We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good classy Italian menu”

Sardinia Blue Olive
Ranked #8 of 129 Restaurants in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good classy Italian menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

No dislikes. Extensive menu, food well presented with excellent service and good value for money. Busy but not overcrowded would recommend

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    160
    58
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The one in Independence avenue has more character than the one in Klein windhoek!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I had stopped going to Sardinia in Klein Windhoek since it is smoker friendly. Recently I dropped in at the one in the Independence avenue. It has a beautiful bar and has the feeling of Italy. The restaurant has glass windows around and you can watch the passerbys. There was air conditioning. So we assumed that it was "non smoker". We sat in the middle area (after an arch which divides the restaurant from the front area. After 30 minutes we start coughing and smelling smoke. When we politely asked the waitress, it turns out that the area half divided with an arch is the smokers designated area and the other part is "non smoker" all inside an airconditioned restaurant. The owner (a nice lady) is seen smoking her lungs out in the smoking area. The waitress complained to me that she, herself is sick because she has to work in the air conditioned smoking room. The staff were friendly and nice.The kitchen is absolute chaos. The food we ordered was not ready after 1 hour and half. It turns out that the nochi we had ordered were not available but the cook forgot to mention and the waitress was not informed. So we ordered again. Then it was canneloni with ricotta and spinach. After 45 minutes the waitress brings some thing in a dirty looking oven dish (brown coloured) some thing that tasted like lasagna. The canneloni was not distinguishable. We decided to leave when the grilled fish we ordered was not ready and when they decided to ask us to wait again.
All things aside, there was a good ambiance, the staff are friendly. So it is certainly more colourful and human than the Sardinia in Klein Windhoek. But the food is nothing like in Italy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gitane_in_zim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lazy lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Sardinië Blue Olive on Sam Njoma drive, is such a good find in Windhoek! I had an awesome lazy lunch there this afternoon, and really walked out there thoroughly satisfied! The schnitzel is huge, but delicious and the cheesecake was the perfect end to this 'lekker' lunch. It was nice and busy, packed with ttourists and locals alike. Enjoy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElizevN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Dinner for five and all raved about the food. Seafood, salads. pasta, steak and schnitzel all rated top notch. Cheesecake to die for. Fine wine list, two beers on draft and good selection of bottled. Server attentive and knowledgable. Recommended

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank encal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I go back again and again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

When I want great Italian food (which is often) I go to Sardinia. The service is great, the salad sublime and the choices varied. Family-run, with a great new branch called Sardinia Blue Olive on the way to the airport, I say don't miss it!! And if you like fish go with the Kingklip, which you can have with great homemade chips.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CustomerOpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardinia Blue Olive also viewed

 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to Sardinia Blue Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing