We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Windhoek to see animals and have lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Okapuka Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Okapuka Ranch
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Close to Windhoek to see animals and have lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I had limited time and had lunch and a game trip. Both was good and did the trick. Lunch menu limited but the game salad was excellent. The rooms looked good although I didn't stay over. The game drive took in all the animals I wanted to see close up

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mataka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    29
    12
    10
    4
See reviews for
13
39
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This lodge was the last night of our 12 night tour of Namibia. The welcome was very warm as we were shown to our chalets which are spacious and comfortable. A light near the wardrobe would have been useful. The beds are high so that you can look out on the lawns to view any wildlife visiting. We saw warthogs and springbok. Bedside tables are tree stumps. With the bedside lamp thereon, they become rather small for any other items and are too far from the bed to reach. The walk from the rooms to the main lodge is dark after sunset and a torch is recommended. The bar and restaurant areas are comfortable and well appointed. The food was excellent and the service very good. It was a shame we were there for only one night. Our guide was welcomed like a friend of the family as he stays regularly and can heartily recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ligury
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Tte lodge is located about 30km from Windhoek, the rooms are quite big and clean enough.
The best is the bar / restaurant which is surrounded by a green field where, at sunset, various wild animals come for eating on the green grass.
The farm house hosts some wild animal that can be easily seen during any trip organized by the hotel crew. The service is good, the restaurant serves good meals, with availability of some game dish. In the morning the wake up is given by the birds singing around the rooms, I do not consider this as a disturbing think, but it was a really nice experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gian63trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed for ten nights at this Ranch approx 30 km from Windhoek in October. The whole experience was fantastic, the staff, the facilities and the animals. If you are going to Windhoek and are seeking a place to relax and have a beer in the evening then this is the place. Meals are excellent and free wireless. What a great place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R8fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great place, simple big rooms, animals eating grass just near the reception. Breakfast is ok, who cares about breakfast anyways. Bar.. they heated my glass before the brendy.. Austrian "ordnung", I guess. Wake up early and you see giraffes at your door.
Plus , you can arrange a real safari right from there.. f.e. zebra ... Hi Tim!

Room Tip: choose those facing the internal therritory
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

While staying in Windhoek we had dinner out with friends at Okapuka. This was a nice restaurant with good food set in its own game park. We ate at dusk as the animals (Wildebeast, Impalas, Giraafs, Hartebeast etc) meandered over the grassy area in front of the restaurant towards the waterhole. Quite a unique setting for dinner, and not too far outside of windhoek to just go to for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbsolutelyDubrovnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neustift im Stubaital, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and i spend the last 2 days of our Namibia holiday at Okapuka Ranch and we had a fantastic time. The food was excellent, the meat was nice and tender according to my husband. Being a vegetarian I was very happy to see vegetarian dishes as well. The service was very attentive and friendly. The rooms very romantic and cozy. We also went on a Game drive saw many different animals species with Rhinos and Giraffes being the highlights. We had a fantastic time and we can only recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jozina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windhoek
19.7 mi away
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
#22 of 76 in Windhoek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
28.9 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
27.4 mi away
Leopard Lodge
Leopard Lodge
#32 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.0 mi away
Windhoek Game Camp
Windhoek Game Camp
#8 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.2 mi away
Okahandja Country Hotel
Okahandja Country Hotel
#3 of 10 in Okahandja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
45.2 mi away
Onjala
Onjala
#18 of 97 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okapuka Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okapuka Ranch

Property: Okapuka Ranch
Address: 30 Km3, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Okapuka Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Okapuka Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okapuka Ranch Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing