We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palmeiras Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Sun Maputo(Maputo)
$245
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$265
$213
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 2001(Maputo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
49
39
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
39
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront gatehour securitybank accountthe owner speaks englishone nightplace to stayenjoyed our staytwo nightsceliaguesthousewifiatmcomfort
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 97 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at Palmeiras Hotel. The room was clean and tidy but fairly basic. Not a lot of english is spoken by the staff. The buffet breakfast was great and could be eaten out in the courtyard which was very tranquil. There are two cute little cats that sit out in the courtyard all day.
The Guest House has a 24 hour security guard who has the key to the front gate on a chain around his neck. At night, he also has a german shepherd. This is despite the Guest House having a very tall fence with barbed wire around the top. It says a lot about Maputo that that kind of security is required.
Whilst the Guest House is within walking distance of some of the sites, it is not within walking distance to Avenidas Julius Nyerere where a lot of the restaurants/action is. Taxis are hard to come by on Avenida Patrice Lumumba where the Guest House is located.
The Guest House does not take credit card so when it comes to paying your bill at the end of your stay, you have to hand over large wads of cash. Getting cash out of ATMS in Maputo when you only have Mastercard is also challenging as most ATMS only accept Visa. We only found one during our stay which accepted Mastercard, Millenium BIM, which was located across the road from Mundo's restaurant on Avenidas Julius Nyerere.
Everything, including accommodation, in Maputo is surprisingly expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited Maputo for only one night, but long enough to experience the charm and friendliness of Palmerias Guesthouse. Great breakfast, small, but clean rooms, centrally located and quiet. And last, but not least - the extremely friendly and helpfull staff. Celia and her son proved their truly kindness and service mindedness when they helped us out in a difficult situation. Thank you so much again for your help and outstanding service. Next time we are in Maput we will make sure to stay longer!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stine_Benedikte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed at the Palmeiras for a week in May 2012 and can highly recommend. The rooms are of a good size and kept spotlessly clean. Plenty of hot water in the bathroom, clean towels, tolietries etc. As others have said the breakfast is great - and sitting out in the small courtyard with the sound of water splashing from the little fountain was a lovely, relaxing way to start the day in Maputo. All the staff were helpful and very friendly. Accommodation is expensive in Maputo, but Palmeiras offers good value for money for anyone who needs a quiet and clean room in the city, and does not need the other services available in a 'hotel'. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenGDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Palmeiras was recommended to me by a friend, and I wasn't disappointed. The guesthouse has security guard on duty 24hrs a day, with friendly staff and owners. Included in the accommodation price is breakfast - pastries, cereals, fresh fruit, juice, coffee and tea. The rooms are clean and tidy, with satellite tv (refreshments available for purchase at the guesthouse).

Town centre, as well as other landmark buildings and sights are in walking distance - it is however some distance away from the beach.

All in all, a good stay, and I will definitely return in future.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrkleinsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at this guesthouse on the night we had just sailed back from Inhaca Island. We checked in later than we originally said we would and it was long after dark, but we were still accommodated, even tough the rooms were in high demand. Celia, the owner of the place, is beautifully gracious and went out of her way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. She even sat with us for a while, at our request, to tell us about the history of the city and where the sights and attractions were.
The breakfast was a lovely buffet and you can eat out in a charming little garden at the back. This truly was an oasis of peace in this otherwise hot and somewhat chaotic city (especially downtown by the train station).
If I had to mention one negative, its that even though there is mosquito netting on the windows, when we got there the windows had been open during the day to air the room, but somehow the netting didn’t work and there were 2 or 3 mosquitos that bit us pretty good thoughout the night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews