We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, poor service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Am Weinberg Restaurant - CLOSED

Am Weinberg Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: As one of Windhoek’s finest gourmet restaurants, and the only one in Namibia currently awarded the prestigeous Chaîne des Rôtisseurs plaque, Am Weinberg Restaurant offers the sophisticated diner a health oriented and well crafted menu in a homely yet elegant atmosphere. Have an aperitif and enjoy a wine from a wide selection of some of the best South African wines while enjoying the beautiful sunset over the Klein Windhoek valley. During summer you can relax with a cocktail or your choice of drink in our open-air beach bar.The ideal place to end your holiday on a high culinary note.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Tasty food, excellent views but extremely slow service. The restaurant's menu is intriguing. Lots of local dishes and a great selection of wines made it difficult to choose from. Unfortunately, we waited nearly two hours until our main course was finally served.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank omundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    45
    19
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Lovely setting and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Am Weinberg was suggested as an ambient restaurant, with a lovely view and excellent food. This was all true. I was fascinated by the menu and the food was really of a high quality and fresh. Service was not entirely fitting in that the waitress staff lacked finesse to accompany their niceties. But that can be overlooked considering the entire experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Inge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the nicest views, but poorest service in town”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Been there a few times because the view is so nice at sunset. But never want to return as each and every time the service is a disaster. Really, the worst in Windhoek.

Be prepared to get service by chasing staff and then wait and wait and wait for anything to arrive.

Shame, because it is a very nice looking place. So much potential discarded.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ericin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windhoek
1 review
“Utterly disappointed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

After wanting to try this restaurant for many years we finally did and it was a first and last for us. The food was terrible - some of it was cold, the fillet arrived well-done when it was ordered med-rare and the service was virtually non-existing. Really disappointed since we were so excited to finally try it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bkcnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
2 reviews
“Great ambience but disappointing food and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were two couples who spent the Valentines Evening at Am Weinberg Restaurant. The view and ambience were spectacular. Unfortunately the food and the Service from the waiter was disappointing. The set menu offered a variety of five main courses of which our group chose two. Both meals were tasteless and tough. Nevertheless , we had a enjoyable evening but the food did NOT justify e price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernd I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Am Weinberg Restaurant also viewed

 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing