We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Clean and Zen-like Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elegant Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 102 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed one night after a very long trip from Los Angeles. Met my needs for a good nights sleep to start a 5-week trip in the souterhn part of Africa. Staff very friendly. Hotel listing references a shuttle, but no one metioned it, so not sure it was available. Would rather be closer to the central part of town if I would have been there more than one night. If a shuttle is available for transport to down town or a short town tour, a plus.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dionges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 173 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Lovely guesthouse with six rooms not far from the centre of Windhoek, with secure off road parking. We stayed there at the start and end of our 3 week trip around Namibia and were made to feel very welcome each time. The rooms are clean and airy with air con. Breakfast is provided (and a great selection of food) and they even got in some gluten free bread for me - much appreciated. There is no dinner provided. There is an honesty bar with a selection of beer, cider and wine and the lounge area and patio are lovely to sit and relax in. There is a also a small swimming pool. The only down side is when we checked in we were warned, and asked to sign a disclaimer stating that we had been warned, not to walk around in the area as it wasn't safe, which was a shame given how close it was to town. As others have said, it's great for a stop over at the start or end of your trip, but probably no longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 and room 3, the latter had a door out to the swimming pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LN001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

When you get into Namibia and can't be bothered to drive for many hours and need a place to stay in Windhoek, this is the place to go. Everything is clean, well taken care of, and the rooms are equipped with AC, a safe, clean bathroom etc. There is a help-yourself bar but no restaurant.
We were told not to wander around the neighborhood but that's not advisable for tourists at night anywhere in Windhoek.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Like most people we stayed here for our first and last night in Namibia. Matilda was very welcoming on our arrival and our room was clean and comfortable. There is a small pool which we used on the first day to cool down. The Elegant is not very central and we were unable to go out and see the city centre as we did not have a car to start our trip. We did get a taxi to go to Joe's Beerhouse for a meal and the taxi fare was very reasonable and from a company known by Matilda. The wifi service in the lounge area was very good. The Guesthouse operates an honesty bar which could have been better stocked but adequate for a nightcap. The Guesthouse does have a secure carpark too.
It is an ideal place to stay for 1 night but think I would have rather been more central had I been staying longer. Many thanks to Matilda and staff.

Room Tip: We had Room 4 on both occasions and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorn D, Owner at The Elegant Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear GillyT

Thank you for the nice review you wrote on The Elegant Guesthouse.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Elegant Guesthouse.
We hope to see you soon!!

Kind Regards
The Elegant Guesthouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was our overnight stop on arrival in Namibia. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and all situated off the courtyard garden. Tea and coffee are available all day in the dining room and there is a small honesty bar. Breakfast was a good selection from the buffet together with various egg options if required. We were only sorry we had such a short stay as we had to be off the next morning on our travels. Also situated close to the famous Joe's Beerhouse where we went for dinner.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Susiej25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorn D, Owner at The Elegant Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Susiej25

Thank you for the nice review you wrote on The Elegant Guesthouse.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Elegant Guesthouse.
We hope to see you soon!!

Kind Regards
The Elegant Guesthouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Small guesthouse with personal friendly service. The rooms at the back do not have good wifi access and all the rooms can do with bigger desks for the business traveller. Very central and close to lots of restaurants. Ask for an omelet for breakfast - they are excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paarlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorn D, Owner at The Elegant Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Paarlite

Thank you for the review you wrote on The Elegant Guesthouse.

It was a pleasure having you as a Guest, and we are glad you enjoyed the Omelet.

Kind Regards
The Elegant Guesthouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was our second stay here after a gap of three years. It is an ideal place to begin or end your tour of this stunning country. Very easy to find in Klein Windhoek, one of best areas of this very small capital city. Most guests stay only one night but this time we stayed for two as we wanted to do a tour of the city (not really much to see in all honesty - the highlight was a visit to the township of Katatura and it's market with a guide). Rooms are clean and comfortable, staff are efficient and friendly. Breakfast is adequate. Secure parking. Only a couple of minutes drive to the famous Joe's Beerhouse restaurant. Free wi-fi in the public area. This guesthouse has a lot going for it and is recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms back onto a not-very-busy road, if that might bother you ask for one that doesn't. Ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorn D, Manager at The Elegant Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear TonyNorwich

It is rewarding to see that you have returned to our little Guesthouse.
Even more rewarding to read that you have once again enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. It is much appreciated!

We hope to see you back soon in our beautiful Namibia.

Warm regards
The Elegant Guesthouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,462 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 17 in Windhoek
386 reviews
159 mi away
The Elegant Desert Lodge
The Elegant Desert Lodge
#18 of 91 in Windhoek
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 102 in Windhoek
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
#3 of 102 in Windhoek
587 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Olive Exclusive
The Olive Exclusive
#7 of 102 in Windhoek
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elegant Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elegant Guesthouse

Address: nr 56 Corner of von Eckenbrecher and Ziegler Street | PO Box 22810, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range: $138 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elegant Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet street at the heart of one of the city's sleepiest neighborhoods, The Elegant Collection have a fashioned guesthouse which places its architectural and decorative accent on elegance and comfort of the most contemporary kind.The Elegant Guesthouse has a light, breezy and welcoming feel thanks to the open plan design and extensive windows: the single-storied architecture reflects the city's colonial (and recent) past. Clipped green lawns, sparkling pool, impeccably manicured guest rooms and cheerfully attentive staff help ensure that from the moment you arrive you feel a delicious sense of Dulce Domum - even though the wild beauty of the African veld is just miles from your door.The 6 garden and courtyard facing bedrooms are light, functional and imbued with contemporary, angular good looks. They have great mattresses of the firm-yet-pliant variety and these are matched by top-of-the-range bed linen.Expect a full quotient of gadgetry: TV (discreetly tucked away in a cabinet in most rooms), WiFi internet connection, telephone, hairdryer, safe and a hot and cold air-conditioning unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Elegant Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing