We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place”

Etosha National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.00*
and up
3-Hour Etosha National Park Game Drive
Ranked #1 of 161 things to do in Namibia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Nairobi Region, Kenya
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is for those travelers who love adventure and fresh air as well. The scenery is beautiful and the staff there are helpful and friendly and kind too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mwangi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    175
    40
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
888 reviews
403 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 927 helpful votes
“You Can't Go to Namibia and Not Go to Etosha!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We've been to Kruger and the Great Migration in Kenya but this was the best safari we've had even though we only saw one of the Big 5. Nevertheless, we felt that the layout of the Park and the waterholes at this park were far superior to the other parks, just based on the number of animals they seem to attract. There was never a time when we went to a waterhole and there wasn't an abundance of animals trying to get a drink. Highly recommend a visit. You can't go to Namibia and not visit Etosha!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank romadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A very good park for game, but take care!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I really rate Etosha for its size and the variety of animals. It's an absolute must if you are serious about seeing wild animals on your trip to Namibia. The fact you can drive your own vehicle around the extensive network of roads is a bonus. You never feel the need to go off-road, as everything can be seen from the road. Other tourists are helpful in pointing out animals.

It's worth staying inside the park. Although all the NWR camps have their issues, you benefit from the saving in time, the ability to get to waterholes early and late, and the option of night drives. We stayed two nights at each of three camps. In retrospect, I think five nights would have been perfect and I would advise staying at at least two different camps.

The roads are all unmade. Most are good, some are rough and there is the odd large hole. You need to take care. Signs are barely adequate. Make sure you have a decent map. Take care late in the afternoon, when vehicles race back to the camp before the gates shut. There are some toilets and picnic sites within the park itself. Some are enclosed, while others are completely open! Pray you don't break down or have a puncture. If you do, I hope it's on a main road, where you might get help.

Despite all my warnings, I give it five. If it had no issues, I'd rate it six or even seven!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank foodrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon Bay; East London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Etosha is a little unique and a must for visitors to Namiba”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We recently enjoyed our second visit to Etosha. It is perhaps a little far from everything but Etosha should nevertheless be included into one's schedule when touring Namibia - a dry land made up of vast distances. Etosha has three main camps; Okuakuejo (our favourite); Namutoni and Halali. One can camp or enjoy chalet style accommodation to suite your personal budget.
Don't expect to see animals around every corner, particularly in winter when they gather around the many waterholes. While you drive, take a note of the different environment which is made of grassed desert-dunes and large grassed savannah interspersed with areas treed areas. Etosha is particularly during the South African school holidays and advance booking is essential. I recommend spring and autumn as the two best times for a visit, particularly if you are a bird lover. The heat in mid-summer and the cold in mid-winter can be a little harsh.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank omegacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
103 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“One cannot visit Namibia without spending time at the Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We've been visiting the park for the last 15 years - from spending a few days in accommodation at Namutoni, Halali or Okaukuejo to just visiting for a day. In the old days we used to be able to stay in the actual Fort itself which always made our stay extra special due to its long history. Sadly, this is now not possible as the area now just contains touristy cafes and souvenir shops, the latter being very mediocre both in goods and staff!! The restaurant serves great food and the staff are very pleasant.
Just in the past 12 months we noticed a lot of deterioration in the Park's (Namutoni) infrastructure with wooden walkways rotting, buildings in disrepair and the whole area in need of a good cleanup.
This year, as in the previous year, we only spent a day in the Park, driving from Tsumeb. The amount of game we saw was disappointing but still enjoyable and exciting and should not be missed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deefadog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etosha National Park also viewed

Etosha National Park, Oshikoto Region
 

Been to Etosha National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing