We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elegant Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 95 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a fantastic place. Small (about 6 rooms) and elegant and with the friendliest service I can remember. Immediately on arrival, one is made to feel so welcome, it is a real pleasure. I arrived after 5 days in the desert with my bags covered in dirt and dust. They took them from me and returned them a little later completely cleaned. The room was lovely and breakfast beautifully presented. I would not hesitate to stay here again - in fact I wished I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorn D, Owner at The Elegant Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear philipn

Thank you for the awesome review. I have no words to write, but to thank you.
It was a pleasure having you at The Elegant Guesthouse.

We hope to see you back soon in our beautiful Namibia.

Warm regards
The Elegant Guesthouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    80
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
103
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed one night at the beginning of my holiday and one night at the end. It was nice to be welcomed back by the staff on my last night there. This is a small, clean, comfortable and friendly guesthouse in Klein Windhoek. The beds were comfortable, the breakfasts absolutely excellent. Unfortunately for me, both times, I was suffering a bit from 'holiday tummy', but being somewhere so comfortable and relaxed meant I was able to have a good rest and get over it quickly. I would recommend the elegant Guesthouse to anyone!

Room Tip: Both rooms I stayed in were on the same side of the courtyard and were quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeniorWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorn D, Owner at The Elegant Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear SeniorWitch

Wow, what a review on The Elegant Guesthouse.
For us as a team it is so nice to read a review like the one you have wrote.
It is really much appreciated, and we hope your holiday tummy has returned normal again.
Thank you for your visit, and we hope to see you back at The Elegant Guesthouse in the near future.

All the best to you.

Kind Regards
The Elegant Guesthouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was our first port of call in Namibia. Thankfully it was easy to find in the dark after the drive from the airport. The staff were great. The room was clean and comfortably. Free wifi was really useful and a great breakfast was provided before we set of to explore this great country.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djhunter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorn D, Owner at The Elegant Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear djhunter77

I am happy that you found us in the Dark, and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you back in our beautiful country soon.
All the best to you.

Kind Regards
The Elegant Guesthouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My travelling companion and I stayed 2 nights at this lovely guesthouse - one night at the beginning and one night again at the end of a 13 day safari around Namibia. It was very safe, clean and comfortable and the staff were most helpful in organizing taxis, booking restaurants etc. on our behalf. I can highly recommend a stay at this welcoming guesthouse. There is also a lovely garden area which is very refreshing after all the desert landscapes!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianabehindthelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorn D, Owner at The Elegant Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Dianabehindthelens

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Elegant Guesthouse.

It is so great to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you back at The Elegant Guesthouse in the near future.

Kind Regards
The Elegant Guesthouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Matilda welcomed us warmly and gave us a good run down on the guesthouse, which is situated in a pleasant residential area. Our room (6) was a little small for all our luggage but on a corner with windows on three sides, making it very light, had a/c, safe, comfy bed, mosquito net (though no sign of these or any other bugs), free wifi, secure parking for a few cars.... The breakfast room has coffee and tea at all times and other drinks on an honesty system. The guesthouse was very clean and had a very calm atmosphere, which maybe belies Windhoek itself. We took a taxi to and from Joe's restaurant (50N$ each way), the return being prebooked subject to the restaurant making a call. This need to take a taxi for safety reasons was a disappointment as the restaurant was only a short walk away. On the following day (a quiet Sunday morning) we planned to walk to the local supermarket but Matilda advised strongly against this in view of a guest mugging incident a few weeks before. We met fellow travellers later on our trip who'd basically lost a day of their holiday sorting things out after their cabin bags were stolen from their parked car in Windhoek. These are possibly rare incidents but not a great advert for the city

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank helenc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorn D, Owner at The Elegant Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Helenc1

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Elegant Guesthouse.
It was a pleasure reading your review on our little Guesthouse.

Kind Regards
The Elegant Guesthouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here at the first and last night of our Namibia trip and loved it. The staff is not only very nice and welcoming but also helpful if you have a problem. We had an issue with our car on the first day. The lovely lady at reception made sure we were helped by the car rental company and we were invited to stay as long as it was needed to get the exchange car, sit in the garden and help ourselves with tea and biscuits as much as we liked. The location of the guest house is really good: close to the center by car but a little quieter than further in the city center. We went to Joes Beerhouse nearby and the lady at the reception took care of the reservation. Should we come back to Namibia, we would again stay at The Elegant Guesthouse. Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay_Z_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeefWindhoek, Owner at The Elegant Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Kay_Z_DE

Wow, when we read your review on our little Guesthouse we where flattered.
Thank you for the amazing review, and we hope to see you back at The Elegant Guesthouse soon.

Warm Regards from sunny Windhoek
Jorn Dedig and The Elegant Guesthouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
173 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

A lovely warm welcome to a modern well equipped and spotless Guest House following 27 hours of travel. The owner/ Manager booked us into the local Portuguese Restaurant close by and after an excellent meal there followed by a comfortable night and a fresh breakfast we were ready to hit the road to Sossusviei. Definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscar0734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeefWindhoek, Owner at The Elegant Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Oscar0734

It is so nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for the offer to recommend the Guesthouse to all your friends.

You are always most welcome to return to Namibia and we hope you do, and for that to The Elegant Guesthouse.

Kind Regards
Jorn Dedig and The Elegant Guesthouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
3.9 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
#2 of 95 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 95 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elegant Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elegant Guesthouse

Property: The Elegant Guesthouse
Address: nr 56 Corner of von Eckenbrecher and Ziegler Street | PO Box 22810, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elegant Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet street at the heart of one of the city's sleepiest neighborhoods, The Elegant Collection have a fashioned guesthouse which places its architectural and decorative accent on elegance and comfort of the most contemporary kind.The Elegant Guesthouse has a light, breezy and welcoming feel thanks to the open plan design and extensive windows: the single-storied architecture reflects the city's colonial (and recent) past. Clipped green lawns, sparkling pool, impeccably manicured guest rooms and cheerfully attentive staff help ensure that from the moment you arrive you feel a delicious sense of Dulce Domum - even though the wild beauty of the African veld is just miles from your door.The 6 garden and courtyard facing bedrooms are light, functional and imbued with contemporary, angular good looks. They have great mattresses of the firm-yet-pliant variety and these are matched by top-of-the-range bed linen.Expect a full quotient of gadgetry: TV (discreetly tucked away in a cabinet in most rooms), WiFi internet connection, telephone, hairdryer, safe and a hot and cold air-conditioning unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Elegant Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing