We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“KEEP FAR”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Monte Carlo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monte Carlo Hotel
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Maputo
Melegnano, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“KEEP FAR”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

One of the worse 3 star hotel where I have been. Sad environment, carpets and curtains dirty, unpleasant smell wide spread everywhere, sink in the bath was also leaking.After 10 p.m a water bottle is not available, the restaurant is closed!! Only suggestion...keep far from Montecarlo hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 142maurizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    12
    14
    17
See reviews for
3
4
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

only ground floor available,been here twice in three months and still renovation work is going on.
its difficult if u dont know portuguese as nobody speaks english except manager manuel who is in contrast, understanding n helpful compared to other staff.
expensive but located in centre of city.maybe will improve when renovation work is completed.

Room Tip: stay if you have no choice,lot of other hotels available which offers more bang for the buck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josh v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

The only thing which looks okay is the lobby. Going to my room, you notice the carpets which have to replaced urgently! The room I had was smelling like wet cardboard. The sheets on the bed had a colour that looked more like grey. The sink was leaking and they didn't manage to repair however I reported it more than once. The shower had a few moldy spots. Breakfast was poor quality. So, i should say: stay away from this place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italofreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maputo hotels

Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
268 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed here for two nights during my last business trip. The are busy renovating the Hotel currently. It might be a better plan too wait until they are finished before booking there.
I found the room quite a bit neglected. The service was also not up to standard, specifically the waiters at the restaurant. I got the feeling that they do not put the clients comfort first and foremost. Lacklustre service as if they are doing you a very big favour. One evening the one waiter on duty read the paper while he was suppose to assist the patrons.
If I can choose, I will not stay here again. Definitely not a Hotel for tourists. The fee was also quite high for the room and the services that they provide.

Room Tip: Rather wait for them to finish their renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HermanK449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
153 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed only one night between my travels and could not even try the dinner nor the breakfast. So, my impressions are only for the few hours I was awake. I appreciated the good service, both in the check in and out, the helpful staff and the information they insisted in giving me, even calling my room to make sure I had all the information. My room was in the top floor with a nice view to the bay (pity that the windows were not very clean). Although you can say a few things are old, the room was quite good, with TV and other amenities. The price is to the side of expensive. Would stay again.

Room Tip: I suppose the rooms have different sizes but I enjoyed mine on the third floor, with a wide view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed 5 nights here last week. I found the hotel was pretty good. Rooms were comfortable and clean - hot water always available, and the restaurant was good. Wi-Fi in the room was fine - although a little slow. A few downsides were that the restaurant is a bit small so it gets very full and very busy during breakfast. Also breakfast only starts at 7 a.m. so it's not much good if you have to make an early start. I don't like the TV being on continuously during breakfast but that's my personal preference. Whilst the reception was friendly and helpful I found it a bit annoying that the desk clerk always seemed to be on the phone - so if you wanted anything it always felt as though you were interrupting his calls! The major downside of course is the price - but I believe that all hotels in Maputo are expensive. I would say this was a good business hotel overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterJB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have lost my tools,go to report,instead of this guys at management making efforts to trace my equipment,they are busy defending their hotel,am very sad with the management of this place,so if managers defend their thiefs,how will you solve the menace,very irritating.

Room Tip: choose rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Designed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Africa Business
Hotel Africa Business
#10 of 22 in Maputo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa das Arabias Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#2 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel 2001
Hotel 2001
#12 of 22 in Maputo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Hotel

Property: Monte Carlo Hotel
Address: Av. Patrice Lumumba 620, Maputo 1100, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monte Carlo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Monte Carlo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing