We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable and comfortable guesthouse-ideal for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sundown Guest House Maputo
Ranked #14 of 41 Maputo B&B and Inns
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Reliable and comfortable guesthouse-ideal for business travel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

I have visited Maputo many times, and whilst the city has a number of excellent high class hotels, they are also high price! I am sorry I didn't discover the Sundown Guesthouse sooner - it is clean, quiet, and reasonably priced - ideal for a business trip. Fairly fast wifi is provided free, there is a well stocked honesty bar, and the staff are unfailingly helpful with organising taxis (and I believe they are as helpful with arranging onward travel, excursions etc - although I didn't have firsthand experience of this!) I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTravellerKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
1
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

I would give the rooms/cleanliness a higher rating but the bathroom had either mold or a mold like stain all around the 1/4 of the wall. But other than that the room was very clean.

Large room with a comfortable queen size mattress and mosquito nets. TV with 2 channels (CNN and local TV). Honestly bar is awesome for late night drinks. Quiet area of Maputo.

Internet is not bad for Africa. Wifi.

Use the taxi driver suggested by the hotel to avoid ripp-offs (there are no meters in Maputo). Zambi for dinner is pretty good FYI.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

This was hotel is great for business travelers who have business in the area. There is not much in that area as far as sights of interest, so this is not a good choice if you plan is to get to know Mozambique's culture and sights.

We had newly renovated rooms which were very clean. The high speed internet was a bit complicated (they have lots of connections and you need to pick the right one), but once I got it linked up it was the fastest internet connection I had during my months travels.

Breakfast was nothing exciting, but there were choices and no one in our group went hungry.

The person they arranged to take us to the boarder took us to the wrong boarder crossing (he didn't really speak english nor could he read a map which made it very difficult to communicate that we were going the wrong place until we called the hotel and got them to explain it to him). I am sure that, thanks to our experience, that won't happen again (in fairness, I don't think they normally arrange cars to drive you to the boarder... the same guy did a good job in dropping us off and picking us up from dinner the night before).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muriellovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

The hotel facilities are clean but fairly basic. The rooms in the new annexe are good; modern, clean and quiet, but in the older main part were noisy and shabby; there were no mosquito nets provided, so make sure you take your own as you will need it. Overall, decent value for money; good, central and safe location, helpful, friendly staff but make sure that you request one of the newer rooms next door.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MepLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
0.7 mi away
Hotel Africa Business
Hotel Africa Business
#10 of 22 in Maputo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#2 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sommerschield Guest House & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Guest House & Spa
Bamboo Guest House & Spa
#3 of 16 in Maputo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Guest House Maputo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Guest House Maputo

Property: Sundown Guest House Maputo
Address: Rua 1301 Sommerschield # 107, Maputo 1100, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundown Guest House Maputo 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the up-market suburb of Sommerschield, Sundown Guest House is a perfect place to relax and recharge whether on business or leisure. We offer a great alternative to hotel accommodation at accessible rates all of which include breakfast. With its secluded location, away from rumble of traffic and busy streets, you are guaranteed to get a good night’s rest in one of our well appointed rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Sundown Guest House Maputo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Guest House Maputo Hotel Maputo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing