We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa das Mangas
Nearby Hotels
$119
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 2001(Maputo)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$196
$191
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$243
$232
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Sun Maputo(Maputo)
$232
$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$122
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$268
$221
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
8
29
29
26
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
29
29
26
20
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 112 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Rather a disappointing nights stay. The rooms are built for very small people, its like living in a shop window and room facilities did not work. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast very poor and overall experience was one of how did I ever end up here! would not return.

Room Tip: A room on the ground floor next to the pool, the rooms upstairs are awful and have no windows only a sliding door into a creaking passageway.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gl0bal59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The rooms are so small you can touch either side with very little effort.

Their menu is disappointing and food is very expensive.

The construction, car accidents, sirens, hooting and partying keeps you awake most of the night. It doesnt help that you walk out of your room and straight into your (or someone else's) car.

Staff (especially the receptionists) are arrogant, rude, and will charge extra for anything and everything - even to smile. The waiters will not bring you change unless you insist on it. (I had to walk into the kitchen to find the waiter that owed me change)

Villa das Mangas was so bad, it has put me off Mozambique entirely.

Room Tip: Book at a different place.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

As others have said, rooms are small, breakfast is dismal, rooms are noisy and dark (I stayed in #3). Seems like too high a price for what you get. Staff has been friendly to me though. Perhaps other rooms are better. Room service is overpriced but tasty enough. Swimming pool is nice but packed with people on the weekend

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolev11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Location is good and the rooms are fine except once in a while you may encounter a cockroach or some other bug. Swimming pool and garden was too dirty to use but the worst part was the breakfast which was cold and horrible and though we ask them to prepare fresh one or atleast reheat for us, our request was simply declined. So i would like to suggest them if they are so reluctant to serve nice breakfast , they should simply stop serving it.

Room Tip: i think there is no problem with the rooms except you may not like the decor which is different in almost all the rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branca d, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Villa das Mangas, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will continue our efforts in order to ensure staying at our hotel is a wonderful experience everyday.

Thank You!

Remaining at your service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was my first time in Maputo so don't really have a benchmark for Villa das Mangas. My expectations were not very high and perhaps this is why it was not disappointing overall.
My room (#3 downstairs) was comfy, clean and spacious. No bugs, no mosquitos. AC working properly. The outside noise was a bit annoying.
Breakfast is so so, to say the least. The most appalling thing is the coffee - what you get is not a real thing but an instant mix with some vegetable stuff in it. Revolting. Yes, you may get an espresso but at extra charge of $2.5. And only if they didn't run out of cartridges.
The restaurant offers typical Maputo stuff, a good selection of seafood and burgers but it is rather overpriced. You would be much better off crossing the street and walking to minutes to Cristal restaurant. More and better food for less.
The staff at Villa das Mangas is ok. A bit slow and not smiling too much but for African standards they are slightly above average.
I will probably use it again if not for anything else than for the proximity to our office.

Room Tip: If you have problems with sleep, avoid rooms #3,4,5. They are close to the restaurant entrance and a drunk may spoil your night.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branca d, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Villa das Mangas, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for providing your feedback. It is a valuable tool in our strategy for improving the quality of our services everyday.

We look forward to receiving your visit again and remain at your service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews