We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roof of Africa Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Reviewed December 7, 2011

The hotel is located within walking distance of the popular Joe’s Beer House. We had a clean, large, standard room with a safe, fridge & TV. The staff are lovely & let us check in 3 hours earlier as we arrived early. They were also very helpful when we needed to print & scan some documents. The WIFI access is excellent in the restaurant/bar area. The bar has a very good atmosphere. The breakfast is very good with some of the hottest food from a buffet we have had in a long time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 170 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

According to older versions of Southern Africa Lonely planet, Roof of Africa used to be a backpackers, and as such was described as ' a pleasant haven'. While the hotel was clean and service was good, the rooms are lacking in character, and the bar and restaurant look like any standard middle range business and small conference hotel. The staff were of little help in recommending restaurants- it seemed like they expected everyone to eat there, but we did eventually manage to find a very nice restaurant not so far away (with the help of mobile internet and not the staff). Breakfast was mediocre, and I would not be in a hurry to return. Not a ' pleasant haven' in my book..

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xefina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the years and have always had a wonderful stay. The staff are always friendly and willing to assist. You can enjoy a drink or two at the fully stocked bar and the buffet meals are always a treat, there are several dishes to choose from so you should have no problem finding something to tickle your taste buds. The main building is as interesting as it is beautiful, there is an elevated section of the bar / resturant perfect for those romantic dinners. The standard rooms are clean and comfortable while the luxury are very smart and extra special. There is a pool for those hot summer days and a suana too. This is also a perfect place to have a conference or a function. The hotel shuttle will take care of all your airport transfers. The reception staff will also assist you in planning a trip and making bookings. This hotel is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brucetp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed for 2 weeks in the Roof of Africa hotel during a business trip to Windhoek and I would definitely return. It's not the most modern hotel and certainly not very plush but I found it comfortable, clean and the staff I dealt with were all very courteous and professional. My room had a large bathroom (with a really powerful shower) twin beds, a fridge, TV and (mostly) good wireless internet connection. The bed was very comfortable with nice soft sheets and it was normally very quiet so I slept great, with the exception of one night when some dogs barking nearby kept me awake.

The only negative would be that the evening buffet/bar food was a bit hit & miss (I had a great Oryx steak cooked fresh one night but then a horrible goulash with fatty meat another night) but when there are so many great restaurants in town & Joe's Beer House is only a short walk away it shouldn't be a problem finding somewhere better to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueJoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This place is quite annoying: the rooms are not ok, old and dirty, there is no hot water in the shower even after waiting for a long.....long......time and the management just doesn't seem to care much at all. Arrogant people (!). Shameful to pick a name like they have done, honestly haven't had such a bad place in Africa before. I had to stay here on a business trip, but left after one night. Wouldn't spend a penny again if I had the choice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vielflieger_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Awful place. Dirty room, disgusting food, rude and sarcastic management. Wouldn't stay here again even if I was paid to do so.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night at the beginning of an explore touring holiday. Our room was very basic but functional. Childrens room was a little better decorated.
Positives.
Bar and outdoor area were very nice with acceptable level of service.
Clean
Breakfast was adequate.
Smooth check in and check out.
Walking distance to Joes Beer House.
Negatives
Noisy.
Rooms needed modernising.
Out of town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
1,401 reviews
4.0 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 17 in Windhoek
224 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Hotel
#10 of 17 in Windhoek
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roof of Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof of Africa Hotel

Address: 124-126 Nelson Mandela Avenue, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range: $104 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roof of Africa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Roof of Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing