We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, charming hotel - just not central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roof of Africa Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 995 helpful votes
“Friendly, charming hotel - just not central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

I left planning for where to stay in Windhoek until about the last minute, and when I actually started calling hotels, I was dismayed to find that either they didn't have the amenities I wanted (TV, restaurant, pool), or they were really expensive or way in the outskirts of Windhoek. I was thrilled to find Roof of Africa, and thrilled with my stay there. It's not a fancy hotel, but it's absolutely adorable, with bamboo gardens between the rooms, and two large tortoises that roam the grounds. My room opened out onto a porch tables and chairs, and adjacent to that was a little fish pond and fountain. The room wasn't fancy, but my bed was huge and comfortable, everything was clean, and I got quite a few channels on the TV, which was especially exciting. There's a small pool in the center courtyard, as well as a nice little lounging area to sip a beer and chat. The staff was very friendly and helpful to me, and they even let me check my e-mail on the front desk computer.

But what pleased me the most was the restuarant. There is a buffet that has quite a few hearty, traditional options, as well as some nice extra touches, like a cheese plate, lots of fruit, and quite a few salads. You can also order off a menu, and that includes fun African dishes like kudu and ostrich. The only detraction to Roof of Africa? Location. Roof of Africa is close enough to walk to the center of town, but it is quite a hike, and the street that it's on isn't terribly pedestrian friendly. There also aren't any shops nearby, so if I wanted something like a bottle of water, I had to pay the inflated price for one from the hotel bar. But nevertheless, I had a great time here, and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marywhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    54
    35
    15
    10
See reviews for
14
37
19
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level Contributor
198 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

The hotel is located within walking distance of the popular Joe’s Beer House. We had a clean, large, standard room with a safe, fridge & TV. The staff are lovely & let us check in 3 hours earlier as we arrived early. They were also very helpful when we needed to print & scan some documents. The WIFI access is excellent in the restaurant/bar area. The bar has a very good atmosphere. The breakfast is very good with some of the hottest food from a buffet we have had in a long time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

According to older versions of Southern Africa Lonely planet, Roof of Africa used to be a backpackers, and as such was described as ' a pleasant haven'. While the hotel was clean and service was good, the rooms are lacking in character, and the bar and restaurant look like any standard middle range business and small conference hotel. The staff were of little help in recommending restaurants- it seemed like they expected everyone to eat there, but we did eventually manage to find a very nice restaurant not so far away (with the help of mobile internet and not the staff). Breakfast was mediocre, and I would not be in a hurry to return. Not a ' pleasant haven' in my book..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xefina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the years and have always had a wonderful stay. The staff are always friendly and willing to assist. You can enjoy a drink or two at the fully stocked bar and the buffet meals are always a treat, there are several dishes to choose from so you should have no problem finding something to tickle your taste buds. The main building is as interesting as it is beautiful, there is an elevated section of the bar / resturant perfect for those romantic dinners. The standard rooms are clean and comfortable while the luxury are very smart and extra special. There is a pool for those hot summer days and a suana too. This is also a perfect place to have a conference or a function. The hotel shuttle will take care of all your airport transfers. The reception staff will also assist you in planning a trip and making bookings. This hotel is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brucetp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed for 2 weeks in the Roof of Africa hotel during a business trip to Windhoek and I would definitely return. It's not the most modern hotel and certainly not very plush but I found it comfortable, clean and the staff I dealt with were all very courteous and professional. My room had a large bathroom (with a really powerful shower) twin beds, a fridge, TV and (mostly) good wireless internet connection. The bed was very comfortable with nice soft sheets and it was normally very quiet so I slept great, with the exception of one night when some dogs barking nearby kept me awake.

The only negative would be that the evening buffet/bar food was a bit hit & miss (I had a great Oryx steak cooked fresh one night but then a horrible goulash with fatty meat another night) but when there are so many great restaurants in town & Joe's Beer House is only a short walk away it shouldn't be a problem finding somewhere better to eat.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueJoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

This place is quite annoying: the rooms are not ok, old and dirty, there is no hot water in the shower even after waiting for a long.....long......time and the management just doesn't seem to care much at all. Arrogant people (!). Shameful to pick a name like they have done, honestly haven't had such a bad place in Africa before. I had to stay here on a business trip, but left after one night. Wouldn't spend a penny again if I had the choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vielflieger_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Windhoek hotels

Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

Awful place. Dirty room, disgusting food, rude and sarcastic management. Wouldn't stay here again even if I was paid to do so.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
4.0 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.2 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
3.6 mi away
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Hotel
#9 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roof of Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof of Africa Hotel

Property: Roof of Africa Hotel
Address: 124-126 Nelson Mandela Avenue, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roof of Africa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Roof of Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing