We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business as Usual”
Review of Hotel Avenida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Avenida
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The location is great. Good hotel for overnight or for business travelers. Very modern feeling. I would not advise for holiday makers. Close to Mundos for entertainment and food.The rooms are clean and neat. Bar and dinning area is very formal and lack atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gustav F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruirfv, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2016

Dear Mr. Gutsy,
Thank you for review the Hotel Avenida.
The Hotel is the most central in Maputo for business customers
Hope to see you again
Thank you
Regards
Rui Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 204 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

My hotel room as well as the reception and cafe were modern and comfortable. All very impressive considering we were in Mozambique. Gym was also suitable although pool was small to go for laps. And they leave muffins/croissants for very early morning travelers who miss the breakfast. A couple of downsides - bathroom was a bit too small; felt cramped. Credit card acceptability was sketchy which was a bit of a hassle (in the end my card was accepted - just that some of the terminals were acting up). And I felt it was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csolleza0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2016

Dear Ms. Csolleza,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

i will share your comments with the team

We hope your visit again in the Avenida Hotel
Best Regards
Rui Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good: The establishment has fine finishes (decor/furniture) and is centrally located. The interior of the hotel is an excellent contrast to the dusty busy street it's on.

Bad: 1. The staff seem aloof because they only speak Portuguese, and almost no English at all. Tough communication even when using my Portuguese phrase book. 2. I had to pretend to be a business traveler to be taken seriously when I had queries, otherwise I was ignored. 3. Our room was on a lower floor, so our view was the dilapidated buildings in front of us. 4. For a leisure traveler, the hotel atmosphere is too cold and business-like. Next time I'll go to the Southern Sun hotel just down the road, at which we had sundowners with a magnificent view of the ocean. 5. There were many extra charges for stuff we would ordinarily consider complimentary (e.g. wifi).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2016

Dear Ms. Aria,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and provide feedback on your stay

We appreciate your feedback.
Whether positive or negative comments, they are important for us to continuously improve our product or service.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Avenida tries to emphasize as much as they can that it's a five star, luxury hotel, and because of setting that expectation it seems to dissapoint. The rooms are spacious and the bed is good and overall the hotel looks in decent shape with a good gym, however at no point you would give it five stars. To take a shower you still need to stand in your bathtub and hot water runs out quickly. Wifi is expensive and goes with vouchers, only enabling you to connect one device at a time. Staff is a tad arrogant which doesn't help the "five star" experience. Location is good, in the middle of the city with lots of restaurants close by. No real value for money though as it's way too expensive for what it offers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBO81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2016

Dear Mr. Steven,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I regret your disappointment with our services.
We made all the efforts to change our internal procedures.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My first trip to Maputo so never sure of the hotel standard but this was very decent - rooms comfortable, clean, good temperature control. The staff were very courteous and helpful, internet worked fine in the room, breakfast was decent.

Overall can recommend although it is quite expensive, it's quite a bit cheaper than the Serena and it is a very adequate hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2015

Dear AliMichel

We appreciate your feedback. We are glad that you were satisfied with our facilities and services.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed at the Avenida for six nights for business. It was a nice hotel, with a nice room. All the amenities you could want. The location is nice - close to a number of restaurants and a small shopping center, and not too far from the craft market. While the people who worked there were very nice, they tended not to do what they said they would. I had to talk to the front desk three times to get a confirmed late check out. But other than small frustrations like that, it was OK.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Costumer
On behalf of Avenida Hotel, thank you for your comment because it´s very useful to have feedback from our customers so that we can implement and improve our service.
We hope your visit again in the Avenida Hotel
Waiting for welcome you in the next future

Best Regards
Rui Viegas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

As a South African business traveller, visiting Maputo at least one week a month this past week was the final straw with the amount of frustrations I'm experiencing with the Avenida Hotel. In short:

- Biggest issue is the shower in the bath which I with all previous stays dreaded, it is dangerous and the curtain plan is just ancient. My fear came true this week and I slipped on the very safety feature that is supposed to make it safe (the "non-slip" mat)and hurt my knee and back. A collegue complained with the hotel management before over the same matter and their solution is there is a mehtod to contact the reception should you fall. Yeah right, please come help me when I'm naked and already hurt!

- The hotel is definately not English orientated - the internet instructions are all Portuguese, all the magazines in the room are Portuguese and the personnel struggle to have a conversation.

- They do not bring an iron to your room - clothing need to be handed in for ironing, you are charged for it and it takes a day to get it back. So you need to find a way of arriving with your first outfit all ironed for the first morning. Not good space for a business traveller.

- There is no peep hole in the door. Ordering room services you have to trust the right person is on the other side of the door if somebody knocks.

- Room service menu makes no provision for vegetarians and is extremely limited. Luckily the hotel is close to a few restaurants and it is safe to walk their.

- When ordering breakfast to your room you get charged for it. When going down to the dining room it is included in the room rate. What crazy arrangement is that?

- The two positives about the hotel is the small fridge in all rooms and the gym has lots of equipment and there are instructors to help. The gym also has a steam room which is nice. The gym operating times are just a bit short - not possible to gym early morning before leaving for work.

I will do my best not to stay in the Avenida again - there are better options in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawoelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2015

Dear Dawoelsen,

We appreciate clients feedbacks about our services and facilities, whether positive or negative, because we always want to improve.

Your disappointment is not bigger than ours, trying daily to exceed guest expectations and keep the good name of Hotel Avenida has in the market.

We regret your experience was not at the level of your expectations. Fortunately today, we change our procedures and I can say in the right moment that we made several changes, for example, we have available iron when request, we change all the mat from the bathroom, we gave English training sessions to the staff, we have several option in the room service menu and this are just a few examples.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
1.3 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 23 in Maputo
525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#2 of 23 in Maputo
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cardoso
Hotel Cardoso
#5 of 23 in Maputo
359 reviews
0.9 mi away
VIP Grand Maputo Hotel
VIP Grand Maputo Hotel
#16 of 23 in Maputo
181 reviews
1.2 mi away
Afrin Prestige Hotel
Afrin Prestige Hotel
#8 of 23 in Maputo
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida

Address: Av. Julius Nyerere, 627, Maputo 3236, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Maputo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Maputo
Price Range: $171 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 5 star Avenida Hotel, you have 159 fully equipped luxury Rooms, of which 7 are Suites and one Presidential Suite. Every Room is equipped with free Wi-Fi internet, Air-conditioning, Satellite TV, Radio, Internet, and many other details that will surely make for a very pleasant stay, including our Health Club, so that, even when on vacation, you can keep fit. At your disposal there's a Swimming-pool and a Panoramic Bar, and you can enjoy the local and international specialities at our luxury Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Hotel Maputo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing