We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Older Place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unique Older Place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

One day was probably enough time spent here, but they do offer several activities that could maybe take a couple days to complete if you did them all. Pool was too cold to swim in but that is no fault of the owner's because of the weather this time of year. Nice meal in the dinning room of the old house in the vening with nice conversations with guest from all over the world. Walking trail could be improved only with the addition of more directional signs, otherwise nice options for hiking here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Kory,
Thank you for taking the time to review this "older" place. Actually your comment is very positive except the word "older". Seeing the original farm was build 1908 some things are older you are correct but often "older" has also its charm and atmosphere like the conversation at dinner. People in all walks of life meet here and exchange information we think this is more a family atmosphere and you hear so many new things and all from travellers.
We will improve the directional signs. Thank you very good and constructive hint, we do not want you to get lost here!!
By the way we are also member of the Windhoek Greenbelt and one of next projects is to develop more walking or hiking trails in this beautiful area also for several days with basic overnight facilities.
One more thank you for your time, it helps us to improve.
kind regards
Johann Vaatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    38
    26
    8
    9
See reviews for
28
46
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Did Scotmac stay in same place? Chalet had windows and was not dark.Lovely bed, towels and lav/shower. Normal "metal gate" before main door in case hot and wanted to sleep with door open so animals couldn't get in overnight. Baboons are fact of Africa - they fed early pm around dam and went until same time next day. Any drive is "dreary" if not see all things there, if look. and normal dirt road. Welcoming staff who were lovely to me as were all people I met in Nambia - guess attitude to people you meet might have something to do with grim people and unwelcoming and that comment is very offensive to the warm, welcoming people in that country you meet everywhere. Had a wonderful time. Guess what Scotmac? Over 2 nights saw over 12 species going to drink, had good sleep and good chats with staff. Nice as getaway with all needs sorted unless so "picky" should stay at home!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcktan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Jcktan,
Thank you for taking your time to comment on Dusternbrook Hippo Chalet. I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you saw so many different species of game at the Chalet, that is quite amazing. It seems for game viewing the Hippo Chalet is a good place to stay although it is very basic. I agree if you go to Africa and be "picky" at the same time that is not a good combination. Thank you also for the positiv remarks about the friendliness of our staff. Everybody, and not only staff or employees, have its good and bad days but in general I think my staff is very friendly.
One more time thank you very much for the time and your comment.
kind regards
Johann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

duesternbrook has a nice description pn its website, therefore we planned to stay there for some few nights instead of going back to windhoek. the facility looks very old and run-down. specially in the dry-season you would have a aircondition in your room, for this price not expected too much. dinner is served once, if somebody at this time feels not hungry, tough. the quality is not always still the same - it depends on who is cooking. the activities offered improve the quality.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Manual B,
Thank you taking time to review Duesternbrook. Sorry to hear that you feel we are overpriced, although in Februar we have low season prices and the exchange rate is very much to your advantage. It seems to me also that you misunderstood the concept of a guestfarm. A guestfarm is NOT a lodge NOR a country hotel and for sure we do not serve a la carte at any time. We are also not a B&B this is a game farm and the income generated from overnight clients is not only used to cover costs around food and accommodation. It is used to cover all the costs of the 30 000 acre farm, roads, water pumps, fences, repair of cars, maintenance etc how else or from other income should that be covered???? There is no other income! But you get 30 000 acre of pristine practically noise free environment. On top of it we participate in the Namibia eco award to do everything ( from energy consumption to waste water treatment) here more environmentally friendly. They punish you for using noisy airconditioners!! We have gained 4 flowers which is nearly the highest ranking. To look after the environment properly does not safe money it costs money. To dump (cheap) waste or to have it recycled that's the question?? You are a senior reviewer but it will appear to me that your back ground knowledge about a Namibian guest farm and its cost structure is not up to standard. Any quality linked directly to persons is always different and this applies also to my cooks but the difference is not soooo big. Thank you for the hint I will see how we can improve. kr Johann Vaatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Düsternbrook is an amazing place with very kind staff, I was here threetimes and I will be coming back everytime if I will be in Namibia. Clean campsite with shadow is close to nice river, where you can find wildbeests or wathhogs. You can find here a swiming pool, hotel and restaurant. They are organising a trips for cheetah or leopard. That is awesome!

Room Tip: The African room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Martin,
Thank very much that you took the time to write this review. I am happy that you have been here 3 times and will come back again. Thank for telling the world that our campsites are clean and that there is also shadow. That is proof to me that you like and that you enjoy the place. That people should enjoy the farm its wildlife and atmosphere that is our business and aim of all our trouble we put into this place. To run a farm is not a job it is a philosophy as you have to look after the environment, the animals, the employees and obviously also the clients from all over the world with different back ground and culture.
I would enjoy to see you here again if your travels go again to Namibia.
kind regards
Johann Vaatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
398 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night and it really was poor in many ways.A dreary drive in on not great gravel roads,three small river crossings (in the dry season).The house itself , to me,. looks like the one in Psycho but then I never found the German architecture attractive in Namibia.We had booked the Hippo Chalet and after an unsmiling welcome from the young girl on reception (standard in Namibia - never seen so many grim faced folk) , we headed down the really awful , eroded gravel road to the chalet.Well, it was a black box...no windows...big metal security door..black as sin inside....looking out over a depressing pan of water in an enclosed area.Baboons everywhere at the other end of the water (hate them).Horrible little place.It was very cheap and I really don't mind basic,if the location is good, but this felt like the pits.
So...we asked for a room instead...the place was deserted so were shown round each of them...all like something out the 1960s,really depressing stuff ,clean enough though - and what a price.About 100 euros we paid eventually..could have paid more for a 'room with a view' but the view wasn't worth it from what I saw.The farm isn't in a particularly nice area...yes,there are views of hills in the mid-distance and the river below and it's better from the main lodge balcony, but the whole place feels enclosed somehow..claustrophobic after the vast desert of the Namib Naukluft.Settled for one of the 'cheaper' rooms with a little sitting out area,not an attractive vista but ok.The main lodge and pool/bar looked ok (being re-built) so lots of staff were walking about but ,despite smiling and being friendly we didn't get one nod or smile or sign of welcome...all very grim.
Breakfast was good ,plenty food - sitting round a big table on the balcony of the main building (best bit of the place),friendly enough host who chatted away and he seems to be doing some very supportive work with the local staff who live on site...providing babysitting /nursery facilities etc.But you'd never think it when you see them going about the place....not a smile to be seen.
Went for a walk across the river and up a little into the hills but found it all quite unattractive.
Very glad to leave the next day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotlandmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Scotlandmac,
Thank you for taking the time to write a report. I am only answering now in feb 2014 as I was not a member. Sorry to read that you found it all so depressing, at least the place was clean. But even things totally out my controll was rated very negative like the hills or the water plain at the Hippo Chalet I mean that is plain nature. Also the general comments about Namibia and its people was very negative. I think you must have had a very bad day or days and Namibia is not the country for you. By the way the german architecture is all build around the turn of the century so it is influenced by neaveau art which again as I understood has it roots in Scotland, so if you do not like that than have a look at your Scottish architects at the turn of the century. I thought it was great as they influenced all modern archtitecture. But tastes are very personal. Thank you in anyway for the few positive things you noticed.
All the best and kind regards
Johann Vaatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Windhoek hotels

Bergamo
Level Contributor
198 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We've been there for lunch (oryx carpaccio was excellent) and to see the leopard and the two cheetahs they have in the reserve.
To be honest, after having visited also Etosha, I've realized that those animals should have much more space for them than the one Dusternbrook is giving them.
But especially the view of the leopard was impressive, to be done!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAN6909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hi VAN6909,
Thank you for taking time to review Düsternbrook. Thank you for the positive remark about our food you had for lunch. I agree with you that the ideal situation would be that the cats would have more space, no question. But to build a reserve which is leopard proof is quite expensive. The prescribed minimum size from the state is 1 ha or 2.5acre per animal. Our leopard has 4 x as much and our cheetah 15 x as much as the minimum requirement. On the other hand if the reserve is too big it will be more difficult to show you the animals to you, so we tried to find a compromise the way we do it...and I think compared a European Zoo, where even much bigger animals get much less space this is by far much better. On the farm terrain,14 000 ha or more than 30000 acre, we still have free roaming leopard and cheetah so they at least they have much more space to roam.
Thank you one more time and kind regards.
Johann Vaatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed for two nights on the 'starter/finisher' package, which proved excellent value for money. The game drives were good, and the cheetah and leopard experiences were as close as we got to these creatures in Namibia. They are not totally wild, in that the farm feeds them and you watch at feeding time. There is also a pet cheetah with only three legs that we were able to walk with. Food was good. Our only criticisms were that the young lady who we first met was not very welcoming and the rooms in colonial house are rather tired and ours did not contain a double bed as stated on the website. The guides were very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Dave,
Thank you for your time to comment on Düsternbrook Safari Guest Farm in such a contructive way. I must say this type of criticism is the best as it is balanced and one knows exactly where to improve. I comment now only in feb 2014 and some points have been addresses already. In colonial house we have two dbl rooms one has a dbl bed and the other did not. We have now added another room to the room you had and there is now a dbl bed. In fact it is a family room so the sgl beds are for the kids. We also added a new reception in the middle of the yard with new or more friendly staff. But the young lady you are referring to is very valuable as he is very correct in your work so she still does the reservation and book keeping.
We will also address the rooms so that all get a facelift and will look hopefully than better.
Thank you about the positive remarks about the different game drives and the quality of the guides which was a weekness in the past but we have addressed the issue and I am happy to get a positive feed back from you.
kind regards
Johann Vaatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
14.1 mi away
Windhoek Game Camp
Windhoek Game Camp
#6 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
12.7 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
26.1 mi away
Leopard Lodge
Leopard Lodge
#31 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Okapuka Ranch
Okapuka Ranch
#24 of 76 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
39.7 mi away
Etango Ranch Guest Farm
Etango Ranch Guest Farm
#22 of 76 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
23.3 mi away
UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusternbrook Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusternbrook Guest Farm

Property: Dusternbrook Guest Farm
Address: | P.O. Box 870, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dusternbrook Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusternbrook Safari Guest Farm is a small colonial architecture style guest farm in a beautiful setting with a stunning view. It is 50 km north-west from the capital Windhoek or 90 km from the international airport on the way to Etoscha or the coast. The farm has 7 lodge rooms also family rooms all with bath ensuite. The farm is awarded from the hotel association (silver and bronze)and as eco lodge.( 4 out of 5 flowers). It has abundant game 16 different species( giraffe, kudu, oryx, springbock, impala etc. including hippo )and rich bird life in its private reserve. There is a large pool and a bar.Dinner and breakfast is in family-style where you meet in casual way other guests. Activities are cheetah & leopard drive, game drives, early morning mountain drive horse riding and several hiking trails. The new Khomas Hochland Hiking Trail (KHHT)90 km or 6 days ( 53 km and 4 nights) over several farms starts at Dusternbrook. There are two small camp sites and remote private chalets at a lake where you can see hippos.Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dusternbrook Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing