We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay in Maputo, and not expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palmeiras Guest House
Ranked #4 of 48 Maputo B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 5, 2014

a lovely little guest house on a pretty quiet street within walking distance of the whole city centre and coastline. Beautifully furnished rooms. Excellent security and 24h access. Secure off-road parking. Very friendly staff. Very comfy beds! Really good breakfast, and a courtyard garden with plants, lovely for relaxing. Honesty fridge, so you can take a beer out to the garden. Scrabble and chess in the garden! No noise heard from the street. Free wifi, although we could only get reception in the garden and not in our room. The only downside - the shower was a bit trickly, not very strong, but otherwise really excellent - good value, and we couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: our room was the double facing towards the front. was lovely, no problems except the shower not fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosiecrane1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 95 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is a quaint guest house that is good for a short stay in Maputo. Their breakfasts are amazing. The rooms are extremely clean. The staff did the best they could to accommodate any requests that we had

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niashab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Good central location with easy access to shops, restaurants and plenty of banks (there's a Barclays a 10 minute walk away, which you will need, as cards are not accepted at this guest house!). The rooms were an adequate size, clean, with a TV, phone and tea making facilities. Not all rooms have a safe, which was an inconvenience.
The breakfasts were very good with a wide selection of goodies. The outdoor garden area was lovely but unfortunately it was not warm enough to make full use of it.
It would have been great to have WiFi in the rooms as you have to go outside of the main building in order to get to the dining area to access it. I was, however, able to pick up a signal by loitering at the end of the hallway (which is above the dining area).
Take a Portuguese phrase book as this will greatly aid communication with the staff.
My only other gripe is that you are not able to have access to an iron. They will iron for you, but for a fee.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marzipan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed Dec 2013. Clean, spacious, on-suite, good quality bedding, toiletries provided. Walking distance from most attractioons including the mall, cathedral, Fort, ect. yet located in quiet street. Great breakfast in charming garden setting. Great, friendly service. Will definately stay there again. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiaaneDeWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I only stayed 1 night in Mozambique's capital and I truly loved Palmeiras. The breakfast, the little green oasis in a very busy city, my warm comfy room nr 1 and the nice people. English will help you a bit but Portugese is the main communicationlanguage so if you don't speak it - like me- then be patient and creative!
I felt like the only tourist there, lot of businesspeople, all working on their laptop in the garden (wifi) but I didn't mind. No maps of Maputo so you're pretty much on your own there.
I am not a big fan of the city but Palmeiras, although very pricey for a single traveller, has a good cosy vibe!

Room Tip: room nr 1 is very big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hetty1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this guesthouse. The location is great, between the baixa area and the more luxurious area of maputo, and there is a good cafe to have lunch and dinner nearby not too expensive. The hotel's breakfast is simple yet satisfying and offers wifi in the gardens.

There is no wifi in the rooms but there is satelite tv. Outside of breakfast, the hotel has a mini-bar and snacks on an honour basis which is fantastic.

Very nice staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LVZubieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

When comming to Maputo, you have to keep in mind that this is a very pricy city with some basic acomodation to offer. Palmeiras is not the cheapest version, that's for sure, but defenetely one of the nices in the whole city and worth money!!
Rooms are super big and nice, cleaned each day. The best thing is breakfast! Served in a beautiful garden, full of flowers, with lots of delicious food. Really excellent. Good wifi connection, good location, friendly staff. Would come again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
1.9 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 23 in Maputo
567 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa das Mangas
Hotel Villa das Mangas
#16 of 23 in Maputo
112 reviews
1.2 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#2 of 23 in Maputo
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cardoso
Hotel Cardoso
#6 of 23 in Maputo
367 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
0.1 mi away
Guesthouse 1109
Guesthouse 1109
#1 of 48 in Maputo
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmeiras Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmeiras Guest House

Address: Av. Patrice Lumumba, 948, Maputo 1619, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Maputo
Price Range: $79 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new place offering you personalized attention, familiar surroundings and a hearty welcome in Maputo City, at Patrice Lumumba Avenue Nr. 948. The Palmeiras Guest House offers to our clients 6 rooms all with TV Cable with 20 channels, AC, telephone, fax and e-mail & internet facilities available on request, 24 hours security service, laundry service, continental breakfast, and mini bar service. Our price for accommodation includes Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palmeiras Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmeiras Guest House Hotel Maputo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing