We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place but beware the restaurants!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Etosha National Park

Etosha National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.00*
and up
3-Hour Etosha National Park Game Drive
Ranked #1 of 158 things to do in Namibia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place but beware the restaurants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Since the resorts at the Etosha Game Park have been "upgraded" the standards have really fallen and all the prices have seen a hike.At Halali, the resort bang in the centre and so an obvious stop off for travellers going from one side to the other the simple, favourite, non-alcoholic Rock Shandy (a mix of lemonade and soda with a dash of Angostura bitters) cost more than at Mokuti Lodge, the luxury upmarket privately owned Lodge at the gates. They seem to rely on foreigners doing the calculation into their own currency and then it seems very cheap, but they are taking advantage! The Park itself is gorgeous and the range of animals breath-taking, just beware the humans in charge!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brecanus2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    171
    40
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
265 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Regular visitors to the Halali waterhole are families of Black Rhinos.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Halali waterhole is within walking distance of the camp site and bungalows. It is situated on a rocky outcrop and offers a view of the waterhole below. There is a good chance to see the rare Black Rhino which come to drink during the day and night. The camp site and facilities are better maintained than Okaukuejo.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We loved this park. So much to do and explore. We stayed two nights each at Okaukeujo and Namutoni and preferred the lit watering hole that is adjacent to Okaukeujo for excellent game viewing at all times of the day- rhinos, giraffes, and herds of elephants barreling toward the water were so fun to watch. We were independent campers and found the bathrooms acceptable and the roads well maintained.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Neubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
100 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A visit to Etosha is a must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our visit to Etosha this year was one of the best we have ever made. We travelled to the park from Tsumeb (100kms) and spent around 6 hours driving to and from waterholes near Namutoni. Apart from the usual game of zebra, giraffe, kudo, daiker, spring ok, impala etc we saw a leopard kill a daiker, lions and a lioness drinking at a waterhole and the largest herd of elephants we have ever seen - probably around 60 or so. The entrance day fee of N$170 is well worth it. And the roads are certainly better than the ones in the Serengeti which nearly wrecked our vehicle a few years ago.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deefadog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Vast, Desolate and Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Etosha National Park is simply magnificent. A long drive - over 6 hours - but well worth it. We stayed 2 nights at three camps - Namatoni, Halali and Okaukuejo. All chalets were spacious with good sized bathrooms and outside seating areas. Namatoni felt a little "enclosed" with a tall fence around the chalet, but game viewing was very good outside the camp. Halali and Okaukuejo both have water holes in the camp with excellent game viewing - elephant, rhino and plains game constantly in attendance.
The flat, stony plains and the pan are fascinating with large herds everywhere.
A truly beautiful place and well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank smith_susan407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etosha National Park also viewed

 
Etosha National Park, Oshikoto Region
 

Been to Etosha National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing