We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SORRY WE ARE CLOSED” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Balalaika

Cafe Balalaika
Ranked #70 of 126 Restaurants in Windhoek
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“SORRY WE ARE CLOSED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Very sad to see this place closed. I have enjoyed it many times for a coffe, a snack or a light dinner with friends. I hope to sit here again soon...

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Captain_Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    9
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great spot, lovely sushi and the vibe is cosmopolitan, lively and fresh. Service is also very good. Outstanding place to chill on a Sunday, view over the park and relaxing with a drink!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deone n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

....but average food. This is a nice spot to have a drink and watch life go by in the park but the pasta frutti di mare was a bit of a disappointment and the caesar's salad was drowning under the dressing. Prices were ok but they need to step it up to match the location.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Damarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice Terrace and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We only had an ice cream and a drink in this place but the menu is attractive with a large selection of dishes.
The atmosphere is nice, there is a large nice terrace under a big tree, next to the Zoo Park.
Efficient service

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nicolas414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I must say this was a surprise to me. Fantastic food, but the sushi is outstanding. To my knowledge, there isn't any better. Service however is sometimes questionable. They need to learn their product better and speak clearer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vlooi_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Balalaika also viewed

Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to Cafe Balalaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing