We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax, relax, relax...lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tan-'n-Biki

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maputo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tan-'n-Biki
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Maputo
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relax, relax, relax...lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a great time! This is not a 5 star hotel...and you do not pay 5 star rates! We know the country and are well aware that you do not find the Palm trees here as you do on the North.

The beach is private and clean. The staff go out of their way to help. The food is very good....as in 5kg heavier good! There is a reastaurant on site.

The chalets are not on the beach and if you look at the website you will notice that. It is great to have the dunes between you and the sea, for it breaks those sea winds on windy days. The accomodation have fans and some have airconditioners - we took the fans, should have gone the aircon route.

The road going to the resort has been redone and we have been going there for the last 5 years with a car, with no problem if you can drive.

They have credit card facilities, and if you really have a problem the owner provided us with her laptop to do an EFT.

As with RSA they do have power failure's, us as South Africans should know that.

WE ARE HEADING YOUR WAY IN DECEMBER AGAIN, CANT WAIT TO SEE YOU!!!

As for the language, the owners employ only local people, in order to help them, aswell as local laws, thus you must understand that English is a 3rd or 4th language for them, so when you go to rome you do as the romans do...So they can speak portugese

Room Tip: Log Cabins on the dune are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaLaJNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
20
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Overall it's a nice place, but you get totally ripped off for launching jet ski's or boats, they tell you one price but when they have finished taking them out they give you another more expensive amount to pay. This is totally in bad taste. Hope management knows that their staff is doing this to their guests.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ByronMoniqueShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

We went to this resort in December 2011, our first trip out of the country. I must say that it was the worst experience of our lives, and it cost us a fortune to boot! No friendlly welcome, inflated prices, dirty pool, annoying quad bikes, no electricity, and by the way you can buy an oil lamp for R75 (paying R1550 a night for a luxury chalet), no 4 x 4 needed but if your 4 x 4 gets stuck anywhere on site, they will only charge you R170 to get you out, oh hell, I can go on and on! Sadly and probably unfairly, we will never ever return to Mozambique again.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maputo hotels

Klerksdorp, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We went to Tan n biki in December 2011. This was our first trip to Mozambique and we were so very excited!! First of all the road from Maputo to Maraceune, where you take the ferry, is in one word a NIGHTMARE!!!! Traffic rules does not apply to the local people and I would rather drive in Johannesburg a hundred times, than on this road again. The ferry was not bad, but we did'nt enjoy the ride. The gravel road from the ferry to the camp in not bad and our 4x4 bakkie had no problem with this road. On arrival at the reception, I was not even greeted properly never mind introduced to the management. We figured out for ourselves who was who around there. The chalet was not what we expected, but we realised that this is "Africa", so we descided to accept it as it was. The outside kitchen, with everything, groceries included, standing outside, was not to my satisfaction. I saw that some of the other chalets kitchens had cupboards, but not our unit. Okay, so we descided to just relax and enjoy "Africa", then the power failures started, anything from 1 to 4 failures per day/night, while management had a generator, so they were comfortable, we had to buy candles to have some light. As you all know, temperatures in Mozambique, especially in December, is no joke, so to have no electricity and no fans, was really not very funny. I feel that from managements side they should at least provide lamps/candles, seeing that power failures is apparently a normal thing around these parts. We feel that we pay lots of money for accomodation, and then they cannot even provide a basic need like electricity . I agree, some off the staff members were friendly and helpfull, but the majority of them couldn't even understand english, so communication with the cleaning staff was non-existend. Then the amount of "lounger chairs" at the pool area were a joke, especially in December, with a fully booked camp. It was a matter of "spot a available lounger and win a Uno". I must say the restaurant, on site, was acceptable, when they had electricity to prepare the food. We ate there a few times, and I can honestly say, that the food was fresh and well prepared. Then there was the matter of quad bikes. Some of the other guests had their personal quads. The kids were allowed to ride freely in the resort, which was very irritating because of the noise. I can understand that they are also on holiday and enjoying themselves, but with no consideration towards the other guests. I feel that management should have rules and regulations in place with a designated area for quad bikes. Then the other thing that was very poor, was the fact that they had no credit/debit card facilities, at least not working ones. We feel that they should be able to accomodate the guests with such a service, seeing that lots of guests are from RSA or even other countries. We were not enjoying our stay so we descided to leave one day earlier, and only on our departure did I see the owner of the resort, and I would not describe him as "friendly". I believe that this resort has a lot of potential, but at the present moment there is a lot of issues that should be addressed by management to ensure that ALL their guests will give them a good review. We are sorry to say, but we will NOT recommend this resort to any of our friend or family and this resort will also NEVER EVER EVER see us again. We don't mean to be rude, but this is our opinion based on our personal experience and we are entitle to it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roos W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We where there over December 2011 and could not find anything wrong. It was everything we expected and more.
Betsie and her crew wen't out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. They even baked a bday cake for my daughter while they had to get ready for a wedding.
I just want to thank Betsie and Lester for a great time and see you again this year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

We booked the room in advance so the resort should have known we were coming, but from the moment we've arrived the management looked as if they were trying to be champions at ignoring us and make us feel unwelcome. The house we booked is nicely situated in the dunes and gives stunning views on the sea. The house was big, clean and had comfortable beds. The first night we stayed the electricity went off and stayed off for at least 3 hours. We had to go to reception ourselves to ask for a solution, which wasn't given by the management. They made us buy candles and an oil lamp, so at least we had some light. The management itself had electricity coming from a generator so they could watch football on their big tv screen.
We've experienced some bad encounters with the owners dogs as they've been clearly tought to be aggressive against the coloured/black staff working at the resort. This really gave us a bad feeling. All together: tan-n-biki would be the ideal place to stay if it weren't for the bad and uninterested management. So don't go there as long it's been run by the same management!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnonymousNov2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Very unfriendly management. They claimed that we broke glasses which we definitely did not! Then they made us pay for these glasses in a very unrespectful and unreasonable manner: I still cant believe it that this happened but they called the ferry not to take us if we wouldn't pay these glasses. It was a very unconvenient experience. Dont let it happen to you, choose another place there are lots of nice places.    

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HeinNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maputo
21.1 mi away
Catembe Gallery Hotel
Catembe Gallery Hotel
#1 of 1 in Catembe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
17.7 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
16.8 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#2 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
18.3 mi away
Villa das Arabias Boutique Hotel
21.0 mi away
Catembe Packer's Lodge
Catembe Packer's Lodge
#2 of 15 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan-'n-Biki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-'n-Biki

Property: Tan-'n-Biki
Address: Macenta, Maputo 1100, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Maputo
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Tan-`n-Biki Hotel Maputo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing