coordinator and Marlice but it seemed that nothing was taken on board. The project has certainly lost any vision it may have had when it started.
I have been on many other projects and not been treated as we were.
If you are young, into partying go. If you are more mature, are really interested conservation, there are many more ethical volunteering projects to consider.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
26  Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Wow- what an amazing place. Ignore the bad reviews, they are just from volunteers who couldn't appreciate what was in front of them!! Seriously had the time of my life, yes you do have farm animals to look after but it does state that in the itenary and it's not like it's everyday. The coordinators are brilliant and do know a lot about all the animals and their backgrounds. We had numerous presentations on the animals which was extremely interesting. We also had the pleasure of spending time with both marlice and rudy (the owners). Yes it can be hard work but the amazing animal time you get makes it all worth it. The baboons are ace, the cheetahs just adorable, caracals amazing... List could go on. Well worth the money, recommend you go for at least 3 weeks and ask to stay in a tent as the tents are lovely. Thanks n/ a an kuse for the time of my life

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kelstaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We were treated like royalty!
Best food, service and treatment we've ever come across in Namibia.
Thanks Rhoona for service excellence!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Namboertjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We went to Naankuse to have breakfast. After breakfast my children went for a dive in the pool. We booked a weekend away (me and hubby). The day was awsome. Really peaceful and such a lovely place. Can't wait for the weekend we bookend.

Room Tip: Will let you know since we only had breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Zurita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

My husband and I started and ended our fabulous trip to Namibia by staying in one of Na'ankuse's well-appointed cottages. We loved it. The lodge's stylish interior design seems to come together in such a way as to make you feel like the property is all yours - as if the restaurant was somehow your own large dining room. The views are extraordinary. Though our bed was ridiculously comfy, one day we woke up early enough to see the vivid colours of the sunrise with the house cat Fudgie sitting on our laps.

The service of the staff and management we came across was extremely professional, of a standard you would expect from a five-star establishment. Beyond that, they were genuinely lovely people who were seemingly proud of their vocations.

Seeing the Sanctuary animals only added to an already perfect stay. We were lucky enough to stay at some of Namibia's best addresses throughout our trip, and this was our favourite.

You will need a solid vehicle to get here, as the roads are rough (and almost impassible in rainy season, when only a 4by4 would be able to plow through the deep pools of water). Speaking of pools, there is a stunning-looking one here, though we didn't take the time to try it out. I hope we'll have the chance again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itinerantHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
23.6 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,429 reviews
25.3 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
249 reviews
23.6 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 88 in Windhoek
428 reviews
29.6 mi away
Auas Safari Lodge
Auas Safari Lodge
#7 of 88 in Windhoek
103 reviews
28.4 mi away
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen
#10 of 88 in Windhoek
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary

Address: Farm Frauenstein 277, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Windhoek
Price Range: $272 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The N/a’an ku se Lodge & Wildlife Sanctuary is near the Airport and central Windhoek, on a 3.200 hectare big reserve. We offer Carnivore Feeding Tours, Bushman stories and stargazing dinners, Cheetah experiences and a “Behind the Scenes with Marlice” tour. Choose to stay in one of our six individual chalets or one of our eight exclusive holiday homes. We offer a dining area with award-winning cuisine, stunning views, bar and swimming pool. A delightful blend of rich ethnicity and modern luxury. The N/a’an ku se Lodge is the only Charity Lodge in Namibia, all profits from our lodge are returned back to our charitable projects. N/a’an ku se supports the local San community and activities are led by the local San. Volunteers looking to help with conservation can join the Volunteer Program offered on the N/a’an ku se Wildlife Sanctuary. The program offers volunteers the rare and exciting opportunity to work closely with and actively participate in the conservation of African wildlife. Volunteers can stay from 2 weeks to 3 months and will have the unique experience to care for our wildlife including a number of lions, leopards, cheetahs, wild dogs, caracals and baboons and many more, kept at the Sanctuary because they can unfortunately not be released into the wild again. Both experiences will leave you with great memories of Namibia while aiding in our conservation efforts which better the lives of the local San Bushmen and our animals. The N/a’an ku se Lodge & Wildlife Sanctuary is the ideal place to stay at the beginning or the end of your journey through Namibia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naankuse Lodge And Wildlife Sanctuary Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing