We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel in quite suburb Maputo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I could not get a room in the bigger hotels in Maputo so I stayed in this Hotel. It has the feeling of a family hotel but the rooms are very much spead out. The standard rooms are avaerage size but do not have a desk to work on. the bathroom is ok but hot water seems to be a problem. I did not have hot water for the two mornings that i used my room. Wireless internet was virtually non-existing in my room as well and only the front reception area had decent coverage.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoenixber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 101 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2011

This place is OK if you are looking for a quiet place in Maputo. I think its slightly detached from the town, without character. But it has a good swimming pool which is hard to find in Maputo. So if you are looking for a quiet, safe place than this is a good place. I assume its a safe choice for families too. Wifi did not work and its quite pricy.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mathelaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed in the Girassol Indy Hotel for 4 nights while at a conference in Maputo. The rooms are reasonably sized, I really liked the fact that the rooms and villas are spread out in gardens, the breakfast was good, and it was great having a good gym on site. It has a resort feel in the heart of a city, and is obviously liked by the locals, which is a good sign. Staff were courteous, and tried hard to help. It was really convenient for the Joaquim Chissano International Conference Centre. Wifi was reasonable, and easy to access. I would return to the hotel with my family, as it was well equipped for kids.
On the downside, we had better food at other restaurants in Maputo than at the hotel, but that's a reflection of the high standard of food in the city. The water temperature and pressure was somewhat variable in my room. There was no milk/milk substitute provided with the tea and coffee in the rooms.
Tip: Given the walk between the restaurant and the rooms, taking mosquito repellant with you is essential.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RivaAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

An ideal place if you want no indication at all you might in in Mozambique or even Africa.

Rooms are clean and comfortable but the room I had had no wireless Internet access.

The atmosphere was quite sterile and soulless, it would only suit a reluctant business traveller.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

The one thing I find most depressing and frustrating when I travel is when businesses can even get their core competencies right. I.e. they can’t even do their core business without messing it up. I tend to forgive smaller guest houses and hotels as often the owvers are not highly qualified or experienced hoteliers. But for large expensive hotels like the Indy Village it is super depressing.

Indy Village Girassol is a clean, modern well maintained complex of villas.
The restaurant is overpriced and the night we went there the service was dreadful, we waited 30 minutes to order; we all had to laugh about the 3 prawns each in the prawn curry, because the waiters certainly didn’t take it seriously. We waited for the bill for 30 minutes and only got it when we attempted to walk out without paying.
The rooms are clean and air conditioned, but worth not worth 160USD.
The Conference venue is very expensive and service leaves much to be desired, for example if you are holding a conference that starts at 8am one expects staff to be there to help sort out last minute glitches. But obviously not at this conference centre.
Hotel transfers, conference guests left stranded at airport and reception apathetic to it being a problem.
Staff: the lower level staff were helpful but management absent, hiding or condescending.

I would not recommend this venue if you are having a conference, you will just spend a stressful few days trying to get the hotel to do what they are supposed to do, or giving up and doing it yourself.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I've been at Indy Village back in July 2010 and service was great!
All personnel where very polite, quite handy, and always keen on helping.

The food is also excellent! I came aware that a lot of people from Maputo came on purpose to dine or lunch at the hotel's restaurant.

Rooms: it's not a 5* hotel in Dubai, but for what is worth, it's enough and don't compromise anyone's dignity.

I truly recommend it!

Safe trips to all of you ;)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank branny78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed at Indy Village for 8 nights, unfortunately our first night they checked us into a very musty smelling villa that had a missing window with the armed guards sitting on our verandah in the morning. It wasn't until we complained a number of times the following day they relocated us closer to the friends we were travelling with. It was a much better villa closer to the pool.
The dining room was quite pleasant although the breakfast was nothing to rush back to.
The internet cafe / facilities and gym facilities are quite modern.
If you are used to sleeping on the ground with no padding, you would find the beds very comfortable... for an Aussie girl like me, it was so hard my hips ached in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_flashpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
1.8 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 23 in Maputo
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#6 of 23 in Maputo
201 reviews
1.0 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#2 of 23 in Maputo
565 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Maputo
Hotel Tivoli Maputo
#9 of 23 in Maputo
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel

Address: Rua Macombe Nongue-Nongue, R.1. 373 | Sommerschield, Maputo 1100, Mozambique (Formerly Girassol Indy Congress Hotel & Spa)
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Maputo
Price Range: $104 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sommerschield, one of the noblest areas of Maputo city, Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel is only 7 km from the International airport and very close to the city centre. This 7 hectare resort includes 55 one, two or three room villas and 72 rooms, a restaurant with wood fired oven, swimming pools with bar, conference room with a capacity up to 1,000 people, health club & spa, hairdresser, Kids Club, bar, tennis courts and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Girassol Indy Congress Hotel Maputo
Girassol Indy Congress Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing