We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way below a acceptable standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Firstly for the price a traveller should be entitled to far better everything! The food and service in the main lounge is really shocking. One can wait ages for the meal to arrive and more often than not when it does it more closely resembles hostel rather than hotel food.

The accommodation section (This hotel is laid out more in the format of a barracks than a hotel its rows upon rows of blocks with units of 1, 2 & 3 beds in each block) is not any better and the service here is equally bad. Room service is a joke. The delay from the dining area compounds into a disaster, as the food has to travel to the other side of just about a city block on a tray, with very little attention paid to keeping it warm. I have yet to have a meal to the room that was palatable.

Internet is iffy at best and pricey. I have used the gym and its acceptable at best.

The compound seems to host more long term guests and so it almost falls more into a self-catering villa and residential hotel than a business or holiday hotel.

It’s a miss if you need to be in Maputo for only a night or two. You will be better off elsewhere (Good luck with that!!!)

Room Tip: If staying a few days and you had no other hotel option be sure to ask fro a room in the earlier bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 101 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

Good restaurant service and SPA. I traveled with my family (husband and sons) and we had a good time. Unfortunately my son had an eye irritation and ear pain because of the swiming pool. And when the doors are open in the afternoon, a lot of mosquitos come into the rooms. Besides this, the service on the restaurant was very good. Simpatic people and ready to help. I have no reasons to complain about the security: is very good!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adloyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I had a reservation there (made by a client) stayed one night and left for the Polana (an amazing hotel btw). The indy village is revolting. Dirty gym, terrible fried oily food and exceptionally unfriendly staff. I wasn't treated as a guest but rather like some vagrant. The gym needs a clean. The spa too! The pool was chemical and gross (with no clean towels). My room was dismal and completely over priced. What a disgrace. Even their WIFI is overpriced and didn't work. Dinner was expensive and very bad (oily and tasteless).
The aesthetic is another joke. Orange disaster.
Simply not good enough.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielScheffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is not so much a hotel as chalets. Some times this can be nice, but it also means you nee to walk outdoors whenever you want to get food, go to reception etc. A right nuisance i'm sure in the summer months Got to keep in mind TIA, so service, cleanliness and facilities are not necessarily to the same standard as other places. Food was ok, although zero atmosphere in restaurant and no bar per se. Pool is outdoors and basic, not particularly clean. Rooms are basic, and mozzies are a problem. I won't choose to stay there next time, but equally it's not really a hardship either. One saving grace is the gym, it's very good.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is priced as a luxury hotel. However, the rooms are old and pretty basic, but what really makes it a really unpleasant experience is the service. The staff is very unfriendly (sometimes verging on being rude or bossy!); the service at the restaurant is extremely long (count at least 30min for a salad and a beer - if they notice you at all); it is impossible to put the bill on your hotel room as in all other hotels of that "class" around the world - you have to pay rightaway (although they don't even have an ATM and sometimes not even a credit card terminal like at the bar by the pool). You also need to pay for the room in full as you arrive. In the end you really get the feeling that you are being taken as a possible thief. Silly buffet options at the restaurant make it quite unconvenient (if you want to have a piece of dessert at lunch, you have to pay for the full dessert buffet wish costs around 15 USD). They don't have a proper laundry service meaning they have to send things outside for cleaning so you have to wait for days to get your clothes back if you have a suit for example. Pretty boring hotel also I must say, and far away from pretty much everything. There are a lot of other options in Maputo, but don't go for this one - completely overpriced for the poor quality of services offered.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apanamanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

we stayed 2 nights at the Girassol Indy Congress. When we entered the room I felt being back in the 80's. I was not overly keen on the rooms interieur neither of the TV. Toilet was broken and a few other things didn't work. It's a small fridge in the room but you cannot use it as it's looked. The staff is friendly when a bit slow. The hotel is in a compound with bungalow style accomodation which is quite nice and safe. The pool area is nice and relaxing with a nice little bar for drinks and snacks. The breakfast was the biggest disappointment. When we arrived around 7.30 am most of the buffet was empty and what was left didn't look very tempting. No amtmosphere either in the breakfast room. It felt like a huge barn with one side some tables for having breakfast, in middle some tables with the food and the rest just a big empty space. It was o.k. but if I wouldn't go back for the price you pay and what you get. There are better options in Maputo but often fully booked because the lack of accomodation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macaquinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed two nights on our holidays - August 2012. The rooms are nice. It is a business hotel, or at that time, it was with a lot of business people because of the Fair of Maupto. The breakfast was good. The location is good - near the centre and best restaurants in Maputo.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RV091972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
1.8 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 23 in Maputo
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#3 of 23 in Maputo
567 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#6 of 23 in Maputo
201 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Maputo
Hotel Tivoli Maputo
#9 of 23 in Maputo
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel

Address: Rua Macombe Nongue-Nongue, R.1. 373 | Sommerschield, Maputo 1100, Mozambique (Formerly Girassol Indy Congress Hotel & Spa)
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Maputo
Price Range: $106 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sommerschield, one of the noblest areas of Maputo city, Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel is only 7 km from the International airport and very close to the city centre. This 7 hectare resort includes 55 one, two or three room villas and 72 rooms, a restaurant with wood fired oven, swimming pools with bar, conference room with a capacity up to 1,000 people, health club & spa, hairdresser, Kids Club, bar, tennis courts and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Girassol Indy Congress Hotel And Spa
Girassol Indy Congress Hotel Maputo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing