We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sundown Guest House Maputo
Nearby Hotels
$144
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$195
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Sun Maputo(Maputo)
$245
$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$243
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$208
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
6
17
9
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
17
9
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet arearooms are largetop floormosquito netchannelstvbusinesstaxi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 34 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2010

I would give the rooms/cleanliness a higher rating but the bathroom had either mold or a mold like stain all around the 1/4 of the wall. But other than that the room was very clean.

Large room with a comfortable queen size mattress and mosquito nets. TV with 2 channels (CNN and local TV). Honestly bar is awesome for late night drinks. Quiet area of Maputo.

Internet is not bad for Africa. Wifi.

Use the taxi driver suggested by the hotel to avoid ripp-offs (there are no meters in Maputo). Zambi for dinner is pretty good FYI.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

This was hotel is great for business travelers who have business in the area. There is not much in that area as far as sights of interest, so this is not a good choice if you plan is to get to know Mozambique's culture and sights.

We had newly renovated rooms which were very clean. The high speed internet was a bit complicated (they have lots of connections and you need to pick the right one), but once I got it linked up it was the fastest internet connection I had during my months travels.

Breakfast was nothing exciting, but there were choices and no one in our group went hungry.

The person they arranged to take us to the boarder took us to the wrong boarder crossing (he didn't really speak english nor could he read a map which made it very difficult to communicate that we were going the wrong place until we called the hotel and got them to explain it to him). I am sure that, thanks to our experience, that won't happen again (in fairness, I don't think they normally arrange cars to drive you to the boarder... the same guy did a good job in dropping us off and picking us up from dinner the night before).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muriellovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

The hotel facilities are clean but fairly basic. The rooms in the new annexe are good; modern, clean and quiet, but in the older main part were noisy and shabby; there were no mosquito nets provided, so make sure you take your own as you will need it. Overall, decent value for money; good, central and safe location, helpful, friendly staff but make sure that you request one of the newer rooms next door.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MepLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews