We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stopover...a little noisy...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice stopover...a little noisy...”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We camped at Arebusch for 2 nights during our Namibia tour. We camped at their Luxury Campsites which has a private bathroom, storage rooms and kitchen area. Even the area for the tent has a roof and 'grass'.
The lodge is however situated right next to the main road into Windhoek, and next to the Airport...which is great for location...but not for noise. Expect jet engines at any time night or day and a constant sound of traffic.

We had the buffet breakfast which was really good. Arebbusch is a great place, neat and pretty but not ideally suited for camping if you want peace and quite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBritsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    104
    48
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
67
12
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at this Lodge for 3 nights in total during the 2nd week of April, and at two separate times.

Two things that all prospective travelers should know:

(1) This Lodge is located right next to the major highway that connects Windhoek with points south and South Africa (see map). So unless you keep the windows closed at night, be prepared to hear the noise of cars, tractor-trailers etc rolling down the highway all all times of the night. This is most prevalent for the newer rooms which for some curious reason were built right next to the highway rather than on another part of the property. Also, the municipal airport borders the other side of the property.

(2) Despite the Lodge's assertion that internet is available in "public places", it was not working in the restaurant area for the whole week when I stayed there. So guests were forced to sit at dimly-lit and small tables around the pool area to use the internet rather than in the comfort of their own room or while having a refreshment or meal in the restaurant. It is hard to understand why a Lodge of this size cannot provide better internet access than this.

Overall, I found that the Arebbusch Lodge didn't live up to expectations and checked out early.

Room Tip: Something situated far away from the highway.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Lasair_te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
138 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Clean Bungalows, professional check-in. Internet perfect, Laundy b. All in all a no-frill lodge, ideal for a stop-over when travelling through Namibia.. We recommend dinner in Joe's bar in Windhoek center.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NikiAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel offered everything one could want from decent low cost camping to high end luxury rooms. The staff gave us a free upgrade to celebrate our anniversary. The pool was very refreshing, the food was delicious, and service was outstanding and the price was right.

The hotel has strict rules about noise, making it very easy to get a good night sleep too.

The staff provided good referrals for tourist and went the extra mile to make sure we could get where we needed to go - which was important since it is on the outskirts of town.

I would highly recommend this place and would gladly stay again.

Room Tip: Everything is available - just be specific and ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolreckamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Kind of an interesting place for an overland truck tour to stop....seems like more of a business hotel. But no complaints with the comfy bed, great shower, strong AC, beautiful pool and excellent breakfast. Internet was on the expensive side and location is isolated, but overall a welcome respite from the desert!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Whether you are in a dorm or a private room, their beds are to die for - especially after camping and sleeping on mats! The pillows are big and fluffy - I slept like a dog for 2 days! The bathrooms have huge showers and lots of hot water. Great place to get your laundry done - $70 (Zam $$) for all you can cram into a bag - we got almost everything done!
Great bar and lounge area with TV, restaurant for breakfast was really good but we went out for lunch & dinner in Windhoek.
You can walk into town or the boardwalk - close to everything

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsumeb, Namibia
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very professional services rendered at all times from time of booking untill time of departure. The
accomodation is of a high quality and the food is served in style. Friendly and helpfull staff attend to requests at all times. They let you feel comfortable. The prizes are affordable and the luxury rooms are well equipt

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 700Andre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
2.8 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.9 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#11 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#15 of 16 in Windhoek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arebbusch Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arebbusch Travel Lodge

Property: Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Address: 1 Golf Street | Olympia, Windhoek, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arebbusch Travel Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the dry Arebbusch River, Arebbusch Travel Lodge is nestled in the natural surroundings of the "veld." Far from the hustle and bustle of city life, yet minutes away from the capital’s shopping centres and attractions. The lodge offers high quality, affordable accommodation in luxury 2-6 bed self-catering units, standard rooms and budget rooms. Caravan and camping sites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HRS, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Arebbusch Travel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing