We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central luxury”

Kalahari Sands Casino
Ranked #17 of 33 things to do in Windhoek
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Windhoek, Namibia’s capital city, is described as a city with a ‘continental’ atmosphere and this can be ascribed to its architecture – historical buildings dating back to German colonial rule. Windhoek was initially known as Ai-gams a Nama word meaning ‘firewater’, ‘steam’ or ‘smoke’ because of the area’s plentiful hot springs.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a contrast to come back to a major modern hotel after three weeks in game lodges! Superb room, friendly service and right in the centre of the city. Only slight negative is the signing - you may need to do a couple of circuits of the block to find the way in but in Windhoek traffic that is not too hard!

Thank arkivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia P, Manager at Kalahari Sands Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Arkivist,

Thank you for your positive review. We continusouly strive to ensure that our guests experience is memorable and our offer a excellent quality product. We look foward to hosting you again in our hotel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

26 - 30 of 56 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lots of excitement , full of people , very lively Good snacks to accompany drinks .
Rather crowded , full of hostesses .

Thank DOSIMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia P, Manager at Kalahari Sands Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Dosiman,

We value the feedback from each of our guests. We always want to ensure that our guests stay with us is memorable, and that we become their hotel of preference when they are in Windhoek.

We look foward to hosting you once again

Kind Regards

Patricia Pickering

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Not a great experience - there's no control over smoking over the tables which makes for a very unpleasant experience

Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia P, Manager at Kalahari Sands Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Steve H,

Thank you for your comments.

We have banned smoking in most parts of the hotel. The only areas where you are now allowed to smoke are The Oasis Bar, and a section in our Casino. The rest of the Casino is a non-smoking area. You are more than welcome to request the management to open those tables for you.

We hope that your next visit will be more memorable

Kind regards

Patricia Pickering

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ideal hotel to start your walk-about in Windhoek. Food good and nice staff.. Excellent value for Namibian accommodation especially as it seems to now be very expensive to visit that vast beautiful country.

Thank Leigh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia P, Manager at Kalahari Sands Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Leigh T,

Thank you for your review.

We continusouly strive to give our guests a wonderful experience with us.

we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look foward to staying with us again soon

King regards

Patricia Pickering

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This place is average, it is what you would expect at a hotel in an African country. I would suggest you rather stay at the Hilton or the roof of Africa hotel. This place is quite tacky.

It needs a huge PR and renovation campaign.

Thank Grennie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia P, Manager at Kalahari Sands Casino, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Grennie47,

Thank you for your review.

The Management and Staff of Kalahari Sands Hotel & Casino continuously strive to exceed the expectations of our guests in every service we offer. Our hotel was fully renovated almost 3 years ago to the tune of over N$100 million. In line with this we also had extensive PR & marketing drives, including the attendance of His Excellency the President of Namibia to the re-launch of our Dunes Restaurant.
I am sorry that you found your experience with our product to be average, as we pride ourselves on giving our clients an above average product. We hope in the future you come back to stay with us.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalahari Sands Casino also viewed

 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to Kalahari Sands Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing