We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-Managed and Beautifully Designed”

Fig Tree Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fig Tree Guesthouse
Ranked #78 of 101 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Our only complaint about the Fig Tree is a complaint we had throughout Namibia; the beds are hard by American standards. Having said that, this is a great place to stay in Windhoek. Our room was spacious and dominated by a jacuzzi tub and a king-size bed. There were double sinks and a large mirror, a great feature of the room, as well as a large step-in shower. Lots of hot water and good towels. Table and chairs in the room allowed us to get take-out at the nearby mall for dinner (great for business travelers and exhausted vacationers). The heater, which we needed, worked well. Breakfast here is good and made-to-order if you wish. Geared for the business traveler, it is nonetheless very comfortable for independent travelers as the manager, Eric, knows the capital and Namibia very well. Laundry service is excellent. Small pool (unheated and cold in May) and pool area, and breakfast area are beautifully maintained, and the place is immaculate. It's also quiet, despite its location on a major street; locked gate provides security for your car or camper. This is a B&B, although the rooms are private; one calls Eric by ringing a bell in the kitchen area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkCityStickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 19 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2011

I was very pleasantly surprised by Fig Tree, which turned out to be a fantastic choice. The common areas and rooms are all stylish, modern, comfortable and peaceful. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The small guesthouse is relatively close to town and a good value. I'd definitely stay here again on my next visit to Windhoek!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferejinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We spent only 1 night in Fig Tree Guesthouse and had a wonderful stay. It was a perfect choice after few days of travelling through Namib Dessert and Skelleton Coast. The hotel design has a calming modern ambiance. It's petite, cozy and crisp with a nice pool, small gym and cool deck for lazying around.

On our arrival we were welcomed by the manager with an unexpected gift - an up-grade from standard to VIP room! So we had a direct access to the sun deck and pool, and a fabulous bathtub in our bedroom. Air-con, free WiFi and small kitchenette are standard in all rooms. There is also laundry service available. Prices are very reasonable.

And staff , they are all incredible - invisible at most time tough at your service 24 hours a day. Breakfast was very good with a variety of choices, and was served a little bit earlier so we could still enjoy it before rushing off to the airport.

Great choice - we totally love and recommend this place!

J&R

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

The Fig Tree Guesthouse in Windhoek is a quiet, serene and cozy option for those traveling through town. There is a mall just a five minute walk from the guesthouse with many options for picking those things up you forgot to pack. The downtown area is about a 25 minute walk away and provides an afternoon's entertainment but not a whole lot more.

Overall our experience at Fig Tree was excellent, the staff was eager and friendly and quick to help our arranging a taxi, giving directions or assisting with other items. We were in room 5, one of the smaller rooms which in our opinion was slightly over priced at about 200 USD (1 USD = 7.2 ZAR). The common areas are where Fig Tree really shines though with a fire on the porch in the evening, a small pool for a dip during the heat of the day and plenty of adirondack chairs for a leisurely lounge or a few hours of reading.

Overall, highly recommended if you are in Windhoek.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxana_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Sabveii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pauwlonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: In diesem Haus gibt es kein "richtiges Zimmer".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 4125M4125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,429 reviews
2.2 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
249 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
1.5 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#15 of 17 in Windhoek
258 reviews
1.8 mi away
UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fig Tree Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fig Tree Guesthouse

Address: 11 Robert Mugabe Ave, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range: $80 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fig Tree Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Windhoek CBD, Fig Tree Guesthouse operating in Bed & Breakfast Style, offers boutique accommodation to business executives and elegant tourists. This timelessly stylish guesthouse offers you comfortable accommodation in a relaxed atmosphere, with that extra personal touch. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing